We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Portmeirion

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,241: English reviews
Brockley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Like staying on a film set. Lovely location, friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in the village which is basically one big hotel. The day visitors depart and the village belongs to the hotel guests, although shops shut down and it did feel rather quiet. If that's your thing you will love it.

Helpful?
Thank Tim D
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a tiny wedding in the Mirror Room of the hotel. Everything was perfect, in an idyllic setting. The wedding organisers, Manon and Delyth were superb , going an extra mile to help us and make this a wonderful experience. The registrar was excellent too. Our accommodation in the Watch House was extremely romantic. Rachel and Meinir did wonders... More 

Helpful?
Thank serwms
antrobus
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We loved staying in White Horses with stunning views and the best position in the village. It is self catering so we pretty much pleased ourselves. However we did eat once in the hotel restaurant and the food is as good as last year. A tasting menu has been added, without wine flight, in the bid to achieve a Michelin... More 

Helpful?
Thank nigel p
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is justified in being awarded 2 rosettes, the food is beautiful in appearance and taste whether it be at the hotel or the castle, the service is impeccable and oh so friendly and courteous,spotlessly clean and constantly maintained the hotel reflects the village for its charm and character The experience was a week long dream staying at this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly and helpful staff throughout the village Stayed in a village suite which we thought was very comfortable and had everything we required Short walk to the hotel where we had afternoon tea breakfast and evening meal on both days that we stayed Food and service were excellent Robin Ellis the maitre d marshals the breakfast team efficiently and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger B
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in 'Upper Pilot' which had a beautiful view of the estuary as it was nearly the highest room on the property . Friendly Staff. Can easily spend two days entertaining yourself. The property is more quiet and enjoyable when the day visitors leave. Would have liked to see more colorful foliage and flowers in the walkways. Our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oopsyaar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely location. Shame about the food and decor. This is an expensive hotel trading on its amazing views. The food was pretentious and heavy. Our celeriac soup was all cream and had little flavour. Smoked haddock on aubergine mousse again lacking flavour. Amuse bouche of salmon fish cake completely tasteless. Fruit salad at breakfast was awful - hard apples predominant.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PCEpicurus
Hotel_Guest_Liaison, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Portmeirion, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. But we can assure you that what you saw on the sea front was not raw sewage but decaying algae which is common and visible this time of year on our coastlines. The water quality and cleanliness of the beaches and the Gwynedd’s coast is regularly... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yes definitely unequivocally without fear of contradiction a strange almost magical place. It has an atmosphere all of its own stayed in one of the Neptune' suites faultless would I decorate a room in my own house like this?no but it just seems right here the views and walks are stunning. You get the vibe it's a living breathing functioning... More 

Helpful?
Thank John G
Lamonts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Such as disappointment, how come my husband booked this a year ago and we ended up with not only the wrong room but Portmerion looking a muddy mess? We spent our wedding night here 25 years ago, my husband booked a 3 night stay in supposedly the same room - which it wasn’t - our room booking was switched, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lamonts
Hotel_Guest_Liaison, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Portmeirion, responded to this review

I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay in Portmeirion. As you acknowledged, you stayed with us at a time that was not reflective of the Village's full glory and the bill was sorted accordingly. Unfortunately, due to adverse weather conditions, parts of the village suffered more damage than we would normally expect post Festival... More 

Worcester Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived on the Thursday night and we had accidentally booked a room for the Friday night. Fortunately the staff at reception were very accommodating and found us a room in the Bridge within the Portmeirion grounds. We had a lovely evening dinning in the restaurant onsite. The introduction taster menu was excellent value for money and really very nice.... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulthomascobb
Hotel_Guest_Liaison, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Portmeirion, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We obviously take such matters seriously and are incredibly sorry that you felt let down by us. I have liaised with maintenance and they couldn't see anything wrong with the system. The boiler was given a complete overhaul before your stay and is regularly checked. This however does not negate your experience. We are investigating... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,287 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (924)
Viewed
Room/Suite (180)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (249)
Viewed
View from Room (106)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (289)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (313)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Standard Hotel Double Room (56)
Viewed
The Anchor, Village Suite (89)
Viewed
The Hotel (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrhyndeudraeth
22.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
13.4 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Portmeirion is a romantic seaside resort on the coast of Snowdonia in Wales. It was opened by Clough Williams-Ellis in 1926. Noel Coward wrote Blithe Spirit here in 1941. Patrick McGoohan filmed The Prisoner here in 1966-67. In early September Portmeirion hosts Festival No6, a unique celebration of arts and music. Access during the festival period is for Festival Ticket Holders only. Portmeirion is open every day all year and is suitable for all ages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Portmeirion

Address: | Minffordd, Penrhyndeudraeth LL48 6ER, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Penrhyndeudraeth
Price Range: $140 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portmeirion 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Portmeirion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay