We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
See the most recent reviews
Showing 477: English reviews
wales
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stay here for 2 nights in a one bedroom villa, had lovely view across to the mountains. We were aware that Franz Joseph village was a short drive away so had brought provisions to self cater & the villa had all you needed to prepare a meal. If you didn't want to self cater the owners provide you with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samoWales
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Samo, Im glad you seemed to enjoy your stay. I know that after travelling for a few weeks and eating out most of the time, its good to cook your own food for a change. Kevin

Castletown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived here after a very long journey and were immediately taken with the setting. Villa was great - plenty space and all mod cons available including washing machine and dryer in the villa. Views were tremendous and great to sit out on the decking for meals. Staff all superb - nothing was too much trouble for them. Also enjoyed feeding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Anne, thanks for taking the time to post your great comments on here. We try hard to make you stay as trouble free as possible, and you are most welcome to come back any time you wish. Thanks Kevin

Happywanderers
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What an absolute hem here......,. Reception staff so friendly, informative and helpful. Telling us about things on site, laundry and. what's in town. Gave info of recommended restaurants -and who provides transport. Also told us about a portable BBQ that we could use (we had great fun) the villas themselves Are huge!! Two bedrooms, spacious double shower. Fab lounge and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happywanderers20
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hello Happywanderers20, Im glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay with us, the staff all work very hard to maintain the high standard for your enjoyable stay. Thanks Kevin

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a matter of fact I've not been there, but they let us cancel without a problem when booking.com said it would be to late. That saved us a lot of money and nerves and we're very thankful for that. That alone was reason enough for me to give them 5 Stars, Many places wouldnt give a 100% Refound on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johkhan
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Johkhan, We give a refund if you cancel outside your 48 hours policy. Im sorry that you never made it to Franz Josef in particular Glenfern Villas, maybe next time. Regards Kevin

Mangonui, New Zealand
Reviewed February 18, 2017

We arrived here after a long days driving. The man in reception was very friendly and welcoming. Check in was quick and easy and when we were shown our villa we were blown away by the view. The living room had sliding glass doors which looked straight up into the mountains and there was a small patio area with table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Jenny, thanks for the great comments, we try hard to keep the villa at a good standard

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

This was the second destination of our honeymoon right after Christchurch. It's a wonderful six hour drive from Christchurch to Franz Josef via Arthur Pass. The route is filled up with scenery and natural beauty and it's a real retreat to the eyes. Just before 3 kilometres before reaching Franz Josef, on the left hand side, you will find these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank srikanthbharadwaj
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, on a fine day the scenery around here is pretty fantastic

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 9, 2017

We arrived mid afternoon a greeted by a charming gentleman. Having booked in he showed us to our villa which was just across the road from the Reception Office. On entry we were met by a vast living area with two settees & occasional table together with a table a four chairs. An off shoot of the living area is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 585Rodney585
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Rodney, thanks for posting your comments on here. I hope your extra trip back to Haast yesterday wasn't to tiring, and so far we haven't found anything left behind.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed February 9, 2017

stayed for 1 night only as it was pouring and our scenic flights got cancelled so we surrendered the second night due to very average accommodations. No place to eat in there and nearest eating joints are 2-3 kms away . check in closes early so no help in getting any info too. Broken sofas and smelly carpets in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank puzzy28
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hello Puzzy28, I think that you have posted this on the wrong Motel. 1. We dont have portable heaters in our villas, they are all heated by way of heat pump. 2. All of our sofas have recently been recovered and definitely are not broken. 3. If you arrived after 8.00pm and the reception was closed all you had to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed February 8, 2017

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit which had a lovely feel with high ceilings and plenty of room in the main living areas. The weather was extremely cold and wet while we were there but the unit was comfy, warm and dry. The shower was hot and powerful. The car port enabled us to move from car to unit and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Jeanette, thanks for the safety tip, we do have anther option that we offer families with small people to secure the window.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

We booked two nights just in case of bad weather at Glenfern in a semi detached villa as we were going on the helicopter ride to the glacier. We were lucky with the weather for our ride but easily managed to fill the whole day with a walk to the glacier face (about one hour from the car park). The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roland_Pauline
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hello Roland, thanks for taking the time to post your comments on here.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (149)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,086 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,291 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
318 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: $121 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glenfern Villas Franz Josef staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a villa further away from the highway to reduce noise.”
 of 5 bubbles pgsanjay, 4 days ago | Read review
“ask for one not on the boundary with the state highway”
 of 5 bubbles filligirl, 5 days ago | Read review
“Each villa looked amazing - just enjoy!”
 of 5 bubbles PaulofNottingham, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“It's a little out of town but numerous local restaurants provide pick up/ drop off service.”
 of 5 bubbles Antipodeanadventure, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a cottage with a view of the glacier. But if it's bad weather, you may not get to see much.”
 of 5 bubbles bullman99, Jan 17, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question