We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holy Smoke Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Holy Smoke Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 145: English reviews
Sarver, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was probably the absolute worse experience I have had at a campground. The sites are just big enough for the camper and the picnic table sits on the side of the hill making it unusable. The whole experience was horrible we paid in full months in advance to be told when we arrived we would not have the sites... More 

Helpful?
Thank rtjsvj
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Sometimes the best you can do isn't going to suit anyone. No matter how thin the pancake is it always has two sides. You were contacted at 8:30 PM our time because you were rude to my manager and did not give her a chance to explain what had happened. The party that was in your reserved spot lost the... More 

Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016

We really enjoyed staying at this location. We had a newer log cabin, and it was very quaint and enjoyable. There was more than adequate space, and the location was excellent to see the local attractions, particularly Mt. Rushmore. We were at the top of the hill, but I wouldn't want to make the trek up there in bad weather.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stanlock
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! We don't have to worry about the trek in the winter as we are closed from Oct. 1st to mid May and we have snow removal equipment for our maint. crews to get around in the winter. We hope you will share your experience with your friends and return to make more memories some day.... More 

Clear Lake, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

We were really only in our cabin to sleep, shower, and eat breakfast foods we had packed. Other reviewers are right, if you need more than this out of your cabin, you are missing the point of being in SD... :) Hints/Suggestions to the Holy Smoke Staff : Cabin names and numbers for 3 and 4 are switched on your... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vacationfor42016
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We value your input. Signs got switched when the maint. crew oiled the railings. They are now in the same position as the map shows, however, the cabins go by number not name on the reservations. You would not believe the linens we replace every season because they have been misused. Our office hours have been... More 

Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016

We checked in on July 31 and spent 5 nights in a two bedroom cabin, number 12 to be exact. The room was very clean and met the needs of my family of four. The housekeeping staff did a great job making up the cabin after we had left for our day's travels. The location is far enough off 16A... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ace1rush
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

WOW, all I can say is many thanks for the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the resort and the trail ride. We are hoping that the new trail bosses return next season as everyone loves them. We are Happy to be a part of great vacation memories. Please tell your friends about us and we hope... More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016

Holey Smoke cabins are comfortable, well-equipped, and priced fairly for this tourist area. We stayed here after visiting Mount Rushmore, just down the highway. We had a unit in one of the duplex cabins, with no one in the adjacent unit, so it was quiet.

Helpful?
Thank acs898
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Hi and Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value your business and hope you return. Dani More 

Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

Nice, exceptionally clean cabins although somewhat small even for 2 people. Our group had 4 different cabins during July, 2016 and the water pressure was awful. A normal shower took a good 15-30 minutes just to get the soap off and out of your hair. No reason to complain to management about this as the property was full and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 333donna
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Hi Donna, Wish you would have called about the shower. When you check in we tell you if there is a problem to let us know. We are not always visible but we answer the phone 24/7. The problem with the shower probably was as simple as a change of shower head as we have a well here with minerals... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

First of all, this location is a no-brainer. It's easily accessible but is still tucked enough away to give you that nestled-in-the-forest feel. We loved that we could bring our dog too. The staff was so kind and considerate, and our cabin had everything we could need and more. In seeking a quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Courtney B
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Hi Courtney, We are Happy, Happy that you took the time to let us know you liked your stay. My staff works very hard to make your stay as enjoyable as we can and we appreciate your business and hope to see you again. Dani More 

Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Used Holy Smoke as our home base for Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. Clean, simple and exactly what we wanted. - low key family time. We could walk around the area and the kids explored all over and had a fabulous time building a rock fort behind cabin.

Helpful?
Thank travelgirllcp
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us. We love it when we hear about the kids loving the nature here. Hope you had the opportunity to see the wildlife as well. Please return on your next adventure to South Dakota and tell your friends about us. Dani More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

Our family booked a total of 4 cabins for the week of July 17-23rd 2016 for a family reunion and enjoyed every minute of it. Having stayed here a few years prior, we were more than happy to come back and weren't disappointed. The cabins are well furnished and fairly large. One of the best aspects of these cabins is... More 

Helpful?
Thank John S
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for the glowing review!, and for the repeat business. We do our best to make your stay one of your best memories. Your review tells us we were successful. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Your business is much appreciated. It was me on the blue golf car. Dani More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

We stayed at a two room cabin (max 5 people) , cabin 12 for 5 nights. This was our first trip to South Dakota. We packed an insane amount into this week long trip with both stops in Iowa and South Dakota. Everything you would find by searching 'bucket list' we did and more. Holy Smoke Resort was at a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Christina B
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Good Morning Christina, I am delighted that you would return to us. Our returning guests are what keep us in business. I guess everyone was enjoying their decks. That having been said, I am sorry that your neighbors made you uncomfortable. I am sure that they were just outside enjoying a meal or a cup of coffee in the peaceful... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
2.0 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holy Smoke Resort offers 27 fully modern log cabins, Cabins can accommodate from 2 to 12 people as they are of different sizes. Some are pet friendly and some have fully equipped kitchens. Our Vacation rentals are fully equipped and one has a game room with a pool table and sleeps up to 12. All cabins have bathroom with shower, AC/Heat, refrig., Microwave, coffee, TV and WiFi. Bedding and towels are provided as well. Daily housekeeping is provided in all units except the vacation rentals. We have a 21 site RV Park. All pull-thru sites with TV, WiFi and full hook up Which includes sewer. Sites are long pull-thrus designed for the larger rigs, all have 30/50 amp. Electric. No public showers or public restrooms in the RV Park. The park is for fully self contained RV units having their own bathroom facilities. We offer trail rides from Memorial weekend to Labor Day conditions permitting. Our staff will gladly help you plan activities and places of interest to fit your schedule. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holy Smoke Resort

Address: 24105 Highway 16a, Older Gps Is Misleading, Keystone, SD 57751-6641
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Price Range: $92 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holy Smoke Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holy Smoke Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holy Smoke Hotel Keystone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay