We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Madison Hotel

Expedia.com$161*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

779 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 762: English reviews
Start your review of The Madison Hotel
 Click to rate
Huntersville, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at this lovely hotel after visiting the Stickley Museum at Craftsman Farms in nearby Morris Plains. We actually found the hotel on the museum website for places to stay. It did not disappoint. Our room was lovely and breakfast was delightful. Reception was helpful as well. Attached Rods Steak House was a special treat and connected via hallway to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank niteowljune
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed at the Madison Hotel twice in the last 4 weeks. Its not a new hotel, but in a good location for the Morristown area. I was put on the 1st floor both times as those are the only renovated rooms. This hotel is a wedding factory. Sometimes 2 ir three a night. Well the noise from drunken...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sheilab56
ScottDMcArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

My apologies, I am somewhat confused by your review. When you stayed with us previously you had requested a first floor room and when you were made aware of the potential for noise you said that the noise would not be an issue. This time you arrived at approx. 8:30AM (check in time is 4PM) and the staff who told...

NY, NY
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

in town for the night; plesant check in; clean public areas; wonderful dinner in bar, cocktails on point and great steak; room clean and perfect; we did not do the free breakfast but there were many people partaking

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TraceLF
ScottDMcArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to you staying with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. We will have the cocktails and steak waiting for you! Scott McArthur General Manager

Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel with character, service was great, rooms very clean and comfortable, and the food and bar options within the hotel exceptional. I will certainly stay here again. No drawback for me but the train station is right there so you hear train whistles throughout the day from about 6 AM to 10 PM.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JTM125
ScottDMcArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate it and we are thrilled to hear you will stay with us again. We look forward to it. Scott McArthur General Manager

Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here 1 night while visiting a few of the colleges in the area. Great location for this. A short ride to downtown Madison. Walking distance to train station, St. Elizabeths College, Fairleigh Dickinson University and a very short 2 minute drive to Drew University. Room was clean and decent size. Front staff was friendly. Complimentary breakfast seemed decent but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GatorD39
ScottDMcArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ in the future. Scott McArthur General Manager

San Francisco, California
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a spacious room, the pleasant patio and tasteful decor. The pool are is nice, as is the lobby. I recommend this jewel to anyone visiting the area. It's ideal for families visiting Drew or FD. This is a bargain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KikiPSF
ScottDMcArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your business and your recommendation and look forward to you staying with us whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. Scott McArthur General Manager

Monterey, Massachusetts
Reviewed April 11, 2017

We gathered with members of our family at the Madison Hotel to start off our holiday season a few days early. The lobby was welcoming in its cozy, old-world grandeur and was very nicely decorated for the season. We found our room to be sparkling clean and very comfortable in its amenities. I also highly recommend Rod's Steakhouse where we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lana H
ScottDMcArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your business and look forward to you staying with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. Scott McArthur General Manager

New Jersey
Reviewed April 9, 2017

Although we only live 20 miles away, we have used the Madison a few times as a good getaway and change of scenery for the kids, especially because it has a pool which can be essential during the winter months. The hotel itself is a lovely and imposing building though could do with a spruce up. That said, for what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wheelie07042
ScottDMcArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We are happy that we were there to be a "getaway" spot for you and your family and we hope you will come back and stay often. Scott McArthur General Manager

Reviewed April 5, 2017

Our daughter was married in the conservatory on March 25, 2017. One would have never known there were 4 other events that day. They could not have possibly done a better job in every respect of the event. Our contact, Carolina, was amazing in making sure everything went well. About half of the guests stayed there and it was wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
ScottDMcArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for allowing the Madison Hotel to host your daughters wedding we truly appreciate the opportunity and look forward to hosting many more events for your family in the future. Thank you for taking the time to mention a employee by name. I will be sure to share your comments with Carolina, I know she will be thankful and...

Reviewed April 4, 2017

We discovered The Madison Hotel online & proceeded to work seamlessly with their group sales coordinator. She was able to handle every detail of our needs for over 110 people. We were able to check in early. They blocked off our rooms by gender & student/chaperone accordingly. They also accommodated us for breakfast in a special room each morning. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
ScottDMcArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for trusting your group business with the Madison Hotel. We truly appreciate it and are thrilled to learn that you will return the next time you visit NYC. Scott McArthur General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

459 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (148)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (258)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard King Room (26)
Viewed
Suite (37)
Viewed
The Geraldine Rockefeller Dodge (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#4 of 5 in Morristown
891 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#2 of 5 in Morristown
333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
5.2 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Rod's Steak & Seafood Grille
Rod's Steak & Seafood Grille
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Address: 1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Price Range: $150 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Madison Hotel staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
4 months ago
New Haven, Connecticut
Brooklyn, New York
over a year ago
New Jersey

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Madison Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“A room on the opposite side of the train station.”
niteowljune, 4 days ago | Read review
“Best Value! Very good staff & management!”
nathanmA9345MD, Apr 4, 2017 | Read review
“Suites are wonderful and recommended!”
791MarthaJ, Mar 7, 2017 | Read review
“Nearby train tracks with train travel at night. The noise will wake you up. Look for a room on the other side if possible.”
223larryk, Mar 4, 2017 | Read review
“book the train car for dinner!”
lucyg766, Feb 23, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$161* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com$161
Travelocity$161
Orbitz.com$161
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates