We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Church Accommodation

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Church Accommodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 255: English reviews
London, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were in one of the "bungalows" near The Church Restaurant. Beautiful gardens off the small back deck. A great place to enjoy a morning coffee or a glass of nice New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc (or two) with some cheese and fruit after a day of tramping. Each "bungalow" is unique and nicely, but eclectically appointed. There are no TV's... More 

Helpful?
Thank TwoNuggets
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for only one night, but wish we could have stayed for longer! We arrived late due to some traffic in Auckland (the only place for traffic in the North Island!!) but the staff were so great and made late check in really easy. We stayed in a studio apartment, which was delightfully cosy and felt like a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura V
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here a couple of days in a bungalow in the church gardens. The place was cute, quirky and spacious with a lot of natural light streaming through the garden facing windows. It was nice and quiet and the staff were friendly. We were given a heater for the room since it was winter time, but it was still... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mione v
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A wonderful and very peaceful place to stay. We visited the area as a couple and our 3 night stay in a cottage wonderful. Our cottage, with a fire, was warm, comfortable, clean, spacious and well equipped was a lovely place to unwind and "recharge the batteries". The whole place is quite quirky and old fashioned. The cottage was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leki9
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you Leki9! We are so glad you enjoyed your 'recharge' time here with us. We have unique and individual little Cottages, all with their own individual vintage and Rustic Charms, but with all the modern amenities as well! The wood fires in winter are just so lovely, adding to the peaceful ambience of our place. Thanks again and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

What a quirky, great place to stay, the Accomodation is comfy, the owners were so helpful and pleasant, thank you! Spades and beach towels were provided for hot water beach, We visited in winter so not a lot open but the owners sent us to the local pub, where we enjoyed good food, hospitality and great cider!

Helpful?
Thank jamiesteward
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Jamie! Thank so much for the review and we have had the wonderful pleasure of your company twice in a week! As winter was well and truly upon us I am glad you made use of the Woodfire in The House and ate and drank at The Pour House to stay warm. You would be so very welcome to... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

I visited Hahei on a whim last month. I booked a whirlwind trip around the North Island to check out some places that I want to being my American friends next year. I didn't know much about the Coromandel Peninsula and I knew even less about the towns within it. For me, it was perfect on many levels. The cottages... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, Thank you for your review and you are welcome! As locals we really try to discuss your travel plans and time constraints with you so you can get the most out of the area. We are glad you enjoyed the Hahei Explorer boat trip and The Pour House brewery and we hope you will bring your friends to... More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Gorgeous peaceful place to stay with lovely couple running it. Close to a great little restaurant. The walk to Cathedral Cove well worth it. The hot springs are something different to. Lying in the hot sand then a swim in a sea. Very rejuvenating.

Helpful?
Thank Robyn938
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Robyn, Thanks you for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate it. Hotwater Beach is at its best at the moment although it is winter; there is a lot more sand accumulated on the beach allowing more time to access the hot springs. We have had some stunning photos from guests brave enough to venture there... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

We really enjoyed staying in "The House" at The Church in Hahei It was very comfortable, well equipped and charming. The gardens around the whole property were lovely and obviously someone takes a lot of care in maintaining them. All the staff were attentive, friendly and relaxed. Anna stayed on til after 7pm to greet us on the evening we... More 

Helpful?
Thank 939bronwen
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Bronwen, Thank you so much for your lovely review. The Cathedral Cove track is up and running now with an extension to a new lookout which is absolutely stunning! Your understanding and patience with the track-building issues was wonderful and I am so glad you made the walk the next day! I have the gardening team ( myself and... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

My husband and son and I booked here for one night in February. Unfortunately my husband received a neck injury in the surf, and we had to leave immediately. The Church refunded our money, organised ambulance, and even gave us some fruit with a lovely handwritten card wishing us well. We were so disappointed we had to leave - the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Y4933UMlisaj
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Lisa J, Thank you so much for writing a review! We were so sorry when your husband came back with his injury! I am hoping you will all return here this coming summer and enjoy the time you had unfairly snatched from you. Thank you once again and please come back! Kind regards, Anna. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

The Church Accomodation was everything it promised with neat cabins that were very comfortable. The cabin was clean and well serviced during our stay We took advantaged of the continental breakfast which whilst basically cereal, museli, and bread was wll supplemented with yoghurt, seasonal fruit and juices. Much of the breakfast fare was homemade. Fresh milk was provided in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank carrm397
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Carrm, Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay at the Church Accommodation. We are so glad you enjoyed the simple yet nutritious homemade continental breakfast. Thanks, The Church Accommodation. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
13.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
3.3 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Scattered amongst 1.5 Acres of established gardens and native trees, close to the natural wonders of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, The Church complex consists of 11 rustic and spacious wooden cottages along with 1 three-bedroom house suitable for larger groups. All our cottages have Queen-size beds with ensuite bathrooms and private balconies overlooking the peaceful gardens. Some of our largest cottages are equipped with kitchens and woodfires for cosy winter stays. They can also accommodate up to two extra guests. Our 3 bedroom house has a full kitchen, woodfire, BBQ, private garden and balcony. It can accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Church Accommodation

Address: 87 Hahei Beach Rd, Hahei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Price Range: $84 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Church Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Church Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Church Hotel Hahei
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay