We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sunset Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sunset Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 281: English reviews
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
342 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice comfy bed, complete with electric blanket. Well set up kitchenette, including coffee percolator. Good heater in room, plus in bathroom. Fabulous views. Just outside township so lovely and peaceful. Most enjoyable stay

Helpful?
Thank HKinsey
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this Motel only to be charged 20% after cancellation because they have 'fine print' that says 20% will be charged and kept even though the website we used said free cancellation. As I explained to the owner, the change was done immedietly as we had to change plans after the terrible earthquake. I also explained that it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank olcayozcelik
sunsetmotellers, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

So as threatened by you here is the "shi*iest" review ever that you told us you would write. So let's get to the real story.... You had booked 3 rooms under Booking.com where the cancellation policy is clearly written and also on your confirmation that there is a 20% non-refundable deposit. This was also emailed to you shortly after your... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just a one night stay - room was clean. Nothing special but likewise nothing bad. We booked room at the last minute so price was higher than I would have expected for this level of motel. So other than price all was fine

Helpful?
Thank Vern D
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very quite & small city. Most of the restaurant is closed by 9/10 pm. which is a great problem for tourist.The hotel reception does n't give us warmly welcome reception.We was group of 4 people & a baby. By the time we reached there all the store was already close. We asked for an extra milk cartoon(250ml)... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KanizFatima
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 2 nights at the Sunset Motels on our 2 week trip through New Zealand. The room and views were just like the pictures - our room (#19) had a great view of the mountains (even though the weather didn't fully cooperate as we had a lot of clouds and rain during that time) but it was good enough... More 

Helpful?
Thank Citygirl7314
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here recently on a trip South. We found the room well appointed, and very clean. We had a great view of the mountains, when the cloud broke. It's only a short walk into the main area of Fox Glacier where there are shops, cafes and bars. There is also a fuel station that offers 'pay at the pump'... More 

Helpful?
Thank scarz
Kiwi
Level Contributor
138 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night on the way to Wanaka. Good location for Lake Mathieson but the room was cold with only a thin duvet on the bed. Town with several good cafes is only a short walk away. Fill up with fuel in Franz.

Helpful?
Thank airbus0320
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we checked in, we had a great feeling about this property. It's very warm & welcoming and set in a fantastic position to look out onto the beautiful mountains. We stayed in a spa room & the spa bath was appreciated after our long walks in the area. The rooms are well equipped with kitchenette facilities including... More 

Helpful?
Thank Belinda M
Boulder Creek, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Off the main road and quite and well maintained property. Rooms look to the view, if the weather permits! Studio was in great condition but needed a small table for eating. Has a little balcony with table but weather was rainy for our stay. Room had a new carpet odor but it faded or we got accustomed so not an... More 

Helpful?
Thank n6ta
Edithvale, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2016

Just off the Main rd on the way to Lake Matheson, great motel and the rooms are clean and modern, warm and the linen was clean. The owners are very helpful and the view out the back well...its not that often you get greeted by Mt Cook. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.6 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $97 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sunset Motel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Most rooms in a row so all have same view.”
 of 5 bubbles n6ta, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view but get up early anyway and catch the sunrise as well as the sunset.”
 of 5 bubbles Liney1966, Aug 18, 2016 | Read review
“Please do not stay as they charge your card after stay for cleaning etc”
 of 5 bubbles , Jul 30, 2016 | Read review
“Request room with view to mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles D7665XCbarbaras, Apr 28, 2016 | Read review
“Wifi is free only if you book online. Ask for a room further away from the road if you're staying in your room during the day.”
  • Modern bathroom
  • AMPLE storage shelves and wardrobe.
  • Compact but very serviceable kitchen area
  • Bedroom and Patio
 of 5 bubbles Flannery52, Apr 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay