We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heartland Hotel Glacier Country

39 Main Road State Highway 6, Fox Glacier, Westland Tai Poutini National Park 7886 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (11)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#10 of 10 hotels in Fox Glacier
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
3.7
Value
3.3
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country is privileged to be located within a unique world heritage area. The internationally recognised Westland World Heritage Park encompasses 2.6 million hectares of spectacular wilderness, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. Heartland Hotel Glacier Country is just five minutes drive from Fox Glacier. Located in Fox Glacier village, this recently refurbished three-star plus hotel is the ideal place to stay if you are here to see this remarkable attraction - we are just three kilometres from the glacier car park. A multi-million dollar upgrade was completed in October 2016 that included all 51 guest rooms and ensuites, restaurant, bar and reception area. The design scheme for this hotel drew inspiration from the local West Coast environs in creating an effective and cheerful hotel upgrade. The exterior décor and light internal refurbishment brings a fresh new look to the property and creates a consistent feel throughout. Heartland Hotel Glacier Country looks forward to welcoming you to this very special corner of the world.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Hiking
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Shops
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
54Reviews1Q+A9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 6
  • 20
  • 19
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Dot wrote a review Mar 2024
Nelson, New Zealand21 contributions3 helpful votes
A wonderful venue to stay. All the staff on ALL levels were delightful, and very accommodating, even when really busy. Very comfortable. A fabulous part of new zealand and 'a must do' to visit. We had a wonderful weekend. Nice cafes and restaurants including lake Mattheson cafe.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Go to lake Mattheson,it beautiful. Check out Betsy Jane restaurant as well as at or close to ...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded Mar 6, 2024
Dear Dottienz. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your kind words and positive comments. The entire team sends their regards and looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dharxan2022 wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions
Location was good with adequate parking. The room and bathroom were very clean but the fridge was not working with the dial broken. The shower stream was very weak and difficult to set the correct temperature. I found the bed too soft and uncomfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: check that the amenities are satisfactory in good working order before booking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded Feb 27, 2024
Dear Dharxan2022. Thank you for your feedback. Your insights are extremely useful for us to either improve our product or service. We appreciate the time taken to post a review and are grateful for your rating of 3/5. We wish you a pleasant onward journey. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Menekag wrote a review Feb 2024
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam1470 contributions203 helpful votes
Couldn't have asked for a better location. We wanted to do the Heli Hike and was looking for accommodation in Fox Glacier. It was super easy to checkin and the room was neat, tidy and cosy. Our heating wasn't working but when I informed the front desk, it was resolved within minutes. The room came with all the amenities and the bathroom even though was super tiny was very clean and neat. Service of the housekeeping team was exceptional. They even had laundry facilities for a very nominal cost.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There is a nice little grocery store and a bar next door. All activities are within walking...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded Feb 23, 2024
Dear Menekag. Thank you for the feedback. By all accounts you enjoyed your stay. The entire team thanks you for your positive remarks and wishes you well on the next part of your journey. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lonewayfarer wrote a review Feb 2024
Coventry, United Kingdom408 contributions153 helpful votes
Our stay at this hotel had a few issues. The rooms are clean and looked nice at first glance but we found the rooms noisy from internal and external noise. There is nowhere to hang clothes, no closet or rail. The shutter blinds let a lot of light through early in the morning. The bathroom was clean but the shower temperature was erratic and the shower head kept falling down. Food and drink in the restaurant is good but the service is a bit chaotic. We prepaid for our breakfast but in the morning we were told we weren't on the list for breakfast so had to go to reception twice to resolve that issue. Not a great start to the day. The evening dining service involves queuing at one place to ask for a table and then place your order for food. You then need to queue again at the bar to order drinks. Overall, for the price we paid for the room I don't feel we got value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: There is a street directly behind the hotel where you can park. Parking within the hotel is...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded Feb 16, 2024
Dear Lonewayfarer. Thank you for your feedback. There are some lessons to be learnt and we are grateful for you providing us insights into our product and performance. We accept that we did not ensure your stay was comfortable and seamless. Please accept our humble apologies. We would also like to recognise that you have given us a rating of 3 out of 5. Thank you. Finally we hope the rest of your journey is an enjoyable one. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Golden1962 wrote a review Feb 2024
Denman, Australia53 contributions33 helpful votes
Clean rooms Location was great Staff where lovely very accommodating to our needs Loved nearby restaurant Betsy Janes The cafe at Lake Matheson is a good spot as well Unfortunately didn’t get to do our glacier chopper ride due to weather Will visit again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded Feb 25, 2024
Dear Golden1962. Thank you for your feedback. The team are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Fox Glacier. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tony K wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Everything was fine, however we were allocated a ground floor room and no net curtains. Therefore if we wanted any privacy we had to pull the full curtains closed. Easily resolved. The location was great, very central, and free parking which was a bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded Feb 14, 2024
Dear Tony. Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed you stay and rating us 4/5. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vandi B wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions
Dreadful. This is honestly the smallest hotel room I’ve ever stayed in. The bathroom room door can’t be opened fully and it hits the bedside table if you don’t squeeze through the partially open doorway. There is no outside sitting area for the rooms, which we would definitely have used. We told at check in that our paid for breakfast would be a smorgasbord from 7-9 am. When we arrived for breakfast we were told that it would be served in their sister hotel around the corner. After a bit of confusion regarding our having already paid we were allowed to order from the menu. So we sat in the musty dining room to eat. The food was ok. The coffee and juice were terrible. The two staff members we encountered were professional and pleasant. I felt sorry for them, as I’m sure they wear the brunt of dissatisfied customers. I would advise all travellers to avoid this place at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded Feb 3, 2024
Dear Vandi B. Thank you for your feedback. The Team are appreciative that you have provided us your insights while staying at our Hotel. By all accounts you did not enjoy your stay but do recognise our outstanding employees. With your feedback we will improve on the issues you experienced. Best wishes and we hope you have an awesome 2024. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lynette and Ter... C wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Friendly and helpful staff and the unit was clean. Unfortunately the walls were quite thin and noises could be heard next door ie. snoring - throughout the night. The TV only had one channel even though they said there were more. The temperature upon arrival was very hot and humid and I was astonished to find that there was a heater on in the unit making it extremely hot. I immediately turned it off but the unit held its heat for some time, even with windows open.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded Jan 26, 2024
Dear Lynette and Terry C. Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that our staff were friendly and helpful and that your accommodation was clean. Your feedback has encouraged our staff to do even better. We will investigate your comment regarding our TV Channels and advise the Housekeeping Team to monitor our in-room heaters. Regard
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dylan wrote a review Jan 2024
5 contributions
Nobody on check in desk, had to wait 20 min, then told room wasn't ready, bottom floor noisy from above and near laundry could hear driers going all night, bar doesn't even open, no restaurant, uninviting place, dark and dingey. For the price was expecting a lot more.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded Jan 19, 2024
Dear Dill5115. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the time given to us to learn and grow from your experience. It is evident that we did not either meet or exceed your expectations for which we apologise. We will investigate and act on your comments to improve our product and service delivery. We wish you and your family a peaceful and prosperous 2024. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ruby M wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
Bathroom products were top quality though this visit we didn't have breakfast due to an early helicopter ride, the 1st time we stayed it was delicious. Dinner was innovative and well priced. Nothing to fuilt
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms are up stairs. So if this is a problem, be sure to book clearly stating...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Responded Oct 25, 2023
Dear 10rubym. Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fox Glacier area.
PRICE RANGE
$74 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
heartland hotel fox glacier
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionWestland Tai Poutini National ParkFox Glacier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HEARTLAND HOTEL GLACIER COUNTRY - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Fox Glacier, New Zealand)

Frequently Asked Questions about Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Which popular attractions are close to Heartland Hotel Glacier Country?
Nearby attractions include Lake Matheson Walk (2.7 miles), Fox Glacier Hiking Trails (0.02 miles), and Fox Glacier South Side Walk (0.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Heartland Hotel Glacier Country?
Conveniently located restaurants include Matheson Cafe, The Last Kitchen, and Betsey Jane Eatery & Bar.
Is Heartland Hotel Glacier Country located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.04 miles away from the center of Fox Glacier.
Are any cleaning services offered at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Heartland Hotel Glacier Country?
Many travelers enjoy visiting River Walk (0.9 miles).