We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Brookside Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Brookside Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 168: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The new owners were very nice and accommodating. You could smell fresh cut wood in the newly remodeled rooms. We stayed two nights and were actually sad about leaving. This place had the best prices and is right in the center of everything Keystone and the surrounding area has to offer. There are picnic tables behind the motel next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank mj a
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were taking a quick trip on a tight budget. We wanted someplace cheaply priced where we could sleep and shower. This place fit those needs. It appeared that the room we had was recently updated. The flooring looked new as well as the paint on the walls. We had a king sized bed that I thought was reasonably comfortable.... More 

Helpful?
Thank William B
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a tough one.... With some minor tweaks it would be easily upgraded from average to good. We had a king size room with yacuzzi and a little creek at the backporch. At first sight it looks clean but it wasn't really when you're spending a few more minutes. It's not that bad but so easily fixed if they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TrailerTrashCamper
Nick B, Manager at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Hi ! Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I want to personally apologize for not meeting your expectations. Your concerns are our concerns ! I want to assure you that appropriate action has been taken and we have started giving extra training to our housekeeping to avoid this kind a issues in future. We are also looking... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My Husband & I booked this motel for one night via trip advisor as we were only looking for a place to sleep on our way back home from our trip out west. Based on the reviews & price I did not have high expectations . As we pulled up to the motel I felt skeptical .. the owner showed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelley P
Nick B, Manager at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Hi Kelly! Thanks for your review and we regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is important every guests is happy with their stay. If not we want to fix it and that is what we did by refunding full amount. Being surrounded by nature, we do get lots of bug and also what could have... More 

Travelers are raving about these Keystone hotels

Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Needed a night to stay on our way home. Was looking for sub $100 a night stay. We stayed here for $69. It's worth all of $69 and no more. Room is clean, very small, uncomfortable and very outdated. But it did the trick for a night to crash on the way home.

Helpful?
Thank Tragnar
Nick B, Manager at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Hi Tragnar! Thank you for staying with us and your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and satisfy with your our service against money you spend. We hope to see you again! More 

Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
414 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were two couples in two separate rooms. While dated, our room was clean and comfortable. Note: we could not locate a thermostat-had it been cooler than it was, we would have had to call for help. our room was evidently the bottom floor of a home as we actually had two separate rooms with 1 1/2 baths. The wood... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1Goldwinger
Nick B, Manager at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel, and it's services on tripadvisor. My apologies for the troubles you experienced during your stay. I am sorry about thermostat and issue had been taken care. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to serve you again ! More 

Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were influenced by the positive reviews, but really, sleeping here was not fun. If you like slanted linoleum floors, thrift store furniture and space heaters, this place is for you. Breakfast was awful. The operators have very little notion of the American service industry. In fairness, the bathroom was clean and well lit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Windowtotheworld
Nick B, Manager at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I apologize for not meeting your expectation. All the reviews posted on Trip advisor and other travel sites are by guests who have stayed at The Brookside and really enjoyed their stay. Our manager has full experience of industries. He has been working in service industries for 6 years. When it comes to our service if... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Quaint little motel. Not as over priced as most! The pool was covered, so couldn't use it. However, plus side as another review said-close to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse and access to roads for sight seeing. Room was good size with mini frig, microwave, decent bathroom and comfy bed. Only real negative, the pillows needed to be replaced. They were... More 

Helpful?
Thank leona o
Nick B, Manager at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Leona, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay went. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our service, room and location. Thanks for pointing out about our pillows. We are looking in to ordering some new pillow for our next season to avoid any future issues. We are also happy to hear that you... More 

Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Look, the price here should tell you something, but overall it's really very acceptable. The little one room cottages (VERY LITTLE) are quaint, well appointed (you have coffee pot, microwave and mini fridge) the bed is comfortable, you are afforded both an AC unit and a small heater. It's everything you NEED, but nothing more. This is a bare bones... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
Nick B, Manager at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to let us know what you thought about your stay, especially what you felt could be corrected. We are glad that you find our location suitable to your needs. We in process of raising heights of shower head by end of this year. We hope you will give us another shot the next time... More 

America, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights here. Advantage is that it's less then 10 minutes away from Mount Rushmore. We were greeted by the friendly new owner, who showed us the room. Then we were checked in. After reading TripAdvisor, I checked the bed, and I also found 1 (what looked to be pubic) hair between the sheets. I understand when washing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paddy J
Nick B, Manager at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Hi Paddy! Thanks for your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for pointing out about housekeeping issue and I want assure you that appropriate action and extra training has been taken. Thank you for taking a moment to let us know what you liked about your stay. We hope to see you again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keystone hotels
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
0.6 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
0.5 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Brookside Motel

Address: 603 Reed St, Keystone, SD 57751-2067
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Price Range: $60 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Brookside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Keystone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay