We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunflower Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sunflower Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 348: English reviews
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were attending a family wedding and stayed here. It was ok but I wouldn't rush back. The best bit was the rooftop pool and bar. Rooms were basic and beds not very comfortable. Also, no tea and coffee facilities, we would have had to pay by the day for them. Breakfast was ok, everything you could need. Staff friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fee C
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely room, excellent daily house keeping and very good services. The only issue we had was with the dinner food which was diversified but not so tasty because of the way it was cooked (boiled meat or baked steak instead of grilled steak which tastes better). Very good dessert.

Review collected in partnership with Wizz Tours

Helpful?
Thank Anemary_S
Glencarse, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So checked in and the room we had although a little on the small side with the extra beds for the boys. Breakfast advertised as free (nothing is free in this world) is pretty basic tinned fruit and and cheap sausages and the worst coffee machine on the island. Ok my moan is over !!! The room was spotless and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently spent 10 days in Malta at the delightful Sunflower hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. We particularly liked Chris on reception who was a real gentleman. Our room was very clean and fresh, with excellent daily housekeeping. The beds were very comfortable and it was quiet at night, we slept well. The hotel is well situated... More 

Helpful?
Thank 25harry
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Client, First and foremost we must say that it was our pleasure and privilege to have you staying at the Sunflower Hotel. We thank you for your wonderful and thorough review which we will be forwarding to all concerned in order to strengthen our efforts in ensuring that our guests experience the best possible service. We very much... More 

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dear Sunflower, Thanks for all! We love you so much, I can't tell you how much... Just 1 thing... The breakfast... the breakfest is a little bit poor. Specially thanks to Szabina from the bar pool, she is really friendly, I love her. Thanks to Chris, to my namesake, he was so cute too.

Helpful?
Thank tudijk
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Client, We thank you for your comments which reflect that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We truly understand that food is a very subjective matter but nevertheless, you had very positive comments about your stay and the hotel in general. We shall gladly relay your compliments to our staff members who we are sure, will appreciate... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival our booking was lost and later received a letter to our room asking for us to come to the lobby to pay, we went down and showed a receipt of payment and also sent this to the hotel, we were told nothing after never received an apology and were told to go away, the staff are kind until... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CiaranBarry
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Client, Once more we have to apologize for the inconvenience. As the Duty Manager explained during your conversation with him over a drink at the bar, your reservation was not lost. Since you booked at the very last minute and you paid via an online payment company, your booking took longer than normal to come to our reception... More 

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

I would like to begin with the fact that I felt so nervous to go to this hotel due to such negative reviews however I was so shocked when I got to the hotel! This hotel should be a 4* hotel!! The cleanliness of this hotel was far better than other 5* hotels I've been to. The maid tidied our... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank gokcen k
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

All the team would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your thorough comments on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Sunflower Hotel. We are glad that you have commented so positively and found our product to be of good value for money. We will most certainly relay your comments to all the team as we are... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

we arrived at the hotel and we were greeted cordially by the receptionist. we had booked a superior room with tea/ coffee making facilities which we used fully. Our room was at the back of the hotel with a view of wasteland and sea in the distance. The air conditioning was centrally controlled and made little impact on the room... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank securityal1
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed guest, Thank you for the review you have posted on Tripadvisor. We are glad that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is very normal for Malta to experience high temperatures during this time of the year. It is true that at times the temperature is difficult to cope with but that is one of the... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

just had a week in lovely Malta this time staying at the sunflower hotel. the hotel is in a quiet area but still a nice walk to the seafront and bus station. the staff were always polite and helpful. there is a swimming pool on the roof however I never went to this and 1 indoor pool as well. the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank caylee l
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Client, Allow us to express our appreciation for writing such a nice review of the Sunflower Hotel. We are so pleased that our product and services were to your satisfaction - to the extent that you have given us maximum score on your TripAdvisor review. On behalf of all the team, we look forward to welcoming you again... More 

Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

just returned from staying at the sunflower hotel, what a great stay we had. the hotel is in a quiet residential area, no loud pubs in sight, perfect, meaning we can have a decent night sleep in peace. it is a small hotel, which we like, nothing was too much trouble, the staff were willing to help you no matter... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank DevonMickey
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Client, First and foremost we must say that it was our pleasure and privilege to have you staying at the Sunflower Hotel. We thank you for your wonderful and thorough review which we will be forwarding to all concerned in order to strengthen our efforts in ensuring that our guests experience the best possible service. We are glad... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

352 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (227)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Other (92)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (125)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (19)
Viewed
Standard Room (24)
Viewed
Superior Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 16 in Qawra
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
1.9 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bugibba
3.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3-star Sunflower Hotel is located in Qawra, within the resort of St. Paul's Bay, in the north of Malta. It is just 800 meters away from its sister hotel, the 4-star Hotel Santana, and only a ten minute walk away from the picturesque 2.5 km promenade, a small man made sandy beach, various rocky beaches, public transport, shops, bars, restaurants, a Casino, a multiplex cinema, the national aquarium and various other recreational facilities. Despite its modern exterior, the hotel's interior design reflects traditional Maltese architectural characteristics through the use of Maltese limestone. The Sunflower Hotel is tastefully designed and offers most of the facilities found in a 4-star hotel. Since the hotel opened its doors in 2003, it has gained a reputation for personalized attention and enjoys a strong base of repeat customers. The resort of St. Paul's Bay is made up of Qawra, Bugibba and the village of St. Paul's Bay. The resort is linked through a 2.5km promenade which affords it with stunning coastal walks and plenty of small bays in which one can swim. The resort has numerous restaurants, cafés, bars and shops. In Qawra one also finds a casino, the national aquarium, a man made sandy beach and a bus station offering regular bus service to all parts of the Maltese islands. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception, buffet restaurant and outdoor terrace, 24 hour bar, an attractively designed roof top pool (May to October) and sunbathing terrace, both enjoying open sea and country views, a swim-up pool bar (May to October), an indoor pool which is heated in winter, a treatments/massage room and also a games room. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the hotel. The hotel is centrally heated during winter and air-conditioned during summer. Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the rooms. Laundry Services as well as Room Service are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Address: 22 Triq Garcia de Toledo, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1061, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Price Range: $23 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Budget Places, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Qawra
Sunflower Hotel Malta/Qawra
Sunflower Malta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay