We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
404 Reed St, Keystone, SD 57751-4101
E-mail hotel
Hotels.com
Priceline
eDreams
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (68)
Room & Suite (74)
Dining (6)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 12 hotels in Keystone
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Battle Creek Lodge is a quaint Lodge located just minutes away from Mt Rushmore, in the beautiful and Historic Keystone South Dakota. Just blocks away from the Keystone "strip"' Battle Creek provides you the benefit of being within walking distance to all of the local attractions, restaurants, and bars- without the noise and chaos to keep you awake at night. A gas fire pit to enjoy on the cool evenings and a Breakfast that will jump start your vacation though the hills are just a few of the things Battle Creek has to offer. Owned and operated by locals, you are sure to get an insiders guide on what to see and do during your stay, by people who REALLY care about your vacation and are committed to making your time in the Black Hills enjoyable and memorable.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Highchairs available
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
423Reviews4Q+A70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 321
  • 68
  • 18
  • 6
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Josh S wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions
We stayed here two nights in July 2021. We had booked a, not so good, Airbnb in Hot Springs, SD. So, after several hours of searching for a new place to stay I was so lucky to find The Historic Ice House in Keystone, SD. This was one of the coolest places I have ever stayed. We had our three teenage daughters with us and it was the perfect size. Upon check-in there was a small snafu but they were so quick to fix it that I was blow away by the service. I will always try to book a spot with any of the vacation rentals that Battle Creek have in Keystone! Thank you so much for saving our family trip and giving us wonderful memories!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I would say you can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tammy GH, Marketing at Battle Creek Lodge
Responded Aug 3, 2021
Thanks, You made our day! We are so happy that we were able to assist you in making your trip special. In spite of this being a CRAZY season -- my small staff has done a GREAT job of pulling together to take care of our guests and I am thrilled to hear that we are hitting that target. On a side note, I want to say thanks for taking a minute to call and let us know that you enjoyed the place. Often times we only hear from our guests when they are disappointed or upset -- your kind words were just what our team needed. We may not always get it right -- but I promise there is nobody that works harder. We look forward to seeing you again, Tammy and Cine
Read more
Karen wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
The place needs to be updated. The beds are very uncomfortable. Stains on the carpet. The bathroom fan doesn't do anything. Shower drain is very slow. Fills up while taking a shower. Every time we received towels, some we still damp. The location is great and the lady in the office is very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Tammy Gilbertson-Hunsaker, Owner at Battle Creek Lodge
Responded Aug 13, 2021
Hello ~ I regret that you had this experience with us. We replace our mattresses every two years - as we believe firmly that a good mattress, a good shower, and good coffee are essential in good travel. We get many compliments on our beds, but I understand that beds are subjective. I hate to admit that after your review, I walked through the rooms and I agree -- the carpets need cleaned. I talked to our cleaning staff about how to spot clean stains and I have been more diligent about checking the rooms. I am sorry that we missed the mark on that and I appriciate you bringing it to our attention. I hope that is corrected now. I also checked the fans and cleaned out the drains as a precaution - although I was unable to find one that wasn't working. If you are able to send me the room number you were in, that would be very helpful. I hope that we addressed the issues that came from your visit. I encourage people to say something while they are still on the property if they have issues. There is little that can't be fixed right away and we want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip, Tammy
Read more
Cathy H wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
+1
We spent a week at Battle Creek Lodge. It definitely is not the average big name hotel! This cute rustic lodge has charm that doesn’t end! The rooms are nicely and simply decorated with pictures and furniture that fits the rustic look. The queen bed we had was very comfortable. Tammy and Cine are great hosts, treating their guests like family! We immediately felt at home. If you want a more personal touch when staying in Keystone, stay at Battle Creek Lodge. We think you will not be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tammy GH, Marketing at Battle Creek Lodge
Responded Aug 17, 2021
Thank you so much, your words are like music to us. Thank you for noticing the effort we put into making the Battle Creek Lodge as well as the vacation rentals we have in the area, places in which our guests feel at home, warm, and safe. We appreciate the time you've put into leaving a review as it is a big deal to us, it helps us immensely. Thank you so much. VWR
Read more
SWAUSHORN wrote a review Jul 2021
Austin, Texas119 contributions59 helpful votes
I'm giving this a 5 star review because the proprietors were awesome! Great Location a bit off the main drag of Keystone. When we went to check in, the front desk staff was away, but left us the information for us to enter into our room, this is where the fun and the excellent service started! When we opened the door to our room....oopsie it was not made up from the prior guests. Concerned I called the number left for me in the event there were any Problems. In an instant Tracy and Cine were there to immediately clean the room and were very apologetic. (I don't cast aspersions on the staff that should have cleaned room). But once we got into the room it was very comfortable and appointed to feel like the area. Nothing fancy, but just what was needed. Bed was super comfortable and the TV and Internet (not so great) worked fine. But the real difference maker here was the staff, they were very attentive and went out of their way to ensure that everything was OK (even after I left and felt I left my rain jacket at the Hotel - I did not, but that didn't stop them from immediately responding to my text). I'd definitely stay here again if in the area, unfortunately it was raining the entire time of our stay, so we didn't have the opportunity to enjoy the outdoor area as much as we'd like and since it was the height of travel season, the town was packed...so restaurants were packed as well. This was an excellent choice both for value and service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Colo01 wrote a review Jul 2021
Denver, Colorado261 contributions152 helpful votes
Second time I stayed in the Lodge. Overall a great place to stay. Front office was closed due to an emergency. Commination was great and check in was smooth using the pass code for the room. Room 26 was perfect for two adults. I wouldn't want to stay in this room if more than two adults (One queen bed). Room was clean and location of the room was very quite. AC worked great. Never saw the owners but met them last visit. It seems they do a little upgrading each year. Close to town with no car needed. Overall a great stay and I look forward to my next visit
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tammy GH, Marketing at Battle Creek Lodge
Responded Aug 17, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are constantly doing little upgrades to the lodge, trying so hard to maintain it in a good condition as it is a historical building. We're also trying to switch the model of our business into a more independent traveler style in which our guests have more privacy and are encouraged to enjoy their stay at its best without depending on a front desk clerk. We definitely enjoy meeting and chatting with our guests when we have the chance in the mornings as they plan their day while grabbing a cup of coffee from our lobby. We're glad to hear you had a good say and hope you give us the pleasure to host you again soon. VWR
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$100 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
battle creek hotel keystone
LOCATION
United StatesSouth DakotaKeystone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Battle Creek Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Battle Creek Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Big Thunder Gold Mine (0.3 miles), Red Garter Saloon (0.2 miles), and Professor Samuel's Portrait Emporium (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Battle Creek Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Battle Creek Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Battle Creek Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Battle Creek Lodge?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Battle Creek Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cruizzers, Janes Boardwalk Pizza, and Ruby House Restaurant.
Is Battle Creek Lodge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Keystone.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Battle Creek Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Battle Creek Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Holy Terror Mini Golf (0.5 miles).