We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Peppers Carrington Resort

Hotels.com$114*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Peppers Carrington Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Start your review of Peppers Carrington Resort
 Click to rate
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at Peppers in February this year, as part of a holiday to NZ. I am a local to a Northland, and my wife is from overseas. It is fair to say I was more than disappointed, and embarrassed of what was marketed as a luxury escape. We arrived at check in (2pm), however were informed that our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nztraveller134
Carrington_ResortNZ, Receptionist at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jack and Simone, Thank you for taking your time to give us such a detailed review, after contacting us via email on 12 March 2017. We trust that the issues have been resolved amicably. My deepest apologies on behalf of Carrington for your experience during breakfast. We agree that it is unacceptable to never receive the ordered breakfast at...

Sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed with a golfing group of 16 for two nights and some golf. The villas are some distance from the dining room , but the staff obliged by picking us up and driving us to the dining room The villas are for two couples and are well appointed but not well serviced We had a bed not made, gloves...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Carrington_ResortNZ, Receptionist at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear John, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, we could not find any trace of booking for dinner at the winery cafe. Further, we were not provided with any details of the...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at Carrington more times that I can remeber under previous ownership over extended number of years and this is the first time stayed with new owners and we were very disappointed. We hade made special arrangements for our party of 5 for our daughters 21st birthday. This was her very favourite resort of the very many we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolascoulter
Carrington_ResortNZ, Receptionist at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Nicolas,   Thank you very much for leaving such a detailed review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. Huge efforts are made to keep the resort tidy and well maintained. Due to H&S legislation we do not allow our staff to climb up and clear out the gutters, but...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Husband I decided to come up here for the first time for a a weekend of golf - Stayed in a lodge room with an amazing view out over the golf course in one direction, and then towards to ocean in the other direction. Rooms are massive and really well appointed. The golf was great, staff at the pro shop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felice F
Carrington_ResortNZ, Receptionist at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Felice, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Peppers Carrington Resort. We also think that the views that are pretty awesome and very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. We are sorry to hear that there are limited dining options we can offer, the feedback will be passed...

Sydney
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am surprised by a number of negative comments on this resort. Four of us stayed at Carrington this week for two nights in the villas, which were clean and comfortable with great views over the golf course and sea beyond. The golf course was in good condition and enjoyable to play. On both nights we dined in their restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John-Simon
Carrington_ResortNZ, Receptionist at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Good morning John, Sorry for the late replying. Thank you for your generous compliment. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Peppers Carrington Resort and our staff made your stay pleasant. Do check out our Face book page or Grabone website for promos that you might be interested in. Looking forward to seeing...

Russell, New Zealand
Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile

I think this is the worst place I have ever stayed. Spa pool wasn't working went for breakfast at the vineyard had been a wedding the night before vomit in ladies toilets. I thought rooms where dated and was quite rundown

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pipigirl
Carrington_ResortNZ, Receptionist at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Pipigirl, We are sorry your stay at out resort was not what you expected, we try and maintain a high level of professionalism and take pride in out resort. We will certainly look into your comments and will send it to the relevant department solving it as soon as possible. We do hope you will give us another chance...

Auckland
Reviewed April 5, 2017

On the two occasions we have visited Carrington we have been so surprised that a resort set in such a place of stunning natural beauty as the Karikari Peninsula is not more popular. We were one of only 3 couples staying. The golf course looks fantastic ,though my husband was unable to play due to the very wet weather, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwimacs
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 23, 2017 via mobile

The place is on a golf course/country club and we stayed in a lodge room which has a touch of the colonial look from the outside but the rooms are really modern and well equipped and the bed is HUGE! Ate in the restaurant last night and the food was excellent, choice of three mains starter and dessert all were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MikeJ2497
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such a detailed review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. I have forwarded your comments to our General Manager and to our kitchen staff at Karikari Estate. However, we are very sorry to hear that our Seafood Chowder didn't meet...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

A beautiful setting with friendly service. A long way from anywhere. But provides all activities , golf, tennis , pool, shooting range walks etc. however the service is a bit haphazard . No toilet paper except the spare roll hidden in a cupboard. Not always anyone at reception desk to help when needed. A fairly small dinner menu but really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marileemay
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Marilee, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our head chef and general manager. We do hope you will give us another chance as we will definitely improve our services. Kind regards

Kerikeri, New Zealand
Reviewed February 9, 2017

We stayed here for one of those significant anniversary events. ;-) Andre, Ryan (?) on the front desk were very helpful but the stand out person for us was La, who served us the most wonderful meal. She was just lovely and helped to make our evening so very special. Nothing was too much trouble and she is such a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank womblers2004
Carrington_ResortNZ, Marketing Supervisor at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. I will forward your comments to Lah and to our front desk team. We are looking forward to having you again as a guest. Kind regards, Manon

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaitaia
12.6 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
10.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
19.0 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
102 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
12.4 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peppers Carrington Resort, is a 3000 acre estate comprising a lodge, championship 18-hole golf club, Olympic skeet shooting range, vineyard and winery as well as a grass fed Black Angus farm. In addition, the resort boasts an infinity swimming pool, tennis courts, wetlands, mountain biking trails and one of New Zealand's most spectacular and unspoiled beaches - 4km of white sand and superb swimming, fishing and dolphin spotting. Carrington also offers fine dining and lounge facilities, billiard room and pro shop. We are located on the Karikari Peninsula, in Northland on the North Island of New Zealand. This 4 star resort provides accommodation with 10 luxury lodge rooms, 13 3-bedroom villas and 12 luxury houses. Lodge accommodation include spacious air conditioned bedrooms with private bathrooms, each containing a California King sized bed and satellite TV. Each Lodge room opens onto a wide verandah with views to the ocean, golf course or native bush and vineyard. The lodge rooms are connected by verandah walkways to the restaurant and members' lounge. The Villas offer self-contained and fully appointed accommodation - on the ground floor a living room, dining area, fireplace, and laundry facilities, with a verandah overlooking the golf course and Pacific Ocean. In addition, a fully equipped kitchen, toilette, satellite television, air conditioning and private garage are also housed on the ground floor. The second floor has a master bedroom with an ensuite bathroom and balcony, also with sweeping views of the golf course and Pacific ocean, a second double bedroom and bathroom (twins available), and a single bedroom. Other facilities and services available include gymnasium, laundry facilities (Regrettably no dry cleaning), massage therapist on call and babysitting services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peppers Carrington Resort

Address: Maitai Bay Road | RD3 Kaitaia - Karikari Penisula, Kaitaia, New Zealand (Formerly Carrington Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Price Range: $123 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppers Carrington Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Peppers Carrington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Kaitaia
Carrington Hotel North Island
Peppers Carrington Resort Kaitaia, New Zealand - North Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Peppers Carrington Resort staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Peppers Carrington Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book in to the Top 10 Holiday Park down the road”
nicolascoulter, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“If you are travelling up after work like we were, the restaurant may be closed so grab some dinner on the way!”
felicef136, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Go for the villas, they are well worth it.”
womblers2004, Feb 9, 2017 | Read review
“Villas 1-6 are situated higher up the hill and have better views. The villas are a ten minute walk away from the main resort.”
, Feb 8, 2017 | Read review
“There are apartments and amazing villas”
4252loulou, Feb 7, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$114* /night
View Deal
Elvoline$152
Hotwire.com$114
Priceline$117
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates