We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hosteria la Barquita

0.9 miles from Las Tunas center
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Ciudadela 12 de Octubre entre Puerto Rico y Las Tunas | Km 88 de La Ruta del Spondylus, Las Tunas, Ecuador
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 33: English reviews
Ecuador
Reviewed December 19, 2016

The Puerto Lopez Canton is one of the most visited tourist areas of Ecuador. Puerto Lopez has a wide service plant; In the restaurants and premises located along its malecón, you can taste exquisite typical food, as well as fruit cocktails and vegetarian specialties. It is considered one of the most important places in the Machalilla National Park. The first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank belenmishu
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Reviewed December 5, 2016

I booked this Hosteria on Bookings.com for my daughter's birthday. Upon arriving here my son's came out the car to stretch their feet from the long drive all the way from Santa Elena and dogs that where in the field tried to rush them OMG what a first impression. My husband & I kept trying to buzz the bell however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherika D
LaBarquita, Gerente at Hosteria la Barquita, responded to this review

Hola Sherika and family, Thanks for your comments, we're really happy that you decided to stay and as you said yourself we're are glad you did. Sometimes first impression can get you the wrong impression...Sorry for the dogs they're sometimes too friendly with our guests. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and sure hope you come back someday. Kind...

Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

We spent two days and two nights at La Barquita with a large group and all meals included. The facilities and service was great! We loved the pool, wifi, easy access to the beach and spacious gathering areas. The attention of the staff even with a large group was great. They were quick and friendly with everything we needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dion P
LaBarquita, Gerente at Hosteria la Barquita, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing La Barquita for your group. It's always difficult to manage large group especially at meal time, we're really glad you all had a good time and enjoyed our facillities. Hope to see you back sometime. Kind regards and thank you for your comments

Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewed February 4, 2016 via mobile

This place was very relaxing and great service in all areas! The rooms were very big and the set up was really nice. I love the hammocks outside of the rooms. A great place to relax and read a book listening to the waves from the beach! The breakfast was very good as well simple but the fruit juices were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TQueenRen
LaBarquita, Gerente at Hosteria la Barquita, responded to this review

Thank you very much TQueenRen, It was our pleasure to have you at La Barquita. Sorry for the trouble with internet...We're really working hard to have a good Wifi but you know we live in Ecuador Manabi and it's quite hard to have good tech services. We actually have two internet connections to avoid a lost of signal. We should...

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed January 1, 2016

The $75 a night we paid for a double was for the beach, the pool and the top floor of the boat-shaped restaurant. The rooms were very basic for the price, some of the beds had bedbugs and were very hard, and while the shower worked, it was not up to the standards of a $75 room in Ecuador. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sethsandy
LaBarquita, Gerente at Hosteria la Barquita, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Seth, We will take a special attention to your comments and can assure you that we do our best to keep all kind of insects away from the rooms, that's one of the reason we don't allow pets in La Barquita even though we love them. All our beds were sprayed with biodegradable products after...

Homer, Alaska
Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

A pool, easy access to the beach, and a restaurant in the shape of a boat. Heck yes! Super unique! From the outside it doesn't look like much, but don't be fooled, once those doors open its a hidden paradise inside. Lush garden, barbecue, and lounging hammocks. Awesomely beautiful. A must visit for a drink on the top deck of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Soniyae R
LaBarquita, Gerente at Hosteria la Barquita, responded to this review

Thank you very much, We're so glad you enjoyed La Barquita as we do. We hope to see you soon again.

Miami, Florida
Reviewed December 9, 2015

We had made reservations months in advance for this place. Next day we find out we and this other couple are the only ones staying there at that point. Kitchen was not stocked and they were out of practically everything. Next day the same thing. Manager said her car was being repaired that's why she had not gone shopping. Beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank femeveit
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed September 22, 2015

I liked this hotel the rooms are comfortable and nice, clean. The beach its really beautiful but careful with the ocean its rough! if you like surfing or using a board this is the place to be. Food takes too long to get served and its ok not as good as the restaurants outside the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianagodoysaker
Madison, WI
Reviewed April 5, 2014

You wouldn't expect this place to be as nice as it is when you drive up to it. It's just off the main road from Puerto Lopez to Montañita and doesn't look like much from outside. Once you go in, however, the grounds are lovely with trees, grass and flowers with cabins around the central area and small swimming pool....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank orchidbee
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The pool is gorgeous, its the perfect temperature and very clean and well maintained! The beach is gorgeous with plenty of beach chairs and hammocks with nice overhangs to protect from the sun. The grounds are impeccably maintained and very relaxing. The rooms could use a little updating, but for a beach hostel not too bad. Service was okay, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HaitiTraveler99
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Tunas
0.0 mi away
Tsafiki Hosteria
Tsafiki Hosteria
#1 of 2 in Las Tunas
46 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#2 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viejamar Hostel
Viejamar Hostel
#1 of 5 in Las Tunas
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Finca Punta Ayampe
Finca Punta Ayampe
#1 of 11 in Ayampe
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Equus Erro Hosteria
Equus Erro Hosteria
#5 of 5 in Las Tunas
39 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hosteria Mandala
Hosteria Mandala
#1 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A FASCINATING BEACH HOSTEL that invites you to visit our beautiful beaches.The perfect spot to relax and adventure along the “Ruta del Sol” and Machalilla National Park. We offer a great variety of tours, like Isla de la Plata, whale watching, horseback riding snorkelling, biking, paragliding, fishing and so on all year long.We offer rooms, in different and separated area with private bathroom small terrace with hammock right by the ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hosteria la Barquita

Address: Ciudadela 12 de Octubre entre Puerto Rico y Las Tunas | Km 88 de La Ruta del Spondylus, Las Tunas, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Las Tunas
Price Range: $48 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria la Barquita 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hosteria la Barquita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria La Barquita Ecuador/Las Tunas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hosteria la Barquita staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms with only one level.”
 of 5 bubbles femeveit, Dec 9, 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are fine, though perhaps more breeze and fewer bugs on the 2nd floor than on the ground floor of the various buildings. A/C is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles orchidbee, Apr 5, 2014 | Read review
“Bear in mind that some of the rooms are basic (no tv, separate bathroom) unless you book the superior rooms which have everything.”
 of 5 bubbles Sabz8888, Mar 19, 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question