Mill Valley Inn

Mill Valley Inn

165 Throckmorton Avenue, Mill Valley, CA 94941-1909
Juliet balcony
Traveler (136)
Panorama of the Balcony King w Fireplace at the Mill Valley Inn
360
Panoramas (20)
Balcony King Room
Room & Suite (275)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 small hotel in Mill Valley
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.2
Mill Valley Inn is the one and only hotel in downtown Mill Valley. This intimate property is tucked away in a redwood grove at the foot of majestic Mt. Tamalpais. Just steps away from the bustling town plaza, guests of Mill Valley Inn enjoy convenient access to galleries, fine restaurants, boutiques and theaters, as well as close proximity to the many hikes and scenic vistas that Mt. Tamalpias has to offer. Mill Valley Inn combines the sophistication of a small European hotel with the cozy charm of a historic California mill town.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English

Location

165 Throckmorton Avenue, Mill Valley, CA 94941-1909
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 75 out of 100
75
San Francisco Intl Airport
21.7 mi
See all flights
Metropolitan Oakland Intl Airport
399Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 273
  • 99
  • 17
  • 8
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Emily W wrote a review Oct 2020
Los Angeles, California2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We ended up at Mill Valley Inn on a whim after our wedding hotel In Napa was evacuated (and then subsequently burned) the day before our wedding! We were eloping which made things easier than if we’d had a huge group, but was still an incredibly sad and stressful occurrence. Mill Valley Inn ended up being the saving grace to our entire ordeal. They were so accommodating and kind to us, booked us a room on short notice and helped us find an alternate location for our Zoom ceremony less than 24 hours out (The deck of the penthouse in the Oak Creek Lodge which was absolutely lovely). We loved our room, the soaking tubs, the decks, the location right near everything in town, but most of all, the service! Thanks especially to Bryan for taking the time and making the extra effort to make our little wedding special. I’ll never forget it! We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
princesstamago wrote a review Nov 2021
California73 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From room selections to the hiking trail suggestions, the staff at Mill Valley Inn was very, very patient with me. They emailed me 2 weeks before I arrive to ensure that the location of my room will be on 3rd floor facing the backyard (nice and quiet with a view just like I requested). They also notified me that the elevator will be out of service during my stay but they will be happy to assist with my luggage. What makes Mill Valley Inn stands out are these nice little things that they do for their customers. Thank you, Bryan, Stella, Lea for exceptional customer service, and all the kitchen and cleaning staff to make the stay extra comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
runswim54 wrote a review Mar 2022
Poway, California67 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here 5 times in the last 4 years. We love this place. Our favorite rooms are on top, with a balcony facing Throckmorton. Never had a problem with noise. We visited this time in February and it was cool in the evening and early morning. We really enjoyed the fireplace in the room. On arrival you receive a warm greeting, Robert assisted us in parking our larger car (this is the only drawback--parking can be tricky ), and a gift bag with snacks and a bottle of wine. The staff here all go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

The breakfasts are back! Just as great as before, with quiche, bagels and all the fixings, oatmeal, fresh and varied pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, nuts, fresh juices and two helpful employees ready to make any specialty coffee you might want. All included in the price of the room.

In late February, many locations were lax regarding covid protocols and the state and local guidelines were in flux. But everyone here was very careful, masked and we felt very comfortable.

You are close , within walking distance , to many great restaurants and hiking areas. They even have mountain bikes you can use! Mill Valley is just a great location and this Inn is one of our favorite places to spend time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We like the rooms on top overlooking Throckmorton Ave, but others we met enjoy rooms in the back...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Devon M wrote a review May 2023
6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at the Inn - in three separate rooms - was disappointing for all. My room in particular (in the guest house at the rear in total darkness) was terribly depressing. I felt like I was in a tomb. The toilet wouldn't flush so someone came and "fixed it" with a rubber band. The bed was so high even though I'm tall I had to jump to get on it. The room was freezing and the heat didn't work. My sibling's room also in the guest house had no privacy as all windows looked out onto a common deck and walkway (including the toilet). He had no bathroom sidelights which made shaving difficult, no convenient place to plug anything in, his toilet seat was loose, and his bed was uncomfortable. My other sibling's room in the main building had a lovely terrace but a strange fireplace thing that took up loads of space and didn't work well. She was also cold and her heat didn't work. She found the bed uncomfortable. Hallways outside the main building rooms are very unattractive. As I was at the Inn for a week I asked to change rooms but they were not able to accommodate my request. The price was very high for the quality of the rooms. It seems the Inn may be coasting by on it's location which is right downtown.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Justin Flake, General Manager at Mill Valley Inn
Responded May 24, 2023
Dear "138devonm," We're really sorry and disappointed that you disliked our hotel so much. A setting in a wooded area is not for everyone. If we had known that a wooded area with lots of trees made you uncomfortable, we would have definitely recommended that you stay in our main building, when you booked. I'm sorry we were sold out of those rooms and did not have one to offer you, after you arrived. While I respect your opinion and wish to honor it, I would like to speak to some of your complaints so as to clarify for guests who are considering a room in the Creek House, and are offering their time to read my response. The remotes for our in room heating and ac units are, admittedly, a little tricky. We would have been happy to send someone to your room to show you, and/or your sibling, how to use it, when could not get the heat going. Some of the windows, in the room your sibling stayed in, face our shared veranda. Three hotel rooms have access to this veranda and rarely, if ever, does a guest from one room cross in front of the windows of another. That said, the window covering over the bathroom and other windows make the window completely opaque, from the inside and out. Beds are very subjective. Just so as you know it was not to the bed being hold, it is a Serta Presidential Plus. It was purchased in February of 2022. We will definitely make sure to check the toilet seats to make sure they're tight. I'm sorry this bothered your sibling. Lastly, the "strange fireplace thing" is a chimenea. It's a small, freestanding fireplace, with a chimney that connects to the ceiling. It sits in the corner of the room. Most of our guests really like it. Once again, I'm truly sorry that your experience here was not a good one. I wish you the best. For any of our potential guests that are still reading, please feel free to reach out to me, directly, a the hotel, if you have any concerns our questions, about your stay. Sincerely, Justin Flake GM Mill Valley Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jalor8 wrote a review May 2022
8 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. Delighted. If you love charm and nature, this is for you.
We stayed in the Penthouse suite for the first part of our week. It was previously booked for the weekend so the last 2 nights of our trip we stayed in a king deluxe room. Both rooms were so beautifully appointed and luxuriously comfortable.

The penthouse suite has a spa shower and bath to die for. The personal deck, the kitchenette. I felt like royalty. The penthouse suite does have an A frame ceiling so just be aware in some corners if you're tall.

The king deluxe room- has the most delightful deck. The fireplace in the room added such functional aesthetic. It was a win.

The location was perfect. So easy to get to CA 101 and connect to everything. Yet the town of mill valley offered so much of its own, you didn't have to go anywhere.

One last note: We had a minor miscommunication on charges while there and the attention to the matter was immediate and professionally handled with courtesy and genuine care. I was won over by the small town attentiveness, the smiling faces, and royalty treatment. Will recommend highly.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pamela P wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first visit to Mill Valley was perfect due to the service at the Inn. A quiet, clean, nicely appointed and spacious bedroom facing the trees. The king bed was the most comfortable I have encountered. Information offered regarding local hikes and tips regarding Muir Woods parking etc. The wine and cheese and breakfast with many protein, bakery and fruit choices made the stay even more relaxing. Did I mention they have bikes available on a first come, first serve basis?
Thank you to the manager and staff for taking great care of us:) Enjoyed sitting at the bar in front of the pizza oven at Bootjack, wine outside by the fire at Bungalow 44 and stuffed pepper and fish tacos at Joe's Taco Lounge.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor on the back of the hotel. A deluxe King or the cottages would be...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mish wrote a review Nov 2022
Hawaii121 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in one of 2 cottages on the property. Our cottage was the furthest in the back of the property and very quiet, set under some amazing redwood trees and next to a stream. The Inn is in the middle of town but the cottage setting made it feel like we were in the forest. The cottage was clean, comfortable and spacious. It had tall ceilings, a super comfortable bed, fireplace, mini fridge, coffee maker, bathrobes, wine glasses, and large TV. The stay included a continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and cheese. Breakfast included selections such as fruit, yogurt, pastries, bagels, oatmeal, and quiche. The evening wine and cheese had some decent wine selections. The Staff were very friendly and wonderful. The Inn is within walking distance to some excellent restaurants and a short drive from Muir Woods. Overall a quaint retreat. Would recommend to anyone looking to staycation in the area or if
they’re visiting SF but want to stay somewhere more tranquil than the city.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The cottages were great. Parking stalls were a little tight.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PEGGY A wrote a review Mar 2021
SACRAMENTO106 contributions81 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just stayed 2 nights at the Mill Valley Inn as a quick get away, and to hike. It was absolutely perfect. At the time of check in, we received a friendly greeting, a fabulous welcome package (split of Cabernet, really good brownie, and other snacks) and received very good directions for our hike and places to eat. We drive an electric car, and they had reserved a space for us near an outlet where we could charge the car; they do not have a dedicated charger. The room was very spacious, full of light, and immaculate. We were offered a menu to provide our breakfast choices, no egg dishes, but a good selection of an extended continental-type. They even offered Lattes and mochas. The portions were very generous and, again, it was provided according to Covid-19 guidelines, but with professionalism. And, for about the first time ever, the provided bathrobes fit me (normally they seem to be made for only large men)! We were very impressed with the facility as well as the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EaganKim wrote a review Feb 2024
Eagan9 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We selected this hotel for its location right in the middle of the town of Mill Valley and within walking distance of shops and restaurants. While the room could have used a little refresh, overall it was clean and comfortable. Our balcony overlooked Throckmorton Avenue and provided a great view of the homes built up the hillside. It was very quiet in the hotel. We enjoyed the wine and cheese provided daily at 5 p.m. and the breakfast each morning. Kirstin handled our registration and was extremely welcoming and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If you rent a car, get one that can navigate tight corners and very steep hills!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Summer S wrote a review Jun 2021
11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful cozy hotel with staff that goes above and beyond to make you comfortable. Uber refused to pick me up at 4am for an early morning departure to SFO, and the man at the front desk called tirelessly to find me a taxi. Even gave me a fresh apricot Danish while I waited. Fabulous, friendly staff. Will be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristin asked a question Nov 2021
San Francisco, California27 contributions29 helpful votes
Do you allow dogs?
lillibelle asked a question Jun 2017
New York City, New York86 contributions201 helpful votes
In the Victorian house, first floor are the rooms dark? Esp in winter I am curious..thank you
Answer from ken03021954
San Diego, California28 contributions4 helpful votes
No- Our room in the back looked out on the garden and redwoods- Very sunny
Answer from JFlake
7 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi Joaquin, Thank you for your question! Our cancellation policy is generally 2 weeks in advance of the arrival date, unless you book our advance purchase rate. That particular rate type is non-refundable at time of booking. Feel free to reach out to the property, anytime, should you have any questions, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you sometime soon! Take care.
Answer from withtwoboys
Illinois16 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds. We had our teenage boys with us. The room was large with a huge walk in closet and large bathroom. It worked great for us. We used the walk in as a changing area. We were only there 2 days.
Jill R wrote a tip Mar 2024
California73 contributions64 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is free under the main building. Don’t miss the great deck for guests to sit out and enjoy the trees and fresh air!"
Read full review
EaganKim wrote a tip Feb 2024
Eagan9 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you rent a car, get one that can navigate tight corners and very steep hills!"
Read full review
mish wrote a tip Nov 2022
Hawaii121 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The cottages were great. Parking stalls were a little tight."
Read full review
runswim54 wrote a tip Mar 2022
Poway, California67 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We like the rooms on top overlooking Throckmorton Ave, but others we met enjoy rooms in the back by the creek area."
Read full review
ItalophileCalifornia wrote a tip Oct 2021
California54 contributions18 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If choosing the Creek House rather than the main building, and if you value natural light, insist on one of the front rooms and avoid #19."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mill Valley area.
PRICE RANGE
$327 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mill valley hotel mill valley
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMarin CountyMill Valley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MILL VALLEY INN - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Mill Valley Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Mill Valley Inn?
Nearby attractions include Sweetwater Music Hall (0.1 miles), Throckmorton Theater (0.03 miles), and Poet and the Bench (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mill Valley Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Mill Valley Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mill Valley Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mill Valley Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Piazza D'angelo Restaurant, Mill Valley Market, and Bungalow 44.
Is Mill Valley Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Mill Valley.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mill Valley Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Mill Valley Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Marin History Museum (5.0 miles), Robson-Harrington House (4.9 miles), and First American Flag Raising in San Francisco (1.3 miles).
Is Mill Valley Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Mill Valley HotelsMill Valley Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Mill ValleyHotels near Mill Valley Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars