We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Santana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Santana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 978: English reviews
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 10 night at the Santana . And after reading some of the reviews I can't understand why there are so many moans. My room was large and was cleaned daily. The view wasn't the best but I didn,t go to sit in my room all day. Bathroom was clean and towels changed on a regular basis.... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank tiny0
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Client, Many thanks for reviewing Hotel Santana on TripAdvisor and for your favourable comments about the rooms, the cleanliness, breakfast, the staff and the location of our hotel. I also note, with pleasure, that you will be returning to our hotel in the near future. I promise you our availability to assist you with any future bookings to our... More 

Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We traveled to Malta in a large group. Me and my boyfriend received a twin room with 2 beds and we had to unite the beds. Also the rooms are small, but the bathroom was a nice surprise. They provide with bathroom suplies and towels every day. At the restaurant instead, the staff was well prepared and friendly but verry... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mihaela N
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your favourable comments about the bathrooms and dinner at our hotel. I will be sharing your review, particularly your comment regarding the waiter in the restaurant, with our management team. However, I find it very strange that one of our staff commented in this manner because, as you will... More 

Stavanger Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with a group of divers. The overall look and feel is of a hotel past its heyday - the interior says early 90s, the AC in our room was a bit unpredictable, and there was a bit more scuffed edges and smudges for a four star hotel. The bathroom, however, was a pleasant surprise, and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank vekthor
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I will share your review with my colleagues on the management team in view of continuing to improve our product and services. In the meantime I also note that you will be returning to the hotel in future and hope that you will soon have the... More 

Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We stayed at the Santana last weekend bed and breakfast for 4 nights. Fantastic is the word i am thinking of. The room was lovely nothing to fault, bathroom was lovely. the whole bedroom was spotless. All of the staff were very friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. James on the reception was brilliant, very kind and... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank DevonMickey
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for reviewing Hotel Santana on TripAdvisor, for your most favourable comments about our hotel and for recommending us to other reviewers. I note, with pleasure, that you will be returning to our hotel and I hope that you will soon have the opportunity of doing so. We promise you our availability to assist you with any... More 

Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Stayed at the Santana for one week at the end of September and I have to say that it is no where near four star, The hotel itself is dated and the room we had, smelled like sewrage every day in the afternoon. No kettle or hospitalitly tray in the room, unless you paid for them! ( I own a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank FrazzledScotland
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I regret to note that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us, mostly about the service at the bar and the pool bar. I take this opportunity to apologize, on behalf of the hotel management for any inconvenience... More 

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Powys
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Just returned after spending 11 nights half board 22nd Sept to 3 Oct - once again a great holiday. Sixth time to the island, second time to this hotel. Emailed hotel before arriving requesting a room on the front same as last year to our delight we had the room above the one we stayed in last year and because... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ERFHilditch
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Client, Many thanks for reviewing Hotel Santana, for your most favourable comments about our hotel and for recommending our hotel to other clients. We are very happy to note that you truly enjoyed your stay here and that you will be returning to Malta and to our hotel. As always, we promise our availability to assist you with any... More 

doncaster
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

First time at the Santana, we had a 10 night stay and have no complaints at all. The hotel is a little dated but far from shabby. The potted rubber plants in the foyer must go they make it look even more dated. We stayed half board and the food was of a high class, always piping hot, but some... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jayden020
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Client, Many thanks for reviewing Hotel Santana on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments about our hotel. I am happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will sonn find the opportunity to return Malta and will again choose to stay at the Santana. In the meantime Best regards Carmen Carmen Zammit... More 

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Stayed there early September on a B&B basis. Room was nice though the view wasn't much but i just used the hotel as a base spent most of my time out and about. Breakfast was good enough I only had the full english once tended to stick with ham eggs and bread which was much nicer given that it was... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Zhuko1943
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments about the hotel. I will discuss your comment concerning the fruit juice with our food and beverage manager in view of improving our product. At the same time I note with pleasure that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

The staff were very friendly and accommodating but the hotel's location is not great. The view from the rooms (on the side we stayed) were of poorly looked-after buildings and crumbling walls. The pavement was treacherous leading up to the hotel as well. It is easy to travel around Malta and quite cheap to do so, by bus, as the... More 

Helpful?
Thank GoyenE567
SunrouteSantana, Sales Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and your favourable comments about the staff and the pools. I regret to note that you were disappointed with the location of the hotel. However, for the sake of those reading this review, may I respectfully remark that the hotel is actually very centrally located and that there are various... More 

Ħal Qormi, null, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

We are currently at Hotel Santana for a Weekend Break and we are enjoying ourselves so much I decided to write a review. I would like to thank all the staff - one of the best staff I have encountered - they are all friendly and welcoming. We are really feeling at home. (I would like to mention Rosa -... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Graziella B
SunrouteSantana, Sales Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Grazziella B., Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor, for your most favourable comments about our hotel (particularly the staff, the food and the rooms) and for sharing your experience of Hotel Santana with other reviewers. I hope that you will soon find the opportunity to return to our hotel and promise you our availability to assist you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

521 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (351)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (138)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (13)
Viewed
Standard Room (24)
Viewed
Suite (40)
Viewed
Superior Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#1 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 2,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 2,229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 stars 1,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 16 in Qawra
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $36 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay