We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Home Inn

810 Panoramic Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-1765
Traveler (59)
Room & Suite (18)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Mountain Home Inn, your Mill Valley “home away from home.” Mountain Home Inn aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year. Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the bed and breakfast. The property also boasts free breakfast, to help make your stay more enjoyable. If you are driving to Mountain Home Hotel, free parking is available. During your visit, be sure to check out one of Mill Valley's popular shrimp restaurants such as Piazza D'angelo Restaurant, Sol Food, and Playa, all a short distance from Mountain Home Inn. If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Mount Tamalpais State Park (0.2 mi), which is a popular attraction amongst tourists, and it is within walking distance. Mountain Home Inn puts the best of Mill Valley at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Public wifi
Internet
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
170Reviews7Q+A33Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 70
  • 47
  • 22
  • 16
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here for a special occasion. The staff was on top of everything, highly communicative and very kind. The location is amazing. I’m from the area and adore MT. Tam. The inn is situated at the perfect spot on the mountain near great hiking and views in every direction. It’s also less than 15 minutes from downtown mill valley. The rooms are slightly more dated that I realized from the photos, but clean, cute and totally comfortable. Our room had a great fireplace. I definitely recommend for a night away from busy life, or even a true multi-day vacation.
Read more
Response from wel0ver0mantich0tels, Owner at Mountain Home Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the review, it was a pleasure having you here and we hope to see you again.
Read more
We had finished walking through the Muir woods and our friend guided us to this side of the road middle of nowhere inn. First the view is beautiful and the food was most delicious! I had the mushroom ravioli which arrived with a golden brown pankocrumbed topping. So good an plenty of mushroom filling. My husband had the ceviche which was fresh an nicely presented. Our friend enjoyed the veggie fritta with these large potato chips made there. We also shared a charcuterie and the baguette was perfectly crusty on the outside and soft inside. One doesn't expect such high calorie meals at a country inn situated in a very rural area but I highly recommend it. The chef there is doing a hood job. Our waiter was attentive an knowledgeable.
Read more
Response from wel0ver0mantich0tels, Owner at Mountain Home Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Gl;ad you stumbled across us, we are off the beaten track! Thank you for the kind review.
Read more
Poor service and hospitality. We had to cancel our plans 11 days out and called to cancel, and slapped with a $25 “service fee” to cancel. I had not looked at the reviews in advance, but it looks like the actual experience would have been nothing like the photos/description. i will save myself a trip to a place that doesn’t know the true art of hospitality.
Read more
Like many have mentioned, and I should have paid closer attention, the service is non-existent. I waited 20 minutes to be checked in at the corner they call a front desk, as the manager was training someone downstairs. A waiter finally checked me in and you have to sign your receipt on a large ledger that you hold, because there is no desk. I have stayed at many lovely small places in Europe, so I know that their space could be better utilized. The room was large and the bed was great with nice pillows and linens. The view and balcony were lovely, as was the fireplace. The rest was disappointing. The chairs by the fireplace were very uncomfortable, only one deck chair had a cushion, and it had seen better days. None of the lamps in the room worked (I believe an electrical issue in the sockets)?? The paper products were low quality as were the amenities. The room desperately needed updating. I certainly expected more for the price. To be honest, many of this would be overlooked with a smile and some kindness, which I didn't see at all. It it telling when none of the staff can generate a smile for a guest. Save your money, and find your views on the drive, or hiking the trails.
Read more
Response from MHI_Management810, General Manager at Mountain Home Inn
Responded May 10, 2019
I appreciate all the nice things you said about the inn: the bed, the balcony, the fireplace, the view. The short delay in check-in was because you called us 4 hours before check-in time requesting we call or text you as soon as your room was available so you could do an early check-in. Although a phone call alerting a guest to early room availability is an unusual request – most early check-ins are people that show up early, take a hike or relax with drinks or lunch enjoying the view while they wait for their room to be available - we wanted you to be happy so we were glad to comply. Unfortunately the unintended consequences was because you showed up several hours before normal check-in time – during a downtime where we tend to other duties like training and room inspections - we were away from the front desk and not able to immediately check you in. We are a tiny inn and our staff is cross-trained so we were glad another staff member was able to check you in without too much further delay. We checked your room after reading your review and found that all the lamps work. I wish you would have told us at the time you were having problems with the lights as we would have been glad to show you how they worked. The bathroom amenities are Aveda, organic, and high quality. The missing deck cushion was on back-order; it was installed the day after you left. I appreciate your statement that the above issues would have been overlooked if only the staff had shown kindness and smiles. Our staff generally gets good reviews for friendliness but we will certainly be discussing your stay further with them as a teachable moment. Having happy guests means a lot to us and the bottom line is we are very sorry we were not able to make you happy.
Read more
I have both stayed and eaten at Mountain Home a number of times. We live in Marin and often stop her going back and forth to hikes on Mt Tam and have lunch, beer for hydration, and wine on the way home. The staff is delightful and accommodating. The food ver=y good with salads, appetizers, seafood and meats that are perfect, not to mention the view from near the top of Marin, all over the SF Bay and Marin County. I think is is a must to appreciate the perfect Marin atmosphere.
Read more
Response from MHI_Management810, General Manager at Mountain Home Inn
Responded May 10, 2019
Thank you Robert for pointing out our perfect Marin atmosphere. Locals have told us they bring their out-of-area friends and family up here to show them why they moved to Marin. You are always a delight and we look forward to seeing you again
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$217 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mountain home hotel mill valley
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMill Valley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing