We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cornhill Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cornhill Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 268: English reviews
Larkhall, Scotland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited the Hotel on a Winter Warmer voucher from the Hotel. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the Staff and found the Hotel it's usual magnificence Our room (3) was spotlessly clean as was the huge bathroom. The disappointment came when we went for dinner. My soup,Cullen Skink, had a skin on the surface and my main course,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenmonarch
CornhillCastle, General Manager at Cornhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent visit. I’m sorry to hear you feel the food fell below par. When issues are made known to us we always, within reason, try to fix them then and there. At this late stage all I can do is apologise if you felt the food was not...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have stayed in a lot of similar hotels over the years, but would rate this as the best. Clean and comfortable accommodation, great staff, good choice of food at dinner and breakfast. We first visited Cornhill Castle about 10 days after it first opened in 1998, and if anything, it's got better We will definitely be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Embo_Girl
CornhillCastle, General Manager at Cornhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments about your experiences at Cornhill Castle. We are delighted you feel we are maintaining the excellent reputation the hotel has always had. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Innerleithen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife,daughter and i spent Christmas here for two days.it was just fabulous from start to finish.it had every thing we desired at this time of year.atmosphere,open fires,lovely lounges and dining rooms,bedroom was large spacious and very clean as was our bathroom.food was stunning,wines very reasonably priced,nice beers also.staff were just wonderful too,lovely surroundings for a good walk,we are booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james b
CornhillCastle, General Manager at Cornhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your honest review of Cornhill Castle. I’m delighted you and your family enjoyed their stay over the Christmas period. We look forward to welcoming you again this year.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sadly, I did try to leave this feedback twice on their facebook page but I guess they dont like honest feedback left and it was deleted. I wanted to provide some feedback on your recent Santa & Olaf Afternoon tea. My daughter loved all the games and disco (Although The Snowman didn’t hold anyone’s attention) but we were again disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie H
CornhillCastle, General Manager at Cornhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I can assure you that the review you left on Facebook is still there, we do not delete reviews left by guests. I'm please to read your daughter enjoyed the Santa and Olaf Afternoon Tea. The chefs try to cater for everyone at these events, it is of course difficult...

Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband, daughter and I have stayed here on numerous occasions over the years and always loved the traditional elegance of the country house hotel experience. The building, rooms and grounds are still elegant but the new managenent has given the place a more 'corporate' feel about it and the quality of the food was way below the standard we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottishtraveller099
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just returned from another visit to Cornhill Castle over the New Year period and feel I have to post another review highlighting the excellent customer service. During our stay unfortunately one of the party became unwell. The hotel staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was made as pleasant as possible under the circumstances. So, a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon M
CornhillCastle, General Manager at Cornhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review after your most recent stay at Cornhill Castle. I'm only glad we could have been of help when a member of the party became ill. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had not heard of Cornhill Castle, but after being badly let down by another venue on Boxing Day, we found this online, had no time to check out reviews so went into it with our eyes shut. Once we got there, our eyes were well and truly opened to an absolute gem of a place. From our phone call...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
CornhillCastle, General Manager at Cornhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving what I feel to be an honest review of Cornhill Castle. Every single member of staff works tirelessly to make every guests stay an enjoyable one. I’m pleased we were able to make your night away an enjoyable one. I hope you will take the time to visit us again.

Scotland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cornhill House has always been our number 1 choice for Christmas Day dinner, birthdays, anniversaries or any excuse for a visit really over many years. We found out at the Scottish Wedding Show last year that it would have new owners but was assured that nothing would change. 6 adults and 1 child had Christmas Dinner there yesterday and have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank usafanScotland
CornhillCastle, General Manager at Cornhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review, I’m sorry you feel we did not live up to Cornhills excellent reputation on Christmas Day, if we had been made aware of the issues you have raised on the day we would of course have tried to fix them, then and there. It is always our aim to give a first class service...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I decided to book the honeymoon suite as part of a pre xmas get away treat for myself and my wife, we had previously dined at the Cornhill and were impressed by the charm of the place. On arrival we were fairly pleased with room 9 although we both agreed there was some tweaking to be done to justify the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tootstanner
CornhillCastle, General Manager at Cornhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments. I’m sorry you feel your stay was not as expected; it is always our aim to make every stay a pleasurable one. The room tariff before reduction was not £210. The mattress is a standard hotel mattress made specifically for use in hotels; the mattress is designed to sit inside the frame of the...

South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been visiting Cornhill House Hotel (now called Cornhill Castle Hotel) for twenty years mainly for meals. We always liked the quiet cosyness, the friendly efficient staff and the variety of quality food. We reserved a table for an anniversary evening meal as we always have at this time of year, unaware that the hotel had been taken over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavynPat
CornhillCastle, General Manager at Cornhill Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. We are sorry you feel things have changed, although admit some small changes have been introduced, most things remain. The bulk of the staff are the same, the decoration and the open fires are as they have been for some years. We currently run two menus, the Set...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coulter
1.8 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
211 reviews
9.7 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2.2 mi away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#3 of 3 in Biggar
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
143 reviews
10.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel
15.5 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This charismatic castle hotels enjoys a perfect countryside location with panoramic views over the Tinto Hills and River Clyde. Drive up the sweeping drive way and catch your first glimpse of this fairy tale castle. Extensive grounds including, helipad, terrace and children's play area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cornhill Castle Hotel

Address: Cornhill Road, Coulter ML12 6QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Coulter
Price Range: $87 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornhill Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cornhill Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornhill House Hotel Biggar
Cornhill Hotel Biggar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cornhill Castle Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
11 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cornhill Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Pop in for coffee or lunch and ask to see them,we did.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesb644, 1 week ago | Read review
“They are all lovely, so won't be disappointed ;”
 of 5 bubbles Sootyghirl, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“We had room 7 on the first floor accessed by the lift as I needed an accessible room.”
 of 5 bubbles photolass, Nov 5, 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms ( Clyde) have lovely bay windows & look out on the river & countryside”
 of 5 bubbles kathleenm372, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“We had room 1 which faced on to front of hotel and was very pleasant and the bathroom was large and had both bath and shower unit.”
 of 5 bubbles JoM693, Oct 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay