We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$234
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Hotels.com
$234
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Trip.com
$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/05/22
Booking.com$234
Travelocity$234
Priceline$234
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (266)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (31)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 10/29/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/29/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Morristown
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
The Madison Hotel is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Morristown, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Rooms at The Madison Hotel offer a HD flat screen TV, premium movie channels, premium amenities, spaciousness, our rooms are designed with three different color schemes, multiple, convenient charging locations offered near desk and bed side, digital thermostats, black out drapes and air conditioning providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgraded rooms available that include a pull out sofa, refrigerator and microwave. A 24 hour front desk, complimentary parking, room service, library, garden courtyard, snack shop, poolside dining and two (2) restaurants are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. An indoor heated pool, gym featuring cardio equipment as well as free weights and a complimentary continental breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are taking the train to The Madison Hotel, the Convent Station (NJ Transit) stop is directly across the street (easy access from NYC or Morristown and Madison). Close to some of Morristown's most popular landmarks, such as The Frelinghuysen Arboretum, Morristown National Historical Park, George Washington’s Headquarters, Jockey Hollow, Ford Mansion and Museum, Morris Museum, Fosterfields Living Historical Farm, Historic Speedwell, Fort Nonsense and many more make The Madison Hotel a great destination for tourists. While visiting our hotel you may want to try the Keller Family Special at Rod’s Steak and Seafood Grille, it is a house aged USDA Prime NY Sirloin Steak or a Kobe Beef Burger, Disco Fries and a milk shake at GKs Red Dog Tavern. If you’re looking to hike, walk or bike, Traction Line Recreation Trail is a 2 mile paved trail located across the street and Loantaka Brook Reservation (1.1 mi away) is a nice way to relax or exercise outdoors. Drew University, Saint Elizabeth’s University and Fairleigh Dickinson University - Florham are all within 1.5 miles of The Madison Hotel so whether you are taking a college tour, visiting a child or taking a class or seminar at one of the universities The Madison Hotel is the place to stay. WELCOME HOME we know you will enjoy your stay in Morristown, NJ at The Madison Hotel!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Highchairs available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
971Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 555
  • 259
  • 107
  • 31
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jbird2022 wrote a review Yesterday
Holden, Massachusetts1 contribution
We had traveled about 4 hours to get to Madison, NJ to attend a funeral. It was a beautiful service but it took a lot out of us. When we got back to our room we fell asleep instantly. We usually have difficulty sleeping and wake up multiple times per night. We both slept through the night. There was a wedding taking place on the first floor and so they gave us a room far away from the celebration. What a wonderful end to a beautiful but difficult day.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Joseph M wrote a review Sep 22
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Do not visit this hotel. It is not as described and management and personnel are very nasty. Caveat emptor! I do not recommend anyone go to this hotel until they enter the hotel and see the conditions prior to making any reservations. Their pictures are decieving and once you book your reservation and if you decide you do not like it they will give you an extremely difficult time to refund your money or deposit. There are much nicer and better hotels for your money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Joseph made his reservation with a online travel agent that refused to refund his money when he failed to read the online travel agents policy regarding cancellations and attempted to cancel the afternoon of the day he was supposed to arrive. His issue is not with our hotel but with the online travel agent that is refusing to refund his money. He did call the hotel demanding a refund, threatening and attempting to extort the property by saying he would post unfavorable reviews such as this if we did not refund his money or force the online travel agent to do it. He claimed to me he never stepped foot in the hotel but in the comment he recommends to enter the hotel prior to booking (how would he know what it looks like if he never stepped foot in the building). He told me he was alone but we heard someone with him which he denied but this original review was labelled "Couple" instead of 'Guest" (hmmm?? Why?? He changed it after I messaged him and asked him to explain why he told me one thing but posted something else.). He then claimed he only drove by "alone" and the flowers shown on our website were not there and that was why he wanted a refund. I will be happy to share photos of our flowers today if anyone would like to see. His issue is with the online travel agent he booked with and refused to refund his money since he violated the cancellation policy that was posted on their sight and not with us. We told them to refund him but they refused so he is taking his anger out on us which he told me he was going to do. Joseph out of fairness your attempt to get back at your online travel agent thru us is not fair and your threats and abusive language you used with our staff is not acceptable in any environment for any reason. If Trip Advisor doesn't remove this review targeting the wrong business you should.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kali wrote a review Sep 16
New Orleans, Louisiana1 contribution
I attended a wedding for my family here. I was greeted by a woman at the front desk who was extremely unfriendly and was on her phone the entire time while checking me in. She had an attitude and it was a terrible introduction to the hotel. Our television only had one channel and the only buttons that worked was on/off and the volume button. There is chipping in the bathtub and the spout was rubbing at almost ful blast when I turned on the shower, which resulted in the pressure of the water being weak. The wedding itself was beautiful and the music was really good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for making me aware of the situation in your room. I truly do apologize and want to let you know it is not common, acceptable nor representative of almost all of our rooms as you can see from the other reviews on this and many other websites that allow customer reviews. We actually are in the process of replacing all the tubs as well as many other surprises to early to discuss and I truthfully thought the room you stayed in was out of order until it could get replaced. Again I am sorry but glad you enjoyed the wedding and hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan H wrote a review Sep 12
12 contributions1 helpful vote
Our son and his bride had their wedding here. The reception was perfect and the site gorgeous! We also stayed in the hotel and the room was perfect for our family. There were rooms for the groomsmen to get ready and then the room was available to the entire bridal party after the church to freshen up prior to the reception. We even had breakfast the next morning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Congratulations and thank you for allowing our hotel and team members the honor of hosting your very special occasion. It really was our pleasure and we look forward to having you with us whenever its time to celebrate other family milestones.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
traveleralso wrote a review Aug 2022
Dublin, Ireland6 contributions1 helpful vote
We (2 adults, a toddler and a dog) stayed one night while in the area. Everything was excellent starting with the fact that a live human being actually answered the phone to answer pre stay questions concerning the dog. He also offered a 15% discount which was much appreciated. We ended up paying almost $300 including the dog fee which, in mind, is pricey but comparable for similar properties in the area. Our room was comfortable and surprisingly included a fridge and microwave. We enjoyed the good service, plentiful breakfast items, clean pool area and outside sitting area. The only improvement I can think of would be automatic entrance doors for moving luggage through. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate the kind words and look forward to having you stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rick H wrote a review Jul 2022
Chicago75 contributions38 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights when we were in town for a wedding. They didn’t make up the room, but what really bugged me was that there were two bins outside of our room the whole time. One of the bins was full of garbage bags and the other was full of laundry. They were the first thing we saw in the morning and the last thing we saw when we returned at night. There has to be a better place to keep laundry and trash.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded Jul 12, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. I hope you enjoyed the wedding. As you know room cleaning is available by request anytime you wish. In an effort to make things easier on you, the guests, we placed those two containers near the elevators (every guest has to use the elevator to get down to the lobby) so the guests who chose not to have our staff members enter their rooms and chose to clean their own rooms themselves had an easy and convenient location to place their trash and dirty linen. It was in no way a optimum arrangement but Covid forced our industry to come up with ways to serve our guests without making them uncomfortable and placing anyone in harms way. I am sorry it disturbed you but it has been a way of life since the start of Covid and has worked well for our guests for the past three years.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
noproblemSetx wrote a review Jul 2022
Port Saint Lucie, Florida113 contributions111 helpful votes
Stayed one night to attend a wedding in the beautiful Conservatory. Unfortunately, I was not able to completely explore the facility because we left early the next morning to fly home. However, the wedding setting was amazing. The hanging flowers were in full bloom and adorn the space nicely. The staff was efficient and friendly. The food was to die for and was available in abundance. Our room was delightful, tastefully decorated and had a feel of luxury. I met someone the day before going to the hotel and when I told her where we were going the following day, she said she attend a wedding there 20 years ago and how wonderful it was. Twenty years later, I totally agree with her. Hopefully, I’ll have a reason to return. I would in a heartbeat 💓
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate it and hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
E F wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Have stayed here several times over the last 4 years and never disappointed. Rooms are clean and spacious. Lobby is beautiful with plenty of seating. Each time I made a reservation I spoke with Jennifer. Made reservations several months in advance for graduation in May and checked in several times for updates. She was always very helpful, pleasant and extremely patient which made the overall process even better.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Speak to Jennifer She's so helpful
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded Jun 9, 2022
Thank you for your kind words and your continued loyalty to The Madison Hotel. We truly appreciate it and I made sure to let Jennifer see this review. Hopefully we will see you again whenever your travels take you to Northern NJ or even NYC.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Márcia P wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I and my family stayed in the hotel for 2 week and were very pleased with the hospitality. Only topic to improve is the room clean process. Dificult to schedule and cleaning very shallow. An speciall Thanks for Scott MCarthur, an excelent manager that support us during all our stay
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded Jun 9, 2022
Thank you for staying with us and please be sure to come back again. We appreciate the business as well as the feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vacationer325519 wrote a review Apr 2022
Cartagena, Colombia4 contributions1 helpful vote
We attended a year-end dinner dance at the hotel in December. The hotel, itself a beautiful building, decorated the lobby lushly for the holidays putting us in the spirit of the night immediately. Having arrived early, we waited in the comfortable lobby, sitting around the warm fireplace, along with others from the dinner dance group. I went to get a glass of water from the self-serve bar set up with ice water, but the tank only had ice at the bottom. I went to the front desk to ask if they could refill the water. They said no, but that they could sell me a bottle of water from behind the front desk. I declined, and they suggested I find a staff member who might refill the tank. I walked around, finally found someone, and she kindly went into a closet and brought me a bottle of cold water. The ballroom and, more importantly, the dancefloor were large enough for our group. But the buffet dinner was disappointing, and all the main courses were tasteless and overcooked. The hotel was hosting a wedding at the same time. Perhaps the kitchen was understaffed for two significant events? Maybe they thought dancers didn't care so much about the dinner? So, while the decor and the dance parts were lovely, the dinner was not nearly of a similar standard. I would not return if my dance studio were to hold another event here. (We did not stay overnight, so I can't comment on the rooms.)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded Apr 12, 2022
Thank you for commenting on our "gorgeous property" we do take a tremendous amount of pride in keeping our hotel true to its "classical decor". I do apologize for the misunderstanding at the desk. It is so out of character for our staff to respond in that way that I respectively ask could you have misheard what she said in the crowded and noisy lobby? Is it possible she said she would have to find someone to refill the tank since she was alone at the desk and could not step away until the other team member returned (normally it is a function of our housekeeping department to keep the beverage station fully stocked)? I only ask you this because you claimed the staff was "indifferent" but the next person you encountered "kindly" (your word) gave you a bottle of cold water (not indifferent in the slightest). I am assuming this was the second team member at the desk returning to the desk since the "closet" you spoke of is connected to the desk. Regardless you heard what you heard and I am sorry it was made clear or loud enough to you. As you can see on this sight and many other sights that allow customer feedback service and food quality are two of our BEST attributes with positive feedback far outpacing negative feedback. Which brings me to your comment on food taste which as we all know is completely subjective and I am sorry you found the offerings bland. We are at the mercy of the event planners that select the buffet items and then at that point we season to taste but as I said earlier your taste buds are different then mine as well as everyone else (your spicy may be bland to me, your sour distasteful to me, my sweet to sweet for you, etc.). Those of us with culinary experience always prefer ala carte versus buffet for exactly that reason. I hope this helps clear things up and if you get a moment take a few minutes to read our review here and elsewhere and hopefully you will come back again next year and your experience will be improved.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$197 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
madison hotel morristown
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyMorris CountyMorristown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
186
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Madison Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Madison Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mayo Performing Arts Center (2.1 miles), Jockey Hollow (1.7 miles), and Morristown National Historical Park, Washington Headquarters and Museum (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Madison Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Madison Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Madison Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Madison Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Madison Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include H2Ocean Restaurant & Raw Bar, Rod's Steak And Seafood Grille, and The Committed Pig.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Madison Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Madison Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Madison Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Madison Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Madison Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Madison Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.