We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gran Hotel Peniscola

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gran Hotel Peniscola
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

719 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 12: English reviews
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

To begin with the pool was very crowded, freezing water, and there weren't enough seats and tables for everyone which is ridiculous. The service for a drink at night took ages, so you had to get it yourself. We had ants in our room from day one without having eaten nor had food products. The food was good, there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danialombardi
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

I spoke to the hotel 'quality assurance manager' within 12 hours of booking in and begged them to let me leave- they refused to cancel my next 7 days and took no responsibility for this shocking hotel and service. 'We'll get back to you' on 24th, four days later NOTHING. What can I say in such a small space? -... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank CocktailsAtSunset
DAC-GHP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Peniscola, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lamentamos y respetamos su opinión. Entendemos que por lo que expone no debió de recibir previamente la información actualizada sobre... More 

Travelers are raving about these Peniscola hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

My category for this hotel would only be 3*. yes there were plenty of activities but very third rate and anything in the spa was expensive. room was very good with plenty of space but rather outdated. the food was cold at all meals although there was a good selection.

Helpful?
Thank susan g
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

the room itself is okay. bed is standard for this class, everything else is outdated or seems to have been renewed with minimal effort. age old mini-tv, rattling air-con, empty mini-bar, bath tub chipped and takes ages to fill up with halfway warm (never hot) water. crowning this is the worst breakfast i ever had in any hotel (except a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dio321
Lliber, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was great, spacious bedroom with two double beds, and great balcony overlooking the front of the hotel and the sea. The food was not good, all very luke warm, and you had to clear away your dirty plates yourself, not good for 4 Star! I used the spa for a massage which was good. It was a long... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn T
DAC-GHP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Peniscola, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. However, we want to clarify that the exposed meal in our Buffet arrives until recommended sanitary temperature, but could not be heated more without incurring resection of food. We understand that sometimes some of our guests prefere more heated dishes, and thats why we always offer an additional possibility to warm up extra their plates... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Hopeless access, check in took 40mins as like everything at the hotel the IT probably dates from 1980. Room furnishings non-existant apart from a delightful retro TV. Everything is depressing, lowest quality and high price - the welcome drink for example turns out to be a 4Euro Mojito reduced from 6Euro - so no thanks. Theres a not bad restaurant... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mightymark9
DAC-GHP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Peniscola, responded to this review

Thanks for your opinion however we are sorry for your bad opinion and we apologise for it. Please note that we are a vacational family hotel, builded in 2001, so our services are focused to holidays characteristics instead of urban ones. Our rates and prices are in line with market. More 

Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Grand Hotel Peniscola**** for 8 days. It was a great vacation for us The room - spacious, clean, big beds (two queen beds), big bathroom with a hot tub, great balcony (also big). Every day (around 10 am) the housekeepers tidied the room, cleaned it up and changed the towels clean ones. But in... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Deni_Yordanova
DAC-GHP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Peniscola, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your opinion. Since 2014 free wifi is available in the whole hotel. More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Chaos on lifts and breakfast and the pool simply cannot accomodate all hosts. Rooms are clean, AC worked, personnel is polite, but breakfast have no choice, the 5 lifts simply cannot handle the number of people per floor. Although it is far from the city center (4 kms), you have to park in the hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel L
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The rooms were adequate and clean buts thats the only real compliment I can give. Breakfast was terrible. The hot food was cold and the cold food was stale. The swimming pool area is inadequate for a hotel of this size. With 400+ rooms and therefore a potential of over 800 guests, 135 sun beds are just never going to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RFriday1974
Estepona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Got to admit we got in late. Only dinner available was a buffet. Food must have been there for about 4 hours!!!!! already. Meat and fish was curly and black on the edges. French Fries, fried 4 hours ago!!!!! Breakfast slightly better. Spain is know for its availability of fresh bread all day. Not so in this hotel!!!! Coffee was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank bravehendrik
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

960 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (200)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (710)
Viewed
Amenities (222)
Viewed
Junior Suite (65)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (144)
Viewed
Standard Room (47)
Viewed
Standard Seafront Room (50)
Viewed
Suite (115)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peniscola hotels
2.1 mi away
Servigroup Papa Luna
Servigroup Papa Luna
#3 of 54 in Peniscola
4.0 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Peniscola Plaza Suites
1.4 mi away
Hotel Peniscola Palace
Hotel Peniscola Palace
#6 of 54 in Peniscola
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites
2.2 mi away
Hotel RH PortoCristo
Hotel RH PortoCristo
#4 of 54 in Peniscola
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
2.4 mi away
Agora Spa & Resort
Agora Spa & Resort
#23 of 54 in Peniscola
3.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Peniscola

Address: Avenida Papa Luna 132-136, 12598 Peniscola, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Castellon > Peniscola
Price Range: $77 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Peniscola 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Peniscola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peniscola Gran Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Peniscola
#3 Spa Hotel in Peniscola
#6 Luxury Hotel in Peniscola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Peniscola
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay