We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canifor Hotel

Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Canifor Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After visiting the canifor again I find that this hotel is getting worse it needs a refurbishment urgently most of the staff try their best to make your stay better but cant do that with the state of the hotel. The bar manager should try to cheer up and start serving customers with good grace not make people wait and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Edward G
Mborda2014, front office at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the apartment that need updating. Your comments will be passed to the management and valued accordingly. We hope you can redeem us in... More 

Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Upon arrival we were told that this hotel was unable to accommodate us, even though it was booked. We were given some trumped up excuse and shipped off to another hotel by an extremely rude receptionist. When we asked to speak to the manager this was refused. For 2 days we had a lovely stay at the Topaz, then we... More 

Helpful?
Thank berylthesilverperil
Mborda2014, front office at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the apartment that need updating. Your comments will be passed to the management and valued accordingly. We hope you can redeem us in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I just got back (mercifully) from 4 nights at the Canifor. Now, I don't mind basic accommodations and I don't normally write scathing reviews, but this hotel is literally falling apart (the rooms anyway). The bar on the ground floor was terribly loud with live music almost every night, so we asked to be moved to the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jdn889
Mborda2014, front office at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your constructive comments. We apologize if we have fallen short of expectations. Your comments are valued and will be discussed with the management accordingly. Regards. Janelle Tonna More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just arrived back from the canifor hotel after a weeks' much needed winter sun, after reading reviews wasn't quite sure what we would find but on the whole pleasantly surprised!!! Reception area is quite impressive and the receptionist helpful and efficient, we were staying in canifor court an appendage just over the road, the room was clean and had all... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank tanian219
Mborda2014, front office at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tanian219, We always appreciate the positive comments left by the most important people in our world; our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff have gone above and beyond in terms of service. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you and serving you in the near future. Kind... More 

Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

HI My Wife and I have just returned from a 2 wk stay at the Canifor hotel in MALTA . we had a great time and a great room and also the food was very good too , of course you have the usual moaners constantly complaining about different things, the food not being hot or the rooms not being... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Alan J
Mborda2014, front office at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan J, We thank you for your most kind and sincere feedback. We are more than satisfied to hear that we have met your standards and expectations Meanwhile we look forward to host you again for your future trips to Malta. Regards, Janelle Tonna More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

we are 3 widows who have 3 separate rooms. The price paid was good £430 for 2 week half board 3rd week b&b. My room has 2 single beds, one friend has a double bed and the other friends room has a double bed and 2 single beds. on arrival the hotel is really nice. The rooms are clean etc.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda W
Mborda2014, front office at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brenda W, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and sharing your holiday experience with other fellow travelers. We apologize if your expectations were not exceeded, thus your comments are passed to the Management and discussed accordingly. Regards, Janelle Tonna More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and myself stay at canifor each Xmas for 6 weeks and have always had no reason to complain. Hotel is friendly and convenient for buses to get around Malta. Go and judge for yourself .don't listen to negative reviews.

Helpful?
1 Thank 157ginger
Mborda2014, front office at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 157ginger, We always appreciate the positive comments left by the most important people in our world; our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff have gone above and beyond in terms of service. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you and serving you in the near future. Kind... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well i was supposed to stay there 3 wks just managed 1, its what u get for the price !food not great dinner ok breakfast terrible! The restaurant is far too small for this hotel everybody shuvin one another its terrible i stayed here before about 10yrs ago now its worse that small restaurant! They should make it alot bigger... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank john S
Mborda2014, Front Office Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your constructive comments. We apologize if we have fallen short of expectations. Your comments are valued and will be discussed with the management accordingly. Regards. Janelle Tonna More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were there from the 31st December till the 3rd January. We paid extra for the gala dinner for new year's eve but instead we had a canteen meal.the room was terrible too.this is a 1 star hotel not a 4 star hotel. Avoid,avoid,avoid.

Helpful?
2 Thank Anita B
Mborda2014, front office at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anita B, Thank you for taking the time to review our business and we appreciate your constructive comments. As we had already explained during your stay here, the price you paid for gala dinner was for the in-house gala customers. Your expectations were to have dinner with the Maltese people who have booked in advance for the meal at... More 

Sheffield
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Given what we paid, we were very pleasantly surprised with the room (323) and the evening meal available despite our late arrival. The breakfast however was one of the poorest I have ever come across. It was plentiful but the only thing on the breakfast buffet I could recommend were the hard boiled eggs. The evening meals continued to be... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AitchKay
Mborda2014, Front Office. at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AitchKay, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are more than glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. I understand that UK hotel rating might vary from the hotels in Malta, but please note that it's the Malta Tourism Authority who classify our business as 4 star standard. Meanwhile, we thank you for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

635 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (357)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (32)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (134)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (246)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (25)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (24)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (46)
Viewed
Rooftop Jacuzzi (17)
Viewed
Standard Quadruple Room (41)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#5 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 stars 1,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#9 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 stars 1,409 reviews
0.9 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#15 of 16 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#1 of 16 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay