We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

High Peaks Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
High Peaks Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 139: English reviews
Brisbane
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

Excellent hotel/motel, surrounded by beautiful mountains and glaciers view, located a bit out of the village, which makes it quiet and peaceful. Really comfortable and clean room, good bed and pillows, huge bathroom, great shower. The lovely lady at the reception (Malene) was very friendly and helpful and gave to us good recommendations about where to eat and go. Thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank PatriciaBrisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

This was a nice and clean hotel. The rooms are small and simple but nice enough. I did feel it was a little over priced for what it was given other places we had stayed at for less that seemed nicer near by. Our room was inside a hallway so no great views. Our view was of the parking lot.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nolagirl2
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2016

I picked this motel for its location - close to the town of Fox Glacier and to Lake Matheson, with a killer view of the mountains. Unfortunately, we arrived in the pouring rain, so we didn't get to see much. Instead, we did our laundry! The washer and dryer were located right next to our room, and they were spotless... More 

Helpful?
Thank suzannerobins
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2016 via mobile

Accommodation was well located away from major road. Operated by owners who were kind and helpful. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Owners were very helpful with suggestions with places to eat and things to do and see. Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2016

The cleanliness of this hotel immediately strikes you. As this is a hotel there is only a kettle, and a fridge; and a central internal corridor. There is no restaurant for dinner although breakfast is available if pre-ordered. The owner was happy to lend us bowls and spoons for cereal. Accommodation is expensive in the area and it's difficult to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gulliva
Cle Elum, Washington
Level Contributor
150 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2016

We just spent two nights here taking in the glaciers and had a great stay. The rooms were exactly as described and we were very well looked after. We loved the location as it was quiet and very restful!

Helpful?
Thank ScottishDreamTours
Qld
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2016

Finding accommodation hard to get both in Franz Josef and Fox Glacier, this hotel was about the only one that we could get one night. Having to pay just on $NZ200.00 we found rather expensive just for a bed for the evening.

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda D
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2016

I'm glad I chose this location. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was huge. The property was clean. There is no air conditioning which is the norm. So on the hot day I was there you had to keep the window open all night. But, it was quiet as the other guests were respectful. The wifi and television... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rickybrowneyes
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016

The hotel is nice and clean, service is excellent, we got a large room, however, the hotel is far from village center (1.7 km). This is not considered as walking distance. If you need just to grab something from the supermarket you have to take your car. Wifi connection (operated by Zenbu) is awful. You receive your access code from... More 

Helpful?
Thank gadi_sam
alanchant, Owner at High Peaks Hotel, responded to this review

Our wifi system was installed by professionals and works perfectly, as can be verified on other reviews. If you had asked us for help we would have been able to point out what you were doing wrong! With regard to your $2 there is a large sign on the laundry wall informing that the machines do not operate after 9.30.... More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016

We had debated whether to stay in Franz Josef or Fox and were very happy with our decision to go with Fox and to stay at High Peaks. It does indeed have a view of the high peaks (and particularly Mount Cook) which decided to show themselves at dusk after a very cloudy day. The motel is well located, clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank WeyTraveller
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
10.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
High Peaks is a modern hotel offering comfortable, relaxed accommodation in Fox Glacier, on the West Coast of New Zealand's South Island. Set in a quiet, rural location, High Peaks provides you an ideal setting to enjoy some of New Zealand's most spectacular scenery. The hotel is perfectly located as a base to explore the West Coast's glacier country and Lake Matheson, one of our local icons is only a hop skip and jump away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about High Peaks Hotel

Address: 167 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly High Peaks Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $117 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Peaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your High Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay