We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Under Canvas Mount Rushmore

24342 Presidio Ranch Road, Keystone, SD 57751
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (197)
Room & Suite (90)
Videos (2)
Certificate of Excellence


#1 of 12 Specialty lodging in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Located on an original gold mining settlement, Under Canvas® Mount Rushmore is the best way to experience one of America’s most iconic landmarks. Enjoy views of Mount Rushmore during the day and a star filled sky with incredible views of the Milky Way at night, all from the comfort of your private tent. Dine on the outdoor patio overlooking Mount Rushmore, wake up with yoga on the deck overlooking the black hills and cozy up next to the fire with s'mores each night. With tons of exclusive activities to go along with our luxurious accommodations, each member of your group is sure to find something they love.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Gift shop
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Bicycle tours
Evening entertainment
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Show more
Good to know
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
152Reviews9Q+A29Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 125
  • 22
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We absolutely loved our stay at Under Canvas! So much that we are considering a Glamping weekend in November at Smokey Mountains just to do it again. The tent was spacious, the bed was comfortable and the en suite bath was icing on the cake. As for the staff, they were wonderful!
Read more
Property's Favorite Review
Under Canvas Mt Rushmore was one of our new family favorite vacations! We are campers so we didn't expect it to be as nice as it was. The tents were so clean, the beds were super comfortable and the reception area was so much fun to hang out in! The restaurant provided amazing food and we ordered lunches to take on our days' adventure and they were scrumptious! Everyone on staff was so helpful and accommodating - they helped us navigate the area and were so fun with the our kids. The weekend provided us the best opportunity to connect as a family! If you're looking for a unique experience and something more comfortable than a hotel - stay at Under Canvas!
Read more
Response from Sherpa64633738468, Owner at Under Canvas Mount Rushmore
Responded Jul 3, 2019
Thank you for your review, we are so happy you had the opportunity to connect as a family and we are honored to be considered one of your family favorite vacations! I will pass along your compliments to the staff and I'll give a special shout out to the chef and his team for helping to provide an amazing experience for you and your family. Thanks and we hope to see you again at Under Canvas. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
We rented a large cabin for a night and a small one for 2, we were total of six. The cost to the experience/ration for me is not acceptable, but I am not a full-outdoor being anyway. Service was good, unfortunately AA messed up our trip and instead of arriving at noon as scheduled we got there at 10pm, they re-routed us thru DFW and lost one of our bags :( anyway. The main tent was super comfortable, but to stay warm we had to feed wood during the night. Shower inside the tent it was good...I know....it supposed to be a place to enjoy the wilderness, but for me no cappuccino is wild enough. We missed the stars which was out main reason to book it in the first place, but that is not their fault.
Read more
Response from Sherpa64633738468, General Manager at Under Canvas Mount Rushmore
Responded Oct 20, 2019
Thank you for your review. We're sorry the weather and travel delays took away from the full experience here at Under Canvas Mt Rushmore. Our goal is to provide our guests with super comfort surrounded by wilderness and to provide the opportunity to get out and experience nature. We hope you consider trying Under Canvas again and we look forward to making sure your next stay is exceptional. Thanks again, Lisa
Read more
Drove all the way to South Dakota to celebrate my birthday and anniversary in the black hills. It was dark when we arrived in our tent. Woke up to disgusting stained sheets. Talked to the manager and she was extremely rude about everything even though we were very kind and understanding. I still cannot get over how bad her demeanor was, we travel full time and it was the worst customer service I have received all year. Others at the camp seemed friendly enough I'm not sure how she became a manager. The food was expensive for how truly mediocre it was and I have no problem paying for a great meal. I mean, for a luxury experience they didn't even have real maple syrup! Just the fake thick gross stuff. Honestly, don't go the the SD one, try somewhere else. They advertise LUXURY linens, that is a pure lie! Dirty, stained, and just plain scratchy. I could get better sheets at Target. Truth in advertising matters, if you agree, then stay away.
Read more
Response from Sherpa64633738468, Guest Relations Manager at Under Canvas Mount Rushmore
Responded Oct 20, 2019
Thank you for your review and we are sorry your experience was not up to standards. We have addressed the situation with our staff and have taken corrective measures to fix the issue. We also apologize if anyone was perceived to be rude or made you feel uncomfortable in any way, that was certainly not our intentions. We will take your comments to heart and work hard to provide outstanding service in the future. Thank you again.
Read more
The staff went above and beyond. Friendly, professional, helpful. We have never stayed here before and we WILL do it again sometime. We had an issue with our tent and they moved and upgraded us for the inconvenience. I will and have recommended Under Canvas to many of our friends since we have been home. The location we visited was in the Black Hills of South Dakota, Keystone location. Loved it, loved it!!!
Read more
Response from Sherpa64633738468, General Manager at Under Canvas Mount Rushmore
Responded Oct 20, 2019
Thanks so much for your review. We apologize again for any inconvenience during your stay and we're so happy we were able to make your stay a great one. The Black Hills are an amazing place to visit so keep spreading the word! We hope to see you again soon at Under Canvas. Lisa
Read more
$202 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesSouth DakotaKeystone
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Under Canvas Mount Rushmore
Which popular attractions are close to Under Canvas Mount Rushmore?
Nearby attractions include Iron Mountain Road (1.3 miles), Rushmore Tramway Adventures (1.1 miles), and Mount Rushmore National Memorial (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Under Canvas Mount Rushmore?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Under Canvas Mount Rushmore?
Top room amenities include a fireplace, a view of a nearby landmark, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Under Canvas Mount Rushmore?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Under Canvas Mount Rushmore?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Under Canvas Mount Rushmore?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grapes & Grinds, Powder House Lodge Restaurant, and Janes Boardwalk Pizza.
Are pets allowed at Under Canvas Mount Rushmore?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Under Canvas Mount Rushmore?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Holy Terror Mini Golf (1.2 miles).
Is Under Canvas Mount Rushmore accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.