We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brookside Motel

Booking.com$139*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Brookside Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 176: English reviews
Start your review of Brookside Motel
 Click to rate
Castle Rock
Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

I got a call one random Saturday night that my son was road tripping to Mount Rushmore - solo - from Colorado State University, where I thought he was placidly studying. As you might expect, he did not bring money or other necessities, and planned to sleep in his car in the park. I got on Trip Advisor and looked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SunSurfSki
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed November 14, 2016

Staff was great and rooms was very clean, Breakfast was nice hot Clerk on desk was very helpful and understanding. He showed us various point of interest which were great to visit. Service was lighting quick. Overall this place is best to stay in keystone. I will definitely come back and stay here

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rtahmedabad2
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed November 3, 2016

Around the edge of the door was poorly insulated (you could see around the cracks on the sides of the door to the outside) so the room was very cold when I stayed there. You can turn on the heater but it's so loud then it's hard to sleep! The beds and the construction of the room itself was quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James T
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Reviewed October 31, 2016

This is a small motel that is clean and very reasonably priced. There was only one person on staff, but he did a good job of handling things. He was very friendly and accommodating. We needed ice for our cooler, and he delivered it to our room. We could not get the World Series on the television, and he worked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Becky H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2016

We wanted a cheap but comfortable place to stay for 1 night near Mt.Rushmore and this place fitted the bill perfectly. We were slightly apprehensive after reading some bad reviews here, but it was perfectly fine. The rooms are a bit basic, but have some nice little touches to brighten them up, bed was comfortable and it was clean. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David4758
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Reviewed October 13, 2016

We stayed here during our visit to Mt. Rushmore. Price was unbeatable and review were good so that is why we picked this motel. We got our money worth. Staff was so friendly and helpful like 4-5 star hotel. Breakfast was good. Overall good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sr K
Nick B, Manager at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a nice review and for caring for our service we appreciate the efforts you liked and thank you for such a nice review and ratings.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2016

Breakfast was very basic. The carpet in the room was very dirty and the TV reception was terrible - on closer inspection the aerial was barely connected into the wall. I managed to sort it myself. Don't think I got one of the new rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cygnusx
Nick B, Manager at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

First of all thank for reviewing The Brookside Motel and we are sorry for the issues it has been already shared with our employees and been taken care of.

Ashland, Wisconsin
Reviewed September 29, 2016

very good service and must recommend the motel.Without doubt one of the favorite motel I stayed during my time in Keystone. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the staff and manager.The staff was extremely friendly room was we are in with queen beds and it's very clean and nice with all basic amenities.very near from mt Rushmore we had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank V4620UGmikeb
Nick B, Manager at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Rest ensured, that we will take you comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure personal service and warm welcome for your next visit.

Reviewed September 24, 2016

The new owners were very nice and accommodating. You could smell fresh cut wood in the newly remodeled rooms. We stayed two nights and were actually sad about leaving. This place had the best prices and is right in the center of everything Keystone and the surrounding area has to offer. There are picnic tables behind the motel next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mj a
Nick B, Manager at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

The 5 stars says it all it all hard work of our employees to make comfortable stay for all the guest and such a nice rating and description for each of the things provided for the motel is feels like cherry topping thank you so much for appreciating our efforts.

Reviewed September 24, 2016

We were taking a quick trip on a tight budget. We wanted someplace cheaply priced where we could sleep and shower. This place fit those needs. It appeared that the room we had was recently updated. The flooring looked new as well as the paint on the walls. We had a king sized bed that I thought was reasonably comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William B
Nick B, Manager at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a nice review on The Brookside Motel. I is good to see that our effort are being paid for. Thank you for giving in the detailed experience so the same can be shared with all staff members and really appreciate your valuable time given for detailed review.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
0.4 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Brookside Motel

Address: 603 Reed St, Keystone, SD 57751-2067
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Price Range: $62 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brookside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Keystone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Brookside Motel staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
knoxville,tn.
11 months ago
Stanley, North Dakota
Punta Gorda, Florida
over a year ago
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 months ago
10 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Brookside Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Creek View rooms, Great staff, Nice hot breakfast, In center of keystone”
rtahmedabad2, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“Stay in Rapid City instead.”
A5860ZUjamest, Nov 3, 2016 | Read review
“they have nice room with jacuzzi”
V4620UGmikeb, Sep 29, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms farthest from the road would be best, otherwise they are all acceptable.”
574scotth, Sep 7, 2016 | Read review
“If you are disabled make sure to ask for an accessible room there are stairs.”
burgesssr79, Sep 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$139* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$139
Orbitz.com$139
Hotels.com$139
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates