We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Shire Woodstock

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Shire Woodstock
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 428: English reviews
Tolland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We came to Woodstock for a wedding. What we liked best was that we never used our car the whole weekend. The Shire is perfectly located. There is a market right across the street. The center of Woodstock for dining and shopping is an easy walk. We also hiked up Mt. Tom and toured the Marsh Billing Rockefeller Nat'l park... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gate83
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

First the pros...in-town location, walk to restaurants and good size recently appointed rooms. The con - laundry fumes pumping out over the entire walk-in area...if you are sensitive to laundry fragrance, Tide or Fabric Softener avoid.

Helpful?
Thank JuliaChilds
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We apologize for the laundry smell upon arrival, we do our best to try and time our laundry services appropriately. We hope to see you again! More 

South Lee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were looking for a short two day mini vacation in Vermont. So many places to pick and we chose The Shire after reading all the reviews. Could it be as good as advertised? Yes it was! We had wanted something by the river as the view is nice. We had a Cape house which is nowhere near the river... More 

Helpful?
Thank RTLEEMA
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to serve you both! Thank you so much for the kind words and hope to have you back. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If not for the great reviews here on TripAdvisor, I might have overlooked The Shire. I normally do not choose to stay in "motels," but this place is more an "inn." The room my daughter and I stayed in was not only clean but had character, with four poster beds and a fabulous view. The room was spacious and had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbi F
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely place to stay. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Great room and view. Lovely proprietors and lovely veranda and tables to dink your morning coffee or to read a book. Will return for another stay.

Helpful?
Thank Gracet415
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

Thank you! We look forward to your return. More 

Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We drove up from New York and arrived there past midnight. Though there was no receptionist at that time the keys awaited us outside the office. The location is splendid overlooking a river. Coffee/ tea is available but not in the room. Also no locker to store your valuables. Other than that the room was very clean with free Wifi.

Helpful?
Thank Jamshed S
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind words, hope to see you again soon! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Shire is a great little hotel next to a river in Woodstock, walking distance from everything. Woodstock is a beautiful small town. The rooms with view to the river are highly recommended and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurants in town are nice, and I recommend you go to unicorn shop which is filled with all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jose K
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

What a great recommendation, the Unicorn Shop is fantastic! More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whenever I visit Woodstock, I stay at the Shire. I have never been disappointed. This year my whole family stayed. We rented three rooms. The staff were very attentive to our needs and friendly. It is always nice to be treated kindly. This year they added a free coffee and tea station on the outside upper deck. A real plus... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnWesley_13
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us yet again! Looking forward to seeing your family back soon. More 

Jersey Shore Area
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Walking distance to everything in Woodstock. Amazing view! Wish we were in a newly refurbished room. A little musty and mattress too soft otherwise no complaints. River view rooms worth the price. Couldn't find complimentary coffee.

Helpful?
2 Thank JoAnn W
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with an excellent experience along with a clean and comfortable room. We will certainly address what you have mentioned. Thank you again. More 

Beaufort, SC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were lucky eenough to get one of their last available rooms on a busy weekend and had a lovely stay. Room was spacious, spotlessly clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Walking distance to the charming village .

Helpful?
Thank CindySC1
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

Thank you for spending the weekend with us and your kind words! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
0.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Woodstock Inn and Resort
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 stars 925 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are an independent hotel in the Village of Woodstock, VT. Each of our 43 rooms is uniquely furnished in traditional New England style and many of them have a beautiful view of the Ottauquechee River which flows behind the property. Hospitality is our priority and we want you to feel at home here at The Shire Woodstock. Our General Manager lives on the premises and is available to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We have some rooms with fireplaces, some with Jacuzzis and a limited number of "dog friendly" rooms. All of our rooms have Cable TV, wifi and a small refrigerator, as well as individual heating and air conditioning. Join us for a relaxing, quiet vacation in a place steeped in tradition-The Shire Woodstock. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shire Woodstock

Address: 46 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1126 (Formerly Shire Riverview Lodging)
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Price Range: $135 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shire Woodstock 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Shire Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shire Riverview Hotel Woodstock
Shire Riverview Woodstock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay