We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Highland Inn

Show Prices
#79 of 177 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Highland Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

430 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 408: English reviews
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I make a spontaneous trip to Atlanta in March of 2016 and brought along my dog for company. I wanted a place that had charm as well as allowed dogs and would be willing to allow the dogs to be left alone so I could go to the Coca Cola museum. The hotel was old, had lots of interesting artwork... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenn12090
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First time in Atlanta, GA and this is definitely the place I'd stay if I had to go again. MARTA bus stops close-by that take you into the main part of the city. Small-town feel and right beside a wonderful little restaurant, Tierras Alto!

Helpful?
Thank Emily W
College Park, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I love this little hotel. It's not for the picky but it's very clean and in a fun area. Nice break from the cookie cutter hotels. This is a great little hotel and the staff is very nice. The rooms are small so best for solo or couples.

Helpful?
Thank Jperiod A
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience with other travelers. We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will share your kind words with our staff. In the future, we do have larger rooms with more space should you need one in the future. We hope to see you again!... More 

Thomaston, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The stairway had an odor. The room was fine; though the window AC units were a surprise. The bathroom was so small that if you sat on the toilet your knees hit the tub. The bed had 4 pillows so that you could pick the firmness you liked. Wifi was intermittent. The concierge told us that was typical. The breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia Q
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to improve. Had we known about an odor in the stairwell we would have addressed it right away. And as far as our complimentary breakfast is concerned we welcome any requests from our guests for items they would like to see... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

From the outside you think "yay" but then as enter you start to realise your mistake. Old and small. The building is on a lean so you feel sea-sick walking the hallway. The room is tiny, its so noisy, the rubbish trucks early in the morning, sexy time through the crepe paper walls from all directions. The shower was terrible.... More 

Helpful?
Thank jason w
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our building is older and indeed does have some quirks, however, I sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide a quiet sleep-conducive environment for our guests and do have quieter interior rooms should you decide to stay again in the future. Best, Kristin Anderson Assistant Hotel... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The price was right. The free parking was limited and congested. The room was small. The bathroom was clean but looked and felt dirty. I was reluctant to take a shower because I feared I would contract athletes feet. The front desk clerk gave the key of my hotel room to my best friend without asking for a form of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlene C
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

No Wifi in our room - we were told after we checked in that it was broken. Our room TV was located in a ridiculous spot, the front hallway, not in our bedroom. Could not use. In the evening I was reminded of my college days with with smell of marijuana permeating in the hallway. All we needed were the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bobber007
Harlem, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Highland about a year ago and the visit was pretty good. This time was pretty good as well. I was there for 3 nights and the night guy (Victor) was very helpful in getting coffee ready for me pretty early as I was training at a new job and had to leave early. His guitar playing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason P
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We needed to stay in Atlanta for the night and wanted a cheap but nice play to stay. Check-in was easy at the Highland Inn and the room, though old, seemed fine for just resting our heads. The air conditioning seemed to be broken in our room because we had it set at 70 degrees and it seemed at least... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed on a Friday night, not too crowded or loud. We stayed in a king room on the first floor and had no trouble with the size of our room or the cleanliness. Tv isn't the best and we didn't use the Internet. The gas station within walking distance has a wonderful beer and wine selection. We also walked to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hillary L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

344 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Double Room (50)
Viewed
King Room (31)
Viewed
Queen Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Single Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Quality Inn Northlake
#103 of 177 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#19 of 177 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Inn at the Peachtrees
#84 of 177 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An historic 80-room inn built in 1927 and renovated for the Olympics in 1996, the Highland Inn is located within easy walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, galleries and bars. Most major Atlanta attractions are just a short distance away, and we are centrally located between the Virginia-Highland and Little Five Points neighborhoods. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Highland Inn

Address: 644 N Highland Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30306-7718
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Poncey-Highland
Price Range: $78 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Highland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Highland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Hotel Atlanta
Highland Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Atlanta
#41 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay