We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Makena Surf

Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Makena Surf
Makena Surf
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 179: English reviews
Start your review of Makena Surf
 Click to rate
Birmingham, Michigan
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location was beautiful! The pools and grounds were very well maintained!! All onsite staff were professional and friendly. Condo we stayed in could use a little updating. King mattress should be replaced. King sheets did have small worn spots with tears :-(. TVs and cable should be updated! Dryer did not work and part was ordered but did not...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank narnia627
Shelly S, Asst. Guest Experience Manager, Destination Residences Hawaii at Makena Surf, responded to this review

Aloha...Thank you for posting your review. All of our guests feedback is important to us. I apologize for the challenges you encountered with the condo during your stay. Your comments will be shared with our leadership team so we can address these challenges and better serve you in the future. In spite of these challenges I'm glad that you were...

Martinez
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed on 3rd floor of B building. Incredible views. Located on a great beach with excellent snorkelling. Very quiet and family oriented. Great choice if you want to get away from the crowds and don't need resort amenities.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the sixth unit we've stayed at Makena Surf, and B207 was by far the best! First, the oceanfront view was utterly breathtaking; we were literally right above the beach and the ocean. And the best part was that the unit was to the right of the beach where most people sit, so we had an unobstructed view. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MMC440
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Family of 4 spent a week at Makena Surf. Reservation was through Destination Hotels, booked through Amex travel. Best part of the unit was the view- spectacular. Much bigger than you will ever get from the nearby premium hotels, for the price. The kitchen and bathrooms are dated and in need of a remodel, but perfectly adequate. Nice local beach,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pubsmeister
Aurora
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family of 5 stayed at the Makena Surf for 5 days in March. The facility way exceeded our expectations! The access to the amazing beach was so easy and the views from our condo were unbelievable. We try not to repeat our vacations but this is one we will have to do again because we had so much fun!...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cindie673
ShellySilva, Guest Experience Asst. Manager, Destination Residences Hawaii at Makena Surf, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. I am glad that you and your family had a great stay and enjoyed the beautiful views and beachfront access Makena Surf has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Calgary
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great property and location. The condo F112 needs an upgrade and had too many things not working properly. For the price the unit needs to be at a higher standard. Our understanding is there are many units that have been upgraded or have had better dedication to ensuring all appliances etc are working. Property great and location of our unit...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 344familyof5
Shelly S, Guest Experience Asst. Manager, Destination Residences Hawaii at Makena Surf, responded to this review

Aloha...Thank you for posting your review. Your feedback is important to us and I apologize that your residence wasn't what you were expecting. Your comments have been shared with our Owner Services Manager to see what improvements can be made. Mahalo, Shelly Silva

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been coming to Maui last 20 years and stayed in many different hotels/condo including kapulua, kaanapali, wailea, and makena. Last 5 years, I have been staying at Makena surf since the location is great, very close to the beach and the place has been well maintained. As the unit we stayed last year was not available, we first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have booked through destination resorts for the last 8 years and unfortunately this was the worst experience we have had. From check in with Capri at the destination resort the experience was the worst ever. The room was dated and very dirty. Film on the cupboards and countertop as well as the floor. Room was never cleaned properly, floors...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gfamilycalgary
Shelly S, Guest Experience Asst. Manager, Destination Residences Hawaii at Makena Surf, responded to this review

Aloha...We are honored that you have continued to stay with us over the years. We value all our guests as we know you have a choice when deciding where to stay while in Maui. I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey. Destination Residences Hawaii prides itself on delivering the highest level...

Qualicum Beach
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

excellent location on a very nice beach Condo that we were given was in need of a renovation and it showed Carpets were old and furniture was not new. Outdoor patio furniture was old and some chairs were broken. Theye were replaced while we were there but not until we complained

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E1664ESjamesa
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed March 20, 2017

We stayed at Makena Surf (F304) February 18-25, 2017. The experience was wonderful. The condo was clean, updated, and comfortable. And the views! Fabulous deck right above the ocean and a wall of glass (or screen if you open it all up) between the kitchen/living area and the beautiful deck/ocean views. We enjoyed spotting the turtles in the rocks below...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

392 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (113)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (224)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Second Pool (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Condo (115)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wailea hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
2.3 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
1.3 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A quiet retreat on secluded Paipu Beach. Located along a half-mile stretch of Paipu Beach, the Makena Surf resort is a fantastic choice for a secluded Hawaii beachfront vacation offering spectacular ocean views and luxurious appointments. Retreat to a world of peace and privacy through a gated access and meander along cobbled pathways and lush tropical foliage. Select from two- or three bedroom oceanfront suites that open onto your private lanai with glass balconies that overlook the Pacific Ocean. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. This beachfront resort features two swimming pools, two whirlpool spas, four tennis courts and 90 holes of championship golf at the nearby Wailea and Makena Golf Courses, where guests enjoy preferred rates. Amenities include $155 in resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Makena Surf

Address: 4850 Makena Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5499
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Price Range: $475 - $914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Surf 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Vacatia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makena Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makena Surf Hotel Makena
Makena Surf Wailea, Maui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Makena Surf staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Buffalo, New York
Detroit, Michigan
over a year ago
Perrysville, Ohio

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Makena Surf staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay away from Ocean View in buildings A and C”
mikekR9489CO, Feb 21, 2017 | Read review
“Most have ocean front rooms. We wanted to be on the ground floor with no major steps. It turns out the parking lot had steps!”
patfrvt, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
“Choose ground floor, NOT right on the beach - more private”
svc99, Dec 3, 2016 | Read review
“We were in ground floor condo and at times could hear movement above us. There are no hospitality accomodations for day of checkout.”
teresadD4582RJ, Sep 23, 2016 | Read review
“Room F110 (Prime Deluxe Oceanfront View, ground level, it includes housekeeping service)”
  • From your living room
HannaPark, Jul 16, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotwire.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates