We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Il-Palazzin Hotel

Ruggier Loria Street, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1863 Malta
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (497)
Room & Suite (234)
Pool & Beach (96)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#7 of 15 hotels in Qawra
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
4.0

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Qawra, Il Palazzin Hotel is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its quiet environment and proximity to great restaurants, Il Palazzin Hotel makes it easy to enjoy the best of Qawra.

Free internet access is offered to guests, and rooms at Il Palazzin Hotel offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a 24 hour front desk, room service, and 24 hour check-in. Guests of Il Palazzin Hotel are also welcome to enjoy a pool and free breakfast, located on site. For travelers arriving by car, parking is available.

If you’re looking for a French restaurant, consider a visit to La Bonne Excuse Café-Bistro or Cafe Maroc, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Il Palazzin Hotel.

Whether you’re traveling for business, pleasure or both, Il Palazzin Hotel is sure to make your visit to Qawra one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
967Reviews55Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 264
  • 387
  • 209
  • 70
  • 37
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
elizabeth w wrote a review Sep 2023
Wrexham, United Kingdom45 contributions26 helpful votes
Stayed only one night after a cruise, the staff are the friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately the room did not live up to expectations, we found the mattress’s really hard and uncomfortable, the bathroom was functional but there was issues. It is very old and dated.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Charlene wrote a review Jul 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
I have mixed feelings about this hotel. It has a very relaxed feeling to it and the members of staff are all incredibly friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed sitting outside drinking the lovely cocktails whilst the children played in the pool and really enjoyed our stay in Malta. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast was ok but can be repetitive and also quite basic. I mostly had toast and would have preferred more variety of fruits and pastries. The biggest issue I had during my stay was that there wasn’t any water in the hotel room upon check in and and so would highly recommend that the hotel provide guests with a complimentary bottle of water upon arrival as when we arrived at 1.30am with small children I had to walk to the shop to buy water, which is was not ideal at that time of night and after travelling. Overall a very friendly and relaxed experience and I would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Try the cocktails in the bar! Walk into Budggiba for bars and restaurants.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gail R wrote a review May 2023
2 contributions4 helpful votes
Wouldn't recommend at all! The area around the hotel was awful, dirty and definitely not what you would call a tourist attraction. The bed was so hard that if you'd thrown a sheet over bricks it would have been better.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't bother booking!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
grenadierNotts wrote a review May 2023
sherwood forest39 contributions29 helpful votes
It's always good to return to the Palazzin, see friendly faces and receive a warm greeting and our visit this year was just as welcoming as always. The one thing that does make this little hotel special is the kindness and friendliness of all the staff from management through to the Chefs and down to the cleaners. I am very biased to both Malta and of course the Palazzin, but if you are looking for an excellent clean little hotel, conveniently situated and with excellent staff, then this certainly is the place to go. However, this year we have noticed a few things that have caused standards to slip a little. I like a good English fry up while on holiday, but was sad to see that English bacon had been replaced by something far less appealing, sausages had returned to the mini hot dog variety and fried eggs weren't always available having on certain days been replaced by a version of scrambled eggs. I need to add that after speaking to other British tourists in the area they were getting the same poor quality of bacon too. Other than that, everything was acceptable, but one of my main dislikes apart from the food was the waitresses playing on their phones while they waited for something to do. Perhaps I am old fashioned, but I don’t believe that phones should be allowed in the workplace. With regards to building work in the area, everything directly across the road on the site of the old Salina Wharf hotel seems to be finished leaving only very limited sea views and work still continues around most corners, but if you can put up with a bit of dust and one or two cranes then you will find the location of this hotel convenient for most things and only 5 minutes to the bus station. As always, our stay on Malta was a lovely one and I am always happy staying at the Palazzin and maybe when all the cutbacks have stopped I will get a better piece of bacon. Many thanks to Simon and all his staff for once again making our stay a very pleasant one and without doubt we will return to the Palazzin once again when funds allow.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Carrie-ann W wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Having read the reviews we came with very low expectations and were absolutely blown away. The staff cannot do enough to make sure your stay is perfect. The breakfast was a good selection. Cold and hot breakfast and there was always something our one year old was happy to munch down. We had dinner there one evening again food the food delicious. Shout out to the chef who made the cauliflower soup. Our room was huge. Cleaned daily to an excellent standard. We had a lovely balcony. We used the pool on the last day (inside) and we wish we had discovered it earlier. Warm, clean and great for a dip with the family.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Marzanna H wrote a review Mar 2023
Southern Poland, Poland13 contributions6 helpful votes
Comfortable room, good service, delicious meals, friendly staff, but most of all great manager: SIMON - really helpful and understanding, can solve problems quickly and is open to guests' requests or problems, ready to help. Thanks for a really nice stay in Malta.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sunshine63894433984 wrote a review Dec 2022
Horrible experience. .arrived at this run down place,. Lifts not working,room v dated and dirty ,power tripping out all night, the breakfast room had food all over the floor,the ceiling was covered in mold,the food Was v low quality,no hot drinks. Got back to room no power at all.. couldn't even shower. Checked out after 1 night....... The worst place I have had the misfortune of visiing...
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Borda, General Manager at Il-Palazzin Hotel
Responded Dec 7, 2022
Hello, Thanks for being so fast to share your experience at Palazzin Hotel. While we accept the fact that similar to the whole area we were suffering from power cuts which was beyond our control, it must be mentioned from your side that you were give a good portion of money back as a compensation and good will from our end, despite the hotel was not at fault.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Caroline R wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Very basic hotel with excellent staff. I was in room 312 over looking the pool with a nice balcony. So much for sea view… yes if you are a bird in flight. There is construction everywhere. The hotel is blocked in with buildings. No shops or restaurants nearby. Lunch, dinner and snacks were withdrawn from Sunday to Thursday, with notice given about 4pm on the Sunday. Religious retreats taking place. I have limited distance walking ability so this was a real hardship for me. Not impressed.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Taxies available.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Will wrote a review Nov 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates775 contributions400 helpful votes
My third stay in two years. This time, I spend three weeks in room 405. Very friendly staff. Both Rosalyn and Simon are always ready to provide good service. The same for all the staff in the restaurant sta Palma, the bar and the housekeeping staff. Il Palazzin is situated in an old building and in old buildings some things sometimes break down. But as soon as you report it, it gets fixed. The breakfast (buffet) is included and will give you a great start for the day. The WiFi signal in room 405 was not very dependable (it works well on the first three floors), but I had enough data for 3G/4G. Some renovations are necessary. One of the lifts hasn’t been working for quite some time now and a lick of paint here and there would be nice. They used to have a (shared) taxi service for €6.50 to the airport, but not this time. I had a pick-up at 4:30 am and the driver insisted that I paid him €28 in cash before I got in his minibus. In the bus were already two other people and €28 for a shared taxi is pricey, because you usually pay €25 for a private transfer. Overall, this was a nice stay in Malta again. The staff is a great asset to this hotel. A shame that the hotel will be closed in March when I return to the island. So then I will have to make alternative arrangements.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: If you get a room on a higher floor, the WiFi signal may be to weak to use. Not a problem if you...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jane E wrote a review Aug 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1 contribution
We stayed in a room big enough to accommodate 2 adults and 2 children and had half board for meals. All facilities were very clean, staff very pleasant and helpful. There was lots of choice at breakfast and dinner including a variety of salads each evening and plentiful fruit in the morning. Cooked breakfasts were piping hot with plenty of choice. The hotel is very close to the bus stop for traveling to other places such as sandy beaches or the capital for sightseeing. For younger children there is an excellent air conditioned cafe/restaurant very close called Luzzu with a large indoor play area including soft play. We would be very happy to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Qawra area.
PRICE RANGE
$73 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel il palazzin
LOCATION
MaltaIsland of MaltaQawra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
79
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IL-PALAZZIN HOTEL $64 ($̶8̶0̶) - Prices & Reviews - Malta/Island of Malta

Frequently Asked Questions about Il-Palazzin Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Il-Palazzin Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Malta Classic Car Collection Museum (0.3 miles), The Elvis Tribute Lounge (0.3 miles), and Alex Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Il-Palazzin Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Il-Palazzin Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Il-Palazzin Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Il-Palazzin Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Carvv Steakhouse, Surf N Turf, and Lovage Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Il-Palazzin Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Il-Palazzin Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Il-Palazzin Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Il-Palazzin Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Il-Palazzin Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mellieha Air Raid Shelter (3.5 miles), Palazzo Falson Historic House Museum (4.6 miles), and Mdina Main Gate - Baroque gateway (4.7 miles).
Does Il-Palazzin Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Il-Palazzin Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.