We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunflower Hotel

Save
Share
22 Triq Garcia de Toledo, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1061 Malta
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Lol.travel
Priceline
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (538)
Room & Suite (203)
Pool & Beach (79)

About

#8 of 15 hotels in Qawra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 3-star Sunflower Hotel is located in Qawra, within the resort of St. Paul's Bay, in the north of Malta. It is just 800 meters away from the centre, and only a ten minute walk away from the picturesque 2.5 km promenade, a small man made sandy beach, various rocky beaches, public transport, shops, bars, restaurants, a casino, a multiplex cinema, the National Aquarium and various other recreational facilities. Despite its modern exterior, the hotel's interior design reflects traditional Maltese architectural characteristics through the use of Maltese limestone. The Sunflower Hotel is tastefully designed and offers most of the facilities found in a 4-star hotel. Since the hotel opened its doors in 2003, it has gained a reputation for personalized attention and enjoys a strong base of repeat customers. The resort of St. Paul's Bay is made up of Qawra, Bugibba and the village of St. Paul's Bay. The resort is linked through a 2.5km promenade which affords it with stunning coastal walks and plenty of small bays in which one can swim. The resort has numerous restaurants, cafés, bars and shops. In Qawra one also finds a casino, the national aquarium, a man made sandy beach and a bus station offering regular bus service to all parts of the Maltese islands. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception, buffet restaurant and outdoor terrace, 24 hour bar, an attractively designed roof top pool (May to October) and sunbathing terrace, both enjoying open sea and country views, a swim-up pool bar (May to October), an indoor pool which is heated in winter, a treatments/massage room and also a games room. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the hotel. The hotel is centrally heated during winter and air-conditioned during summer.
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese
1088Reviews97Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 228
  • 377
  • 298
  • 118
  • 67
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Beef C wrote a review Aug 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
My partner and I decided to stay here on a whim, we had spent two weeks in Gozo and wanted to spend the end of our holiday at Cafe Del Mar in Malta. We found this place as it was close to the Cafe and seemed a reasonable price, photos looked OK etc.. MY GOD how wrong we were. We arrived to find our room had no electricity so we couldn't get ready to go out. After multiple conversations with the receptionist, who was at least very apologetic, we had to shower in a dark bathroom using my phone as a light. Anyway we thought oh well as weren't planning on spending the day there. I suggested to the receptionist and manager that it would be nice to have electricity and air con in the room by the time we get back. We were gone for 7 hours, to my bewilderment they hadn't sorted our room out - at this point we'd had enough. After waiting for the electrician for an hour a sweaty bloke turned up and fiddled around with the wiring, it was no shock i realised he had no idea what he was doing. We asked for any other room with air con, finally managed to switch rooms around 8pm and they begrudgingly gave us 10 euro back for the room downgrade. Absolute nightmare.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: awful awful awful
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Gauci, Sales at Sunflower Hotel
Responded Aug 27, 2020
Dear 626beefc, We thank you for your recent stay and review, and apologise for the negative experience. Our staff endeavour to offer their best service to all our guests. This time around as you explained we had a situation where we had a number of rooms without electricity since we were at the time installing our new airconditioning system .This has since been completed offering enhanced comfort especially during the Summer months. Please accept our apologies and we look forward to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards, Sunflower Hotel Team
Read more
Nirvana Sciberras wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
We stayed at the hotel for a weekend and we were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is very clean and the staff are great. Well done to Carmen, Gabriel and all the others, keep up the good work and thank you for the wonderful stay ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Gauci, Sales at Sunflower Hotel
Responded Jul 10, 2020
Dear Ms Sciberras, We thank you for your recent visit and lovely comments. Looking forward to welcome you back soon. Thanks
Read more
Michael P wrote a review Mar 2020
Galway, Ireland40 contributions29 helpful votes
Due to a delayed flight, I arrived after midnight. I had booked half board and the hotel had kept a cold platter for me which was unexpected but much appreciated! My room was large, comfortable and clean. It was serviced daily. Staff were friendly. For breakfast there was a choice of hot (egg, bacon, sausage) or continental. There was usually a choice of three mains for dinner (one fish and two meat) as well as starters, pasta course, dessert and cheese. You can have as much food as you like. Location was okay, 15 minutes walk from the main square. Overall excellent value and I would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Gauci, Sales at Sunflower Hotel
Responded Jul 10, 2020
Dear Michael, We thank you for your recent stay at Sunflower Hotel. We appreciate your lovely comments and look forward to welcome you back soon. Thanks,
Read more
Skelli wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
I'm going to give a full review of this hotel since I know it's something that helps me a lot when looking for where to stay and I hope it helps others! The actual appearance of the hotel on the outside is lovely; the surrounding area isn't the nicest looking but that's nothing to do with the hotel. In terms of what's directly near it, I've seen a lot of negative reviews about the view but I really liked it; a very distressed abandoned building, lots of stray cats(!) and beautiful plants and cacti, what's not to love? We were on the 2nd floor and we still could see the sun rise and set. The hotel itself isn't modern but I don't see that as being a negative. It kind of feels like a house; lots of small corridors and rooms close together. The indoor swimming pool (which is super small but not in a bad way, as not too many go in at the same time) is right next to the downstairs lift, so we were able to walk past and see how busy it was before going up to our room to decide whether we want to go or not. The outdoor pool upstairs looked beautiful and I'm sure it's wonderful when it's open! The room itself is lovely. Large, spacious, lots of space for storage, and an optional safe. The bathroom could be a bit more modern, the shower curtain was a NIGHTMARE; you'd have a shower and have the curtain hugging you the ENTIRE time. The shower was hot and powerful, though my partner did notice some silverfish on the ceiling. The bath which the shower is part of is very low... I did have a lovely hot bath but it's strange because you're literally on the floor. The bed was comfortable, though I'm glad I bought thicker pj's as it was quite cold and the blankets are very thin (good for the rest of the year, though!). The bed was odd because it was two singles together with a double bed head, but it was nice to have our own space I guess. The TV was larger than images show, but there's hardly any channels available so we watched Comedy Central in German before bed (haha!). The one thing that really did anger me was the curtains and the light on the balcony. The curtains don't completely shut, and the balcony light is automated so only turns off at midnight, which makes it difficult if you want to have an early night. I've seen some reviews mention the walls were thick so the hotel was quiet... I feel like we must have slept in completely different hotels, as we were unable to sleep due to how loud and inconsiderate other guests were. I even had to call reception (which wasn't helpful since they said they hoped the guests had quietened down... and they hadn't... and nothing more was done) as the walls were basically shaking due to other guests running up and down the halls, slamming doors and yelling to each other in the early hours of the morning. The breakfast was nice... not a HUGE variety but if you're not a fussy eater, you have a lot of choice. I personally would have liked a bowl of fresh fruit rather than fruit salad, but that's my only criticism for it. I felt like some of the staff could be judgmental which I didn't enjoy. Travelling around wasn't as easy as thought but once you find your way, you're just a short walk from Bugibba Square, where you can have lovely food and have a stroll around the shops. We were only here for a few days and did enjoy our stay, it's just a shame inconsiderate guests ruined it!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Gauci, Sales at Sunflower Hotel
Responded Jul 10, 2020
Dear Skellib, Thanks for your recent stay and in general good comments about the Sunflower hotel. During the Covid period and Hotel closure we have embarked on a general embellishment and maintenance of all the hotel rooms and facilities. We are also working to upgrading our AC system in phases that will offer a better quality stay for our guests as well more energy efficient. Works are underway to upgrade our indoor pool facilities during the summer months and are also revamping our breakfast food variety and introducing new outdoor seating. We look forward to welcome you back in the future. Best regards,
Read more
David P wrote a review Feb 2020
Fontana, Malta53 contributions23 helpful votes
We live on Gozo and have used this hotel numerous times including, four and a half years ago, a twenty night stay when we were in the process of relocating from the USA to Gozo. The staff have always been very welcoming, we have also always found it to be good value for money. It is a little dated by more modern hotel standards; but it retains a quaintness and soul often lacking in more modern hotels. Being of older construction (with thicker walls) also makes the rooms nice and quiet. The location is a short walk away from the main square and also convenient for Kennedy Grove and the bus station. The buffet breakfast is more than adequate as is the optional buffet dinner offering. In season; the rooftop pool is a superb place to lounge and relax and offers panoramic views on the surrounding area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: We have used rooms on most floors and locations and not experience any problems.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$35 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sunflower hotel qawra, sunflower hotel malta, sunflower malta
LOCATION
MaltaIsland of MaltaQawra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
108
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunflower Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sunflower Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Empire Cinema (0.2 miles), G Tours (0.1 miles), and The Lord Nelson Pub (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunflower Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a swimup bar, and a rooftop bar.
What food & drink options are available at Sunflower Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunflower Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunflower Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Travellers Cafe/Bar, Gate of India, and Sailors Arms.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunflower Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sunflower Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sunflower Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunflower Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mellieha Air Raid Shelter (3.3 miles), Palazzo Falson Historic House Museum (4.2 miles), and Mdina Main Gate - Baroque gateway (4.4 miles).