We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
24 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Hotels.com
$677
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/05/21
Expedia.com
$677
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/05/21
Snaptravel
$677
$662
View Deal
SAVE $15
Waldorf.com$677
Trip.com$676
Travelocity$677
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (5366)
360
Panoramas (37)
Videos (3)

About

#7 of 9 hotels in Wailea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Grand Wailea Maui, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options.
Read more
Room & Suite (1,222)1,222
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Water park
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
8,151Reviews279Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,659
  • 1,782
  • 859
  • 513
  • 339
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Leslie C wrote a review Jan 20
Arizona City, Arizona8 contributions3 helpful votes
Could not wait to returned to my favorite hotel! It was horrible , no service ,No restaurants, only one was open and it was not glamorous for the price they charged, ThenLounge food food was so small and was not appetizing! Bartenders and Hotel valet service was Awsome.just great personalities, they were the only Best of the trip. The rooms were horrible not clean as they should it was supposed to be a 5 star! ⭐️ it was one star . The Residence Inn in Wailea had better service and rooms! Overcharge for my Stay ...SoSo sad I am a Hilton Diamond member it was Bad and Management really just did not care! No Entertainment! No Romantic Dinner it suck for anniversary & BDay! No call or nothing , everybody complained Dead after 6:00 no, They charged 50.00 for parking and no one was there! Maybe 100 people out 4 days. 2% Occupied!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Too Quiet no entertainment ,Every room was quiet changed 2 times
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Craig wrote a review Dec 2020
13 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
A magical place to visit. Beach is nice and a short stroll to Elua Beach as well where snorkeling is great. We have visited the Grand Wailea 3 times now. We hope to rerturn again. The kids loved the rope swing pools and slides. Cuisine is gourmet..
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Wailea, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Wailea
Responded 3 weeks ago
Mahalo for staying with us and for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your past stays and most recent stay, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you and your 'ohana back again soon! Mahalo, Grand Wailea Team
Read more
Elizabeth C wrote a review Jan 14
Baarn, The Netherlands129 contributions33 helpful votes
About garden and swimming pool: marvelous. The place is just in front of the beach with a lot of funny attractions in several swimming pool. It's fantastic for families with children. About the professional skills: weird! My husband and I chose this Resort for our honeymoon and perhaps we had have higher expectations. They didn't receive us kindly, in the gentle and warm way which Hawaii is famous for. Plus, they charge 45 usd + taxes daily for: 2 bottle of refilling water, WiFii connection and other services that because of Covid restrictions needs to be booked in advance and those are based only on availability. That specific detail was not written on the website, so we felt a bit scammed. We wrote a letter and the Director of the Front Desk Manager assured us we didn't need to pay it. On the checkout day, into the final bill, the daily charge was there. We explained that Director cancelled this cost for us, as a gesture of apology, and then they corrected it for us. I can strongly say that, as a fancy and expensive Resort, we were expecting much more. Kind of disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Wailea, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Wailea
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha Elizabeth C, Many congratulations on your wedding, and mahalo for staying with us on your honeymoon. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment but can certainly understand it if certain things were not communicated prior to arrival. We will use your feedback to update our communication and certainly look forward to making all activities available again as guidelines are lifted.
Read more
Robert W wrote a review Jan 4
1 contribution1 helpful vote
During this most recent trip to Wailea, we stayed in multiple hotels over 11 days. Since our son is still young enough to enjoy the slides, we thought we’d revisit the Grand Wailea once more, since we hadn’t been in several years. The rooms are “okay”, but nothing special. We found a piece of stale bread sitting on the floor, so I’m not sure what that says about overall cleanliness, other than the cleaning staff could probably pay a bit more attention. What’s really frustrating though is the pricing, which, when you factor in the scaled back amenities, makes for a really bad value. For example, the Grotto poolside bar is closed, as is the water elevator. I guess I sort of get the logic somewhere deep down when it comes to not allowing these things to be utilized during COViD, but then you have to layer on all the red tape of assigned pool seating, and only being allowed two chairs, even if your same room party is three or larger! Naturally, there’s a way around this, but it requires you book (for extra $’s, of course) a private cabana. Given so much of the traditional value of Grand Wailea is tied up in the “in pool experience” and so much of that is now restricted or closed, I think options like Andaz are a few better proposition for your dollar. They don’t restrict where you sit, their bars aren’t closed and they’re generally just more vibrant and “on”, whereas Grand Wailea feels like it wants to be closed and is disappointed it has achieved only partial closure. Perhaps if they keep it up, they’ll indeed achieve full closure!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Wailea, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Wailea
Responded 2 weeks ago
Mahalo for staying with us and for your feedback, Robert. We apologize for the negative experience you had and hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back as restrictions and guidelines are lifted and additional amenities reopen.
Read more
Keith P wrote a review Dec 2020
9 contributions5 helpful votes
If I'm being honest, this hotel has seen better days. While service in Hawaii is generally lacking, the GW is not somewhere I'd recommend if you are a couple and are looking to enjoy a relaxing beach vacation. While I would chalk some misses up to COVID, when we visited last year, the service/amenities/dining was also lacking. A few examples: Stayed when resort was at 20% capacity, inquired about upgrading to a nicer room (we would've been happy to pay a reasonable amount) - we were told that we could have the same room (Ocean View) in the Napua Tower for $900/night. Yes, $900/night, at 20% capacity, on a stay we had already paid for ... makes no sense as the actual cost of the Napua room was $1200/night Breakfast for Diamonds was pathetic before COVID (fruit plate, yogurt, croissant), and now it's even worse - a to-go box with yogurt, a mini-pastry (bite sized mini), yogurt and OJ ... when we asked if we could switch our breakfast to something of equal or less value, the answer was a resounding "no" Constant smoking of cigarettes and pot on the balcony next to us ... why was there even someone in the room next to us when they were at 20% capacity?? Would've called to complain but the person smoking was speaking loudly about just getting out of prison and didn't make us feel safe to "rat" on him You have to "request" housekeeping by a certain time the day prior to receive it the following day - if you don't request it, they won't service your room. No turndown, which is understandable due to COVID I guess Requested silverware, was given plastic cutlery Housekeeping seen without masks on / texting on their phones Dirty towels were provided to use in the room (honestly they were disgusting, I'm embarrassed to post a photo) No personalized service here pre-COVID, definitely no personalized service during COVID $45/day for self-parking, which is the only parking you can do right now, and is what they used to charge for valet No culture of "yes" here with the staff - everything seems like a hassle, and that's not how you want to feel when you're staying at a hotel that's supposed to be of a certain caliber. Needless to stay, if you are a couple looking for a luxury resort where you stay on property and are well taken care of, I'd look elsewhere. If you are a couple that wants to just use the hotel as a home base to explore Maui, then I'd say this is a pretty good option ... everything is within a 30-45 min drive which is nice. If you are a family, then this is a great option as the pools are still as fun as ever for kids (and adults), and there is plenty to do for a family. With that said, we may stay here again in the future on points as we love Maui and we have tons of Hilton points to burn through, but I couldn't fathom paying for this hotel in cash. It's truly a ripoff for what you receive.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Wailea, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Wailea
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha Keith, Mahalo for staying with us and for your feedback. We have shared your review with our team so that we can continue to improve in the areas you mentioned. We look forward to adjusting our available offerings as guidelines and restrictions continue to evolve.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$551 - $1,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand wailea - a waldorf astoria hotel wailea, grand wailea maui, grand wailea resort maui, grand wailea hawaii, grand hotel wailea, grand resort wailea
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiWailea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
776
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Wailea
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Wailea?
Nearby attractions include Wailea Beach (0.2 miles), Ulua Beach (0.2 miles), and Little Beach (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Wailea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Wailea?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Wailea?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Wailea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Honolulu Cookie Company, Lappert's Ice Cream, and Lobby Lounge at Four Seasons Resort Maui.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Wailea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Grand Wailea have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Grand Wailea offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Wailea?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Wailea offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Grand Wailea have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Grand Wailea accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.