We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5469
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Only 3 left at
$1,399
View deal
Expedia.com
Only 3 left at
$1,399
View deal
FindHotel
$1,345
View deal
Official Website$1,399
Hotels.com$1,399
Priceline$1,399
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1221)
Room & Suite (380)
Videos (5)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.

About

#1 of 9 hotels in Wailea
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best

Hawaii's only Relais & Chateaux, Hotel Wailea extends across 15 ultra private acres overlooking the sea, with 72 luxury one bedroom suites-each reminiscent of a chic private beach house with large ocean-facing lanais. The epitome of a romantic sanctuary, Hotel Wailea is designed for couples seeking relaxation away from the beachfront crowds, celebrating a special event with award-winning food and wine, or simply escaping to enjoy the beauty of Maui.

This exclusive and ultra-private hotel is a 2-minute drive or 10-minute walk to the beach.

“Top 500 Hotels in the World”, Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards 2021

“Top 50 Hotels In The USA”, Us News & World Report 2020

“Top 100 Best Hotels in the World”, Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards 2019

“#1 Resort in Hawai’i”, Conde Nast Traveler Reader’s Choice Awards 2018

“Top 10 Restaurants in Hawaii”, Opentable Diner’s Choice 2018

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Free shuttle or taxi services
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Diving
Hiking
Snorkeling
Windsurfing
Fishing
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Massage
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Japanese
1872Reviews74Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,566
  • 192
  • 77
  • 26
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
HappyTraveleraz wrote a review Sep 23
AZ12 contributions7 helpful votes
We recently stayed at Hotel Wailea for 5 nights. It is a nice property with generally friendly staff. The primary reason we chose the hotel was for the Adults only feature. Maybe I'm too literal, but I was not expecting to see children on the property. Be aware that the restaurant on the property allows children (think crying child next to you during $$$ dinner) and they host events like weddings...and children will be running around the property. No they are not in the rooms or at the pool...but good to be aware of. Similar to other reviews I would say the hotel is nice, but could use some improvement. 1) Smell: Our room had a general musty smell. (think boat that has been closed up for months) We looked at moving to another room but it had the same smell. Ended up bring in an air purifier and bought room deodorizers to spread around the room. Would definitely benefit from an Air360 type of system. 2) Size: While the room overall size is generous, the bathroom is disappointing. The layout is not great and ultimately the vanity area is tight for two adults (or a women trying to get ready). I realize you aren't in Maui to spend time in the bathroom...but it's an important feature. 3) Noise: The resort is located off the beach and in theory should be very quiet. Our ocean front room had amazing views, but was right above a fairly busy road so you couldn't really sleep with windows open or hear truck/air brake noise all night. I probably wouldn't choose to stay at this property again knowing what we know now.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you very much for your review. I appreciate you mentioning these details of your stay. Our restaurant does accommodate children from time to time, though the vast majority of our patrons do not choose to bring children, as we do not offer a children's menu and clearly offer a romantic dining experience. We hope that you enjoyed our adults-only pool and suites. Like many wedding venues, in 2022 we experienced a great deal of pent-up demand for events due to couples postponing their weddings in 2020 and 2021. With regard to weddings, we are reevaluating our strategy for 2023 and beyond. Thank you again, Markus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha Y wrote a review Jul 2022
Oakville, Canada4 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
So fortunate to have been able to experience this world class hotel on beautiful Maui. The staff was exceptional, the views breathtaking, the food delicious, the cocktails exquisite! We loved the luxury shuttle available at a moments notice to pop us down to the beach, shopping and restaurants, but were always happy to escape the business of the beachfront and return back to the exclusive, cool vibes of hotel Wailea. Chic decor, a great music vibe and the most stunning sunsets - there is no better hotel in Hawaii for a couples escape, a girls trip or an adult family vacation. We are already planning our return. Thank you to all of the incredible staff who made us feel truly special!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea
Responded Jul 13, 2022
Thank you for your excellent comments and 5 star review. I will share your thoughts with our entire team. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Markus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sjfara wrote a review Sep 21
Birmingham, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here for a week on our first trip to Maui. Hotel was amazing- really spacious and secluded compared to some of the hotels on the beachfront. Excellent service. Drinks and food were amazing both at the pool area and restaurant. Great shuttle service to anywhere in Wailea.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha and thank you for your wonderful 5 star review! We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Markus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stockdale83 wrote a review Sep 7
London, United Kingdom238 contributions120 helpful votes
I so wanted to give Hotel Wailea five stars being billed as one of the top hotels in the world. Unfortunately, considering the £750/night price tag, a few things requires improvement in my opinion. First, the dead cockroach upon checking into the room wasn't the best start. Then, despite the aircon being fully turned off, a slight cool breeze could still be felt from the top of the bed over the head making for an uncomfortable sleep. Finally, the hotel has a private area on Wailea beach, but finding it is a big challenge the first time. Despite the directions from the hotel staff, the absence of any signage makes finding the correct area very challenging given all the other resorts present on that beach. It is a good hotel for sure, but we were definitely expecting more given the price paid. And also upon checkout, no one offered to help with our luggage back to our car, despite walking by several members of staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
CoCo01Co wrote a review Sep 2
Bilthoven, The Netherlands132 contributions88 helpful votes
Hotel Wailea is an excellent hotel, consistently ranking high and even 1st of Hawaiian hotels. We had a very good experience, but there are things that can be improved and our experience was a bit hit and miss. The room we had was OK, but slightly tired and not that far from a potential refurb. The hotel is quite small and only has one restaurant. The quality of the food is quite good. The hotel is not close to the beach and there is a shuttle to a public beach. There is one pool, that is really too small. Staff is generally friendly, with one or two exceptions where they were apparently stressed out. We wanted to get some clothes laundered and were surprised that would take three days.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your positive review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. As we are an independent boutique hotel, we do have one restaurant open for dinner (along with our Treehouse private dining experience) as well as one pool. We all look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Wailea again! Warmest regards, Markus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
knitsforfood wrote a review Aug 2022
Santa Monica, California117 contributions79 helpful votes
We just spent 4 wonderful days at the Hotel Wailea. From beginning to end, it was a wonderful experience. The staff was fabulous, warm, friendly, and responsive. The restaurant and pool service was excellent. The room was beautiful and well decorated, with anything one could need. The shuttle was great and we used it several times. I can't think of one comment that would be less than complimentary.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea
Responded 4 days ago
Mahalo for your comments and excellent review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you both back soon. Warm regards, Markus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shelly D wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We loved our honeymoon at Hotel Wailea! We stayed for 4 nights after spending 5 in Lahaina. Staff was extremely helpful, helped us with our bags and took us in a little golf cart to our room, as well as giving us champagne upon arrival. Our room was basically a small apartment and I loved the fact that the rooms are in buildings of 4, makes for the stay much more private. The pool was awesome, but the beach service was incredible. I initially wanted to stay at one of the other hotels on the beach, and was worried that since Hotel Wailea wasn't on the beach it would negatively affect our stay. Quite the opposite. It was great to be removed from the super crowded, screaming children packed hotels that charge more money a night than Hotel Wailea does. We had a perfect time, and cannot wait to come back for an anniversary trip!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Who chose garden view and still had an amazing view of the island and a little bit of ocean :)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea
Responded Aug 15, 2022
Mahalo for your comments and excellent review! We are so pleased you enjoyed the intimacy and quiet of our property, as well as our attentive staff. We look forward to welcoming you both back soon. Warm regards, Markus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AshlieDF wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
My husband and I recently (July 2022) stayed at Hotel Wailea for our honeymoon. It turned out to be an epically perfect, write-home-tell-everyone experience. I almost didn't want to share this review because I'd prefer this place keep their hidden-gem status, but some secrets are too good to keep. From the warm and welcoming staff (who want to learn more about you in order to provide the most thoughtful, personal touches), to the gorgeous grounds (sprawling, tropical, tranquil); from the delicious cocktails (the staff at the pool know what they're doing!); to the unforgettable food (a pre-fixe dinner at The Restaurant that knocked our socks off); from the impeccably designed interiors (full of Hawaiian charm and history); to the perfect amenities (a lomi lomi massage that changed my entire perspective on what a massage could be); to all of the things you just can't bottle or attempt to articulate its charm (the lovebirds flying freely at The Birdcage, the sunsets off your lanai,)...this place wowed us in every possible way and left nothing to be desired. If you have the chance, this is where you want to stay. We eagerly await the day we can one day return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea
Responded Aug 2, 2022
Thank you so much for your glowing review. I am very glad that you had such a wonderful honeymoon at Hotel Wailea - and have memories that will last a lifetime together! We hope to be able to celebrate with you again. Warmest wishes for your happy future together, Markus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Priya D wrote a review Jul 2022
Brooklyn, New York18 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This place is amazing! From the minute we walked in we felt relaxed, and we were greeted by friendly staff and champagne. The property is beautiful and so was our room which had a partial ocean view. There’s a free shuttle service that takes you around Wailea which was helpful since we didn’t rent a car. Loved the pool and cabana area as well (great cocktails)! Also, the birdcage is a fun place to have drinks with amazing views, and the restaurant has pretty good food.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea
Responded Jul 22, 2022
Thank you very much for your review and comments. I am very pleased that Hotel Wailea lived up to your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you both back again soon! Warm regards, Markus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
katyll wrote a review Jul 2022
Makawao, Hawaii8 contributions1 helpful vote
My two night stay at Hotel Wailea was one of the best experiences. I live locally and came for my birthday as a solo relaxation staycation. I was welcomed with a celebratory bottle of champagne and chocolate covered macaroons which were delicious, and a nice birthday note. The second day I asked my boyfriend to stay with me and the hotel staff assisted him in executing another wonderful birthday surprise by arranging flowers in my room. Later that day returning to the room, yet another wonderful touch of leaving chocolate covered strawberries and a note congratulating me on my Maui anniversary/birthday—sent from Cassandra, the lovely new addition to guest services. Every staff member was friendly and warm, always saying hello when you walk by. Valet service (Zane and another guy working with him) were attentive and quick. Food and drinks at the pool were phenomenal. Every single detail was perfect. Could not have asked for a better birthday. I will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: They have free self parking available
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea
Responded Jul 11, 2022
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and thank you for the excellent review. I am especially honored by your mention of our attentive staff. This is the highest priority for us, and I am so glad that you took advantage of everything we have to offer you. Again, Happy Birthday and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm regards, Markus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$1,337 - $1,666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
resort wailea
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiWailea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Wailea
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Wailea?
Nearby attractions include The Magical Mystery Show! (0.6 miles), Wailea Beach Path (0.7 miles), and Fishpipe Hawaii (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Wailea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Wailea?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Wailea?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Wailea?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Wailea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lobby Lounge at Four Seasons Resort Maui, Kō Restaurant, and The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Wailea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Hotel Wailea have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Wailea offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Wailea?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Wailea offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Wailea?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Japanese.