We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunstan Downs High Country Sheep Station

Save
Traveler (9)
Room & Suite (4)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Ratings and reviews
Ratings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers talk about
“venison”(3 reviews)
“new zealand”(8 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Rooms
Pets Allowed
Self-Serve Laundry
Dunstan Downs is a working sheep farm, in the high country of the South Island. You can stay in our home and have breakfast or you can stay in our backpacker hostel and cook for yourselves. We also have a rebuilt wagon near the river, a cosy holiday hideaway- self contained. We are 17...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
State Highway 8 | Dunstan Downs, Omarama 9448, New Zealand
Hotel website
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
26
6
0
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
26
6
0
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvenisonnew zealanddelightful experiencefarm housemerino woollindis passtwo nightsclear nightsouth islandenjoyed our staythe kitchenother guestscomfy beda great staygreat hostsmt cooktim
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was there for 1 night, they put spray to kill all the bugs in my room and it was very helpful! I didn´t have reception at all and the wifi didn´t work from my room, so you need to go the the living room...More

Thank Halevi M
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay there for two nights. Perfectly functional and economical. We had two single beds. WiFi was good. Kitchen facilities were good. A great place to stay. We had left Timaru and after this stay we went to Wanaka.

Thank kamo63
Response from Geva1, Owner at Dunstan Downs High Country Sheep StationResponded April 14, 2018

Thank you pleased we could accommodate you.

Reviewed April 3, 2018

We stayed for 2 nights as we were going to Warbirds over Wanaka. The owners were lovely, very friendly and accommodating. We were lucky enough to have the 100 year old Rabbit skinning hut which the children thought was absolutely marvellous!! Fantastic basic accommodation, very...More

1  Thank Ajo412
Response from Geva1, Owner at Dunstan Downs High Country Sheep StationResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for your kind review. Yes we love the history of the old hut too.

Reviewed March 28, 2018

We booked a cabin and were delighted to get the Wagon - a gypsy like room out on the farm near a stream with an outdoor gas heated bath! It has an inside kitchen and outside loo, a BBQ and solar powered lights - everything...More

Thank pauljilltaylor
Response from Geva1, Owner at Dunstan Downs High Country Sheep StationResponded March 30, 2018

Charging phones etc by solar battery will draw too much power and then you have no lights or Wi-Fi. Pleased you enjoyed the wagon.

Reviewed March 13, 2018

Spent one night here on the way to Christchurch and would not go back. The main picture is NOT the hostel - that is the owners house so do not be fooled. you will be sleepign in the shacks at the bottom of the hill....More

2  Thank Laura F
Response from Geva1, Owner at Dunstan Downs High Country Sheep StationResponded March 14, 2018

And we would not want you back. The bugs are out of my control, if you kept your lights out when doors and windows are open- no problem. The mess in the kitchen is created by the other backpackers, not my doing. Perhaps you shouldn't...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Breakfast Available
Details
Price range
$37 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$37 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (9)
Room & Suite (4)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Dunstan Downs High Country Sheep Station staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"There are other cabins and a backpackers as well as the Wagon."
Read review
"We stayed in the main house upstairs bedroom with two twin beds and shared their 1st floor bathroom."
Read review
"Super unique - The Wagon. More luxury - Queen in A frame house"
Read review
"Splurge on the homestay."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing