We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3850 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
23 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Travelocity
$1,415
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Expedia.com
$1,415
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Etrip
$1,204
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Booking.com$1,415
Hotels.com$1,415
travelup.com$1,535
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (5629)
360
Panoramas (37)
Videos (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
Updated 12/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grand Wailea
Updated 12/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 9 hotels in Wailea
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
3.6
Grand Wailea Maui, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Water park
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
8527Reviews291Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,834
  • 1,849
  • 895
  • 552
  • 398
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Diane M wrote a review Jul 3
2 contributions
Our room in the Napua Tower was amazing; just remodeled with spectacular view. The staff there was wonderful. The price for the room is overpriced but a great location to all of the great restaurants and the shops at Wailea. I rated this property average because we won't be back after the third time we've been there. We are a family of four. We were looking for adult time, however, to pay this kind of money and not be able to lay out in the sun without a well thought out plan of securing chairs at the crack of dawn. They have a one hour vacant chair policy before they remove (30 minutes on the beach). I personally don't like to be packed in like sardines on the beach or be told that only 10 chairs are aloud on the green lawn now due to the food truck. To put two picnic tables and corn-hole and still leave a third of the area empty is absurd. Spoke to staff and received no rational explanation or changes. Perfect property for younger kids it appears on that side of the property. Try Four Seasons if you want more of a relaxed resort feel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
LAR wrote a review Aug 2021
Rochester, New York235 contributions86 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Great stay. Due to Covid- much was closed including their signature restaurant. But the luau was on and amazing!!! It made up for the rest! Smaller crowd- spaced out and an incredible show, food and service. The beach is awesome. Low waves and amazing night walks while tide is low. The pool is nice and loved the chair reservation so that you knew you had chairs and didn’t have to get up early to reserve. And after a certain point/ are open again if unclaimed. Bummed the water elevator and swim up bar closed due to Covid. But the pools and slides were all open and very enjoyable. The dive pool was open and active! The ambiance and grounds of this resort are beautiful. Close to many things- drove to the top of the mountain, road to Hana and more. Many resorts, restaurants and boutique shops nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view was nice, but doubt there is a bad view on this property!!!
See more room tips
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from JP Oliver, General Manager at Grand Wailea
Responded Aug 29, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us and for your review, wanderlust7473! We appreciate the detailed review and your five star rating. We look forward to opening both our water elevator and grotto bar once county social distancing guidelines allow, and we are happy to have reopened Humuhumunukunukuapuaʻa, our signature restaurant, earlier this summer. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! Mahalo, JP Oliver
Read more
kkb370 wrote a review Jul 2
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Don't pay attention to the negative reviews. We spent our honeymoon here 11yrs ago and returned in May (2022) with our kids (ages 7&8). It was just as AMAZING! Yes, there is construction but it's primarily limited to the back of the lobby/spa area and they are very good with keeping things quiet. We even had some construction in the room next to us and it didn't bother us a bit. The staff is over-the-top attentive! Our bellman even found my husband some distilled water for his CPAP machine and gave recommendations for inexpensive lunches at the market in the shopping center near-by. Gilbert at the front desk was great with room recommendations and remembered my name from day one. There were PLENTY of chairs around the pool and at the beach, we never had a problem even in the afternoon. I think most of the complaints were during spring break weeks which is to be expected (and why we specifically chose to go after). Depending on your travel plans, a car is not needed if you want to stay in the area. There's a shopping center easily walkable and a nice beach frontage path that you can walk along. Spend the money on the ocean view balcony rooms, you won't regret it. Also, take advantage of the free events at the hotel (ukulele lessons were great!). We also recommend Pacific Dream Photography. There's a free 45min session included in your resort fee. Use it! They were great to work with and the photos are wonderful!!! Just ask when you book your room or ask the concierge when you arrive and they'll book everything for you. Their store is also on-sight so you can review your photos. There's no pressure to buy and they offer several photo packages for purchase.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: call the front desk when selecting a room and they'll help you
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Jordan C wrote a review Jul 1
2 contributions
This was our family’s first stay at the Grand Wailea. I was concerned about the uneven reviews due to construction. However, we didn’t hear any actual construction noises so construction itself did not bother us at all. However, my wife was sad that the spa is currently under construction and relocated so she could not experience the full experience. Additionally, the amazing looking dining room off of the main lobby that faces the ocean looks like it will be ready pretty soon, but we didn’t get to experience it. The pool and ocean access are the star of this hotel and both were great. We had an expensive, but awesome cabana experience one of our days. Additionally, we found pool chairs with umbrellas each day of our stay even though we didn’t rush down to get our first choices at 7am. The water slides, multiple little pools, rope swing, and ocean waves kept everyone entertained the entire day. For food, we made the mistake of a $150 lunch for 3 people our first day and instead would walk to the market at the Shops at Grand Wailea to buy a days worth of food and snacks for less than $100. On site food is just OK, but lots of places within walking distance and also gets you off campus to explore other places. The standard rooms are just ok and definitely not worth $1500 a night. However, we didn’t spend much time in the room. So, while it didn’t diminish our stay, it definitely diminished our bank account. However, we decided to spend the money, so that’s on us. Overall, we enjoyed our time at the Grand Wailea and would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Wailea
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha, It was a privilege to host you and your family at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. We appreciate your lovely review and constructive feedback. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience with our revitalization, and we trust your wife still had a relaxing and luxurious time at our spa. Your comments will be utilized to guide us as we continue to adjust and find new solutions to avoid any disruption to our guest experience. Providing a relaxing and memorable stay is a goal of ours, so we're thrilled you loved our incredible pool area, featuring a three-story lava tube slide. We hope to welcome you back to our property in the future so that you can fully experience our full transformation. Mahalo, JP Oliver, Managing Director
Read more
S M wrote a review Jun 2022
Phoenix, Arizona72 contributions27 helpful votes
We went here to celebrate our anniversary. The pros of this property are pretty much summed up in its location and a lovely staff. The cons are that you are paying top dollar for a very average room. It is in great need of remodeling and they are doing that piecemeal. The rooms have not yet been addressed. The breakfast was served in the Huma Huma restaurant versus the buffet. We had a breakfast "package" with our room. I went for one spa service. As mentioned by others, no spa amenities available. These service spaces are hotel rooms that have been designated as "spa service" areas. Food was good, albeit expensive. Very nice that the hotel is easy walking distance to the Shops at Wailea. There are a couple of nice places to pick up sodas and snacks at a more reasonable rate. We had to get up early every morning in order to get beach chairs at 7 am. There is basically no availability of shade at the pool if you don't get there very early. There is plenty of room for more shade/umbrellas in the pool areas, but the management has decided not to make that available. If you are thinking of staying here, perhaps wait until the remodeling has been completed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Wailea
Responded 5 days ago
Guest satisfaction is important to us, so we're happy to see our friendly staff and convenient location added to your experience. It's also great to know that you enjoyed the view. However, we apologize for any concerns about the condition of the property and for any disappointment with available amenities. We'll keep your comments in mind, and we invite you to stay with us again should you be back in the area. Mahalo, JP Oliver, Managing Director
Read more
YYuuuuG wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York43 contributions57 helpful votes
The construction in hotel is quite a distraction to the experience… and we were assigned a room that is very far from the hotel entrance (10-15min walk). It is not the best idea to stay during the construction period…even the management is clearly trying, but the disruption is still significant. They should send an email a week before the stay to tell the guest in advance…
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t stay here until the construction is done. It is a disruption in experience
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Wailea
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha, Thank you for the feedback and we apologize for the noise issues during your stay. Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort is currently undergoing a multi-faceted revitalization and will soon offer a fresh, modern interpretation of Hawaii. While we are working behind the scenes to ensure the revitalization does not disrupt the guest experience, we hope you'll accept our apologies if this wasn't the case this time around. We'll be sure to keep your comments in mind for the future, and please know that more information about our exciting changes can be found online for our guest's convenience before booking. Please consider visiting us again later down the road. Mahalo, JP Oliver, Managing Director
Read more
Lauren Miko wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We spent a week at the Grand Wailea with our family. (six adults and kids 14, 12, and 10).There was something for everyone here, from the amazing pools which were like a water park but with food and beverage service, to large comfortable rooms and friendly and accommodating staff. We all agreed that it was the best family vacation we've ever had. There was some renovation happening but it was subtle and didn't impact our visit at all. The sunsets at this location are mind blowing. We snorkeled right off the beach and saw turtles three of the four times we went out. (make sure to check the conditions first and go early). The luau was a great experience for everyone. We tried a couple of the activities, which were really fun. Our favorite was the E Ala E on the beach in the early morning. It only happens once a month and we were so lucky to catch it. We ate at all the restaurants on the property and all were good but really pricey. The Gourmet Market in the shops nearby is a really great alternative for food when you're feeding a lot of people and you can get pizza nearby, too. Best vacation ever!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Wailea
Responded 6 days ago
Aloha Lauren, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us! We are thrilled to know that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your vacation. It sounds like you really made the most of your time and explored our amenities and activities. We will be sure to pass your compliments along to our team. Happy travels to you, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future! Mahalo, JP Oliver, Managing Director
Read more
Samir N wrote a review Jun 2022
Houston, Texas2 contributions
My family and I just finished a 3-night stay at this resort, planned in a relatively short timeframe as we wanted to try out a different side of Maui after having spent 5 nights elsewhere. The draw to this hotel is the waterslides and the lazy river, all of which were hits for my kids (from toddler to 10). But what blew me away, and the reason for the high rating, was the quality of the service. Beau Bennett at the front desk was incredibly kind and accomodating as we ran through various room scenarios that would make sense for our stay. Ryan at the bell service gave us all sorts of helpful tips, especially for figuring out food options that would suit dietary needs. At poolside services, Josephine is a breath of fresh air; my kids were running to find her every morning so she'd be the one putting on their wristbands.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Wailea
Responded 6 days ago
Aloha, What a truly lovely review to receive! We are thrilled to know that you and your family enjoyed our fun water amenities, as well as our friendly staff members. It will be a pleasure to pass your compliments along. Happy travels and we hope to see you again soon! Mahalo, JP Oliver, Managing Director
Read more
AllForCruises wrote a review Jun 2022
SF Bay Area, CA4 contributions2 helpful votes
We enjoyed a 4 night stay at the Grand Wailea - the facility is a bit dated, as it's undergoing renovations, which I expected - but there has been no disruptions and the staff was great all around, from bell service to check in and housekeeping. Our standard room was quite large compared to traditional hotel rooms. Just be prepared for a snootier clientele (at least some folks who we encountered). We had an incident at the beach where we legimately moved to the front row beach chairs and some chairs were already turned and I saw another family leave. The beach staff actually helped me move my things and removed the old tags. After about a hour, the party next to us reported to the staff that we took their chairs. We were then asked by the staff to move. I was, of course, embarassed. The staff apologized for making a mistake for moving us to the front in the first place. But instead of standing up to the other party for abandoning the use of their chairs, it was easier to ask, I guess a mother and a 13-yr old daughter to move their things. Note that the other party had people around the entire time. Why did the other party not say anything the entire time as we were using the chairs? We were right there! And we were using also chairs from another family which left. Pretty much, we were bullied and the young staff played into it or didn't know what else to do. I didn't want to ruin my own vacation or give the staff a hard time, so I made my case with the other party of clearly what happened and scrambled to leave, carrying our loads of beach items...and interestingly, this all happened soon after my husband and teenage son stepped away. Interesting timing, you think? Other than the incident, our stay was fine and the resort was great - we did wish that the pool elevator would be opened. We did had some stinging to our eyes when using one of the hot tubs in the middle of the day (as if it was just treated), but it was fine later that day.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Wailea
Responded 6 days ago
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your four-night visit overall and appreciated our spacious accommodations and friendly staff members. However, we are sorry to hear about the incident regarding the beach chairs, and we will review this matter with our team. We strive to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable. Thank you for sharing your input, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future so that we can show you an even better experience. Mahalo, JP Oliver, Managing Director
Read more
Gary U wrote a review Jun 2022
Miami Beach4 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel is WAY overpriced for what you get!!! $1200 for a room that's worth $200-$300 tops. Food and Drinks are beyond reasonable. Drinks are $20 and your average meal for two will cost you $300-$400. Let's not talk about the $65 a day to park. The list goes on about the overpriced mid-range resort. Do yourself a favor and stay someplace else. I feel I wasted a million Hilton points for what I thought would be a wonderful experience. it will be unforgettable as I look back on what I was charged for things at this place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Grand Wailea
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Gary, Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We greatly appreciate our loyal Honors members and apologize wholeheartedly for a stay that didn't provide the value you were anticipating. Your comments will aid us as we continue improving our guest experience. We welcome your feedback and wish you safe and pleasant journeys. Mahalo, JP Oliver, Managing Director
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$1,377 - $1,711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand wailea - a waldorf astoria hotel wailea, grand wailea maui, grand wailea resort maui, grand wailea hawaii, grand hotel wailea, grand resort wailea
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiWailea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
776
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Wailea
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Wailea?
Nearby attractions include Wailea Beach (0.2 miles), Little Beach (0.2 miles), and Te Au Moana Luau (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Wailea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Wailea?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Wailea?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Wailea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Honolulu Cookie Company, Island Gourmet Markets, and Lappert's Ice Cream.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Wailea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Grand Wailea have airport transportation?
Yes, Grand Wailea offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Wailea?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Wailea offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Wailea?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Filipino.
Does Grand Wailea have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.