We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
37515 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9602
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$149
Priceline$150
FindHotel$150
Agoda.com$150
Etrip$150
Tripadvisor$150
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (166)
Dining (21)
Room & Suite (11)

About

#3 of 5 hotels in Ashford
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
Historic Lodge located in Ashford, WA. One-mile from Mount Rainier Nisqually Entrance. King, Queen, Suites, Yurts and a Vacation home available. Moderate prices. Beer & wine available for purchase. Gift shop and tiny trail on-site. Two beautiful ponds, waterfall and old style waterwheel. Famous guests to this place include Presidents Theodore Roosevelt & William Taft. Alexander's Lodge is listed in the Washington historic registry.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Gift shop
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
466Reviews5Q+A89Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 209
  • 120
  • 73
  • 46
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
berkeleygolon wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
What a unique and cool place! The staff were very accommodating an helpful in working through our travel plans! The location and proximity to Mt. Rainer is also a huge plus! Thanks again to Jim and his team!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michael L wrote a review Aug 2022
7 contributions
The room was fine but the bed was springy and we kept sinking to the middle. They offer a "to go" breakfast that you have to order ahead of time. It was only okay. I asked for fruit and got an apple that was both tiny and had a massive bruise that made half of it inedible. Also the eggs were boiled so long the yolks were green. On our final day the eggs were frozen when we tried to peel them. Also be aware that dining options are severely limited in this area so plan ahead with food you can prepared for yourself.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander's Lodge, General Manager at Alexander's Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jamilehrc wrote a review Jul 2022
7 contributions4 helpful votes
Service and rooms were wonderful. Jim was SO helpful, accommodating, and kind. Rooms are very clean, cozy, and well-stocked. Location is beautiful, with great pond and trail from lodging site. I highly recommend Alexander's. We'll return for sure. Thank you for everything, Jim!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander's Lodge, General Manager at Alexander's Lodge
Responded Jul 22, 2022
Thank you so very much! Guests like you make doing this worth it. Please visit us again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ashley w wrote a review Jun 2022
Lucerne, Switzerland5 contributions
We checked in at 6pm thinking it was available for two nights. Asked the hotel employee the next morning if we could check out early the next morning and they said we could. When we advised them we would check out and not stay the second night, they refused to cancel second night saying they only allowed a cancellation on two weeks notice even though we had no advance reservations and no policy was provided! They said they sent us an email after checking in about their policy, but no email was sent! I would NOT recommend this motel to anyone….
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander's Lodge, General Manager at Alexander's Lodge
Responded Jul 2, 2022
We did not refuse to cancel the 2nd night. Our refund policy is 100% 14 days prior to check-in in the summer. That is not negotiable. That being said you seem like a pleasant couple and we're sincerely sorry that your stay was less than optimal. Best wishes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deborah C wrote a review Oct 2021
6 contributions2 helpful votes
we spent a few days there with our dog Bernie, the room was nice but the outside area is spectacular. The way they handled COVID was very inventive, you picked up your key from the lobby by getting a envelope with your name on it and the room key inside. breakfast was ordered online and delivered in a pretty little basket to you door step accompanies by a gentle knock at around 8:00 am. a very clever way of handling it. the nearby restaurant was very good, and worth going again. We were there in late Sept, and Mt Rainier was shrouded in rain, truly spectacular for us water starved Californians. The Parlor was a warm and inviting place to read a book or visit with friend both new and old..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander's Lodge, General Manager at Alexander's Lodge
Responded Oct 22, 2021
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rerBellevue wrote a review Aug 2021
Bellevue, WA307 contributions135 helpful votes
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. The grounds are nice, and we spent some time sitting by the pond in back. The breakfast delivered to the door was decent. The room was definitely small, but smelled okay. There was a portable A/C in the room, but if it were really warm, I don't think that it would do the job (might need some instructions). The location near Mt. Rainier is good. The few times that we saw staff, they were helpful and courteous.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander's Lodge, General Manager at Alexander's Lodge
Responded Dec 4, 2021
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and we were happy to see you. Sorry the rooms are small, that's part of the fact that this is historic building and at the time, that's how they were built. :0) We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
riverpod wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York11 contributions5 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed two nights at Alexander’s Lodge while on a car tour through Washington state. I wanted to stay there because I read online that Teddy Roosevelt had stayed there, and I thought the grounds would be nice for relaxing. The grounds are nice compared to other hotels, but nothing of historic value is preserved there. We waffled between rating the place as “quaint” or “a dump” and decided in the end it’s more dumpy than quaint. The first night we had a tiny room on the second floor just big enough for two queen beds. The bathroom had a sour, musty smell. The second night we had a larger room on the first floor, with a separate sitting room. That bathroom also had a sour musty smell, and the sitting room smelled and felt like a fishing cabin. The furniture is pretty old and worn out, and I didn’t like sitting in the upholstered chair, it felt like I was sticking to it. I’m guessing that is a pet friendly room, even though we had initially selected no pet rooms for both nights. It irked me that the hotel management decided to move us into different rooms than the ones we had selected when we made our reservations months in advance, presumably to accommodate preferred guests. We were lucky to have quiet neighbors during our stay, but I’m sure noise could be an issue if your room is adjacent to a family or a loud group. If we had it to do over again, I would stay at the nice-looking cabins just down the road, closer to the entrance to mount Rainier national Park.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James Breaden, Innkeeper at Alexander's Lodge
Responded Mar 3, 2022
I'm sorry to hear that you had a less than optimum stay. The self-description on our web page, www.alexanderslodge.com, attempts to set expectations for our guests. None of the rooms which are adjacent to the parlor are pet-friendly. We do not make room changes to accommodate "preferred guests". And I agree with you. Noise IS an issue when the people adjacent to you are noisy. Our property is well over a century old and issues such as the ones that you point out are a constant challenge for us. Thank you for your comments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barry B wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
So I booked this lodge a couple months ago for a price of about $518 in total for two nights. I was also planning to climb Rainier with RMI Expeditions and they required that you book two nights in Ashford, which is what I did as I explained. Two days before my reservation, RMI Expeditions cancelled my climb, which was a bummer and is totally understandable. A lot of ice melted from the heat on Rainier which made the trails very tricky. So I called Alexander's to get a refund. I understand they don't offer refunds within 14 days (which is quite ridiculous if you ask me) but least they could have done was give me an exception because the climb was cancelled last minute. But they were very strict and firm in their stance in not giving me a refund because it was "just part of their policy". So even if outside circumstances occur, which I am guessing are quite common, you will not get your money back no matter what happens within 14 days. Alexander's Lodge then had me call RMI Expeditions to see if I could get reimbursed, to which they told me that they could not do anything about it. I don't usually leave bad reviews on business especially during these times, but this experience was very frustrating. Now I quite literally threw $518 down the drain. I am very disappointed in this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander's Lodge, General Manager at Alexander's Lodge
Responded Aug 20, 2021
We understand your frustration. However, our policy is clearly marked. We cannot subjectively grant exceptions. Each individual case feels that his or her situation is deserving of an exception. In order to remain fair, we stick to our policy in each individual case.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GalxeFortCollins_CO wrote a review Aug 2021
Fort Collins, Colorado4269 contributions26 helpful votes
The room and bathroom was extremely small. We had to re-arrange the furniture just to be able to put two suitcases on the floor, let alone all of our hiking gear and other stuff. There's not much they can do about the bathroom but they could really make a lot more space in the room by choosing some different furniture. It got tiring being so cramped for 3 nights. The beds were comfortable, the grounds are pretty, and based on the room alone, I would have given it a higher rating but we had lots of other issues. The portable air condition had a long tube coming from the outside into the unit. That tube fell off in the middle of the night and was pumping hot smoky (from the wildfires) air into our room. We had to get up at midnight and to put it back together. They completely forgot to deliver our breakfast for the second day. They were supposed to bring it the night before since we wanted to leave prior to the 7:30 delivery time. We tried both calling and e-mailing and got no response and there is no one at the front desk. The third morning the milk that came with my breakfast was chunky! My friend said the orange juice was too sour to drink. The wifi was also very spotty. Overall, it was not a great experience. If you're a larger person or older, it would not be a good place to stay. There are very steep narrow stairs to get to the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander's Lodge, General Manager at Alexander's Lodge
Responded Oct 23, 2021
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your standards. From our webpage: From our web page: “ If you like standard motel/hotel rooms, this is not the place. The architecture is quirky and rooms are oddly sized. Did we mention the building is old?” We have in-house staff who are on-call 24/7. Always reachable by phone (two landlines one outside of the giftshop and one in the parlor. The rooms on the 3rd floor are on the smaller side. As a result they are more economical. Hope this clears up any problems with that. We apologize about your breakfast experience. We are constantly trying to improve on that but mistakes happen.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LesleyYang wrote a review Jul 2021
New York City, New York181 contributions76 helpful votes
Basically as others said, location location location. The location is unbeatable if you are looking for Mt Rainier. That said, it's where the trade off start. I have stayed at places boasting 'historical' or 'quaint', this is not it. It's really worn down. For example, my friend has a bed that will tilt up if you sleep on one side....my room which is really the winner across three different rooms we booked has uneven floor. It has basic necessities such as bed and shower but that's IT. You get NOTHING else. Also there is no sitting area per say. There is a 'hall' with one set of sofa (which we took) but then there is no other area for any group or couple to 'hang out'. My room which is relatively roomy (with a sitting area) will NOT fit two adults to my opinion. Wifi not stable and cell connection poor. All in all I probably will stay further from the national park to get a more comfortable stay..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Belle suite is a relative winner
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander's Lodge, General Manager at Alexander's Lodge
Responded Oct 23, 2021
We are sorry that your experience was less than perfect as we strive to make our guests happy. A few thoughts on your review - From our web page: “ If you like standard motel/hotel rooms, this is not the place. The architecture is quirky and rooms are oddly sized. Did we mention the building is old?” Our parlor is large and accommodating. Our WiFi reception is usually strong but when we are full or close to full the resulting thinning of bandwidth creates less than optimal conditions. We have done everything that we can to minimize this. We are a stand-alone entity in a rural setting. As for cell reception, that varies based on your carrier. If your carrier offers WiFi calling that can be a usable solution.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$149 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alexander`s country inn, restaurant & day hotel ashford, alexander`s country inn, restaurant and day spa, country inn ashford, ashford country inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Alexander's Lodge & Restaurant
LOCATION
United StatesWashingtonAshford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alexander's Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Alexander's Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Mount Rainier National Park (1.1 miles), Ashford Creek Pottery (4.4 miles), and Lake George (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Alexander's Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Alexander's Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Alexander's Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Alexander's Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alexander's Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wildberry Restaurant, Copper Creek Inn Restaurant, and BaseCamp Bar & Grill.