We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Cliftonville Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Cliftonville Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 373: English reviews
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

room ok clean but small the lock on toilet door would not lock and very disappointed that you were charged extra for breakfast that should be all in considering the prices which was not cheep and price of breakfast was not cheep either we went out for breakfast I would not stay here again very expensive hotel for what you... More 

Helpful?
Thank helenfrost10
Cromer20, Front Office Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are slightly confused as to your comments regarding charging extra for breakfast, all of our rates are fully inclusive of an ala carte breakfast in the sea facing Westcliff Restaurant. Please contact the hotel so that we can sort out the confusion and sort out a refund if this... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nearly 6 weeks after our stay we are still awaiting a formal acknowledgement from the Owner/Manager of the Hotel to address our written complaints. Whilst we made the Receptionist aware at the time, our main concern was having left the hotel @ 10 am and returning nearly 12 hours later to find that our room door hadn't been closed by... More 

Helpful?
Thank suef_10
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just spent a five day break at the Cliftonville Hotel in Cromer, it was first class,in service,in standard of the room,the meals were excellent,we enjoyed every day,Oscar in the restaurant,was always willing to help with personal food requests; this is our second visit and we look forward to spending more time at the Cliftonville.

Helpful?
Thank tony s
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Cliftonville. I am delighted you enjoyed your few days with us and that our staff looked after you. We look forward to your return in the near future. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was going to write a scathing review of this hotel. But I have to say the management took my complaints on board and resolved every one of my issues. So well done Cliftonville. I can imagine this hotel was a grand old lady in its day but it is a bit tired and a bit shabby now. But the... More 

Helpful?
Thank bagpus1
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Cliftonville. I am glad that the staff were able to help you with some problems.. We always try and accommodate wherever we can and I am glad we could help. Thank you for your comments. More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a twin room facing the sea for two nights, the hotel rooms were nicely decorated. The character of the reception and the main areas being in keeping with the Edwardian character of the building. What really made this trip excellent was the friendly and helpful nature of the staff at the Cliftonville. They were exceptional, the charm perhaps... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glen O
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am delighted you were able to have a relaxing and peaceful stay with us and hope to see you back very soon. More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night.Although our room was a double it was really only big enough for one as 1 mug 1 set of towels and the bed pushed against a wall.The views were beautiful.The room was very clean.I enjoyed the whole atmosphere and the staff all seemed to know what was expected of them an worked well.Breakfast on Sunday was... More 

Helpful?
Thank lorraineparr
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with The Cliftonville. I am so sorry the room was only made up for 1 person. I think the night before it had been only 1 guest. However, I do apologise for our error. I am so glad you enjoyed your night with us and... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent stay Very pleasant stay for all ages, stayed with elderly parents and young child rooms are a good standard and the staff helpful and friendly. Great location near beach. Good sea view. Good choice for breakfast and staff very helpful. Would definitely go again. Lift up to rooms

Helpful?
Thank chris h
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so lucky here at The Cliftonville being so near the beach with such great views. Many thanks More 

london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

The restaurant at the hotel is spacious .The food very good. We four dined there twice during our weeks stay in Norfolk. We were there last year and returned as we were treated so well by Myles. In fact my review is to tell you all what a pleasure it is to meet an expert who has trained a first... More 

Helpful?
Thank dodoxy
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. I will pass them on to Myles. Thank you More 

Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Been here on four occasions. the first was a snack with a beer. The other three times I never got served and walked out, like lunchtime today. I don't expect to go and have to look for the staff. I shall pop in again cos' I am local. And, write another review.

Helpful?
Thank 286Jackp286
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry you found the staff lacking on the occasions you visited the Hotel. I do hope we can make amends when you next visit. I can only assume the staff were busy serving others but can only apologise to you. More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Free car parking, free wifi, decent range of bar snacks and more to choose in adjoining bistro, real ale, comfy beds - what more do you want? Ensure you pay for B&B. Whilst they will charge you more for Eggs Benedict (and require you order them the night before - how strange is that?) the English Breakfast is A La... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Cromer20, Guest Relations Manager at The Cliftonville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Cliftonville. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments about the Breakfasts which as you say are cooked to order. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.6 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#7 of 7 in Cromer
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Cliftonville Hotel

Address: Seafront 29 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Price Range: $105 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliftonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Cliftonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliftonville Hotel Cromer
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay