Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Church Street St Paul's Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3256 Malta
Traveler (646)
Room & Suite (132)
Hotel overlooking Pool Deck
Pool & Beach (62)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#4 of 23 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.2
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The local traditional characteristics reflected in the design of this small, but prestigious hotel, located at the waters edge overlooking the old fishing harbour and flanked to one side by an ancient chapel, only complement this quaint and idyllic setting. Yet just a minute walk away are a number of shops, restaurants, bars and other tourist activities all along the promenade. ​ An early riser can watch the colourful fishing boats unload their catch from the comfort of one’s room. The hotel has breathtaking views of St. Paul’s Islands where St. Paul was shipwrecked. All rooms have a bathroom en suite, balcony, air-conditioning, direct dialing facilities, satellite Television, mini bar, hair dryer and room safety deposits. ​ The Gillieru Harbour Hotel has ample public areas to guarantee the excellent and personalized service synonymous with the Cremona family which has run it’s catering services for over four generations. Early booking is recommended.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Boating
Diving
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Bulgarian and 4 more

Location

Church Street St Paul's Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3256 Malta
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 93 out of 100
93
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles584 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled by the harbour, Gillieru Harbour Hotel boasts picturesque views that many guests adore, though some have noted the intrusion of street noise. The service receives mixed feedback, with instances of unhelpful staff overshadowed by commendations for friendly personnel. While the atmosphere is generally considered charming and the rooms clean, criticisms focus on dated decor, maintenance needs, and the inconsistency of amenities. Despite the cleanliness, the value proposition is questioned by guests who expect more from their stay, especially regarding dining and additional costs.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Traditional
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
584Reviews110Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 301
  • 155
  • 66
  • 35
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
paulkP3883ZP wrote a review Oct 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a brilliant find!

Fantastic, exclusive location right on the very scenic St Pauls Bay, our room (117) overlooked the harbour. Our comfy, ensuite room with balcony, small fridge and kettle with tea and coffee was very clean and well serviced throughout our stay. The rooms are quiet with thick partition walls (we never heard our immediate neighbours) whilst the breakfast buffet was extensive and kept us going all day. Without exception, we found the staff full of good humour and endlessly helpful.

English Satellite TV was limited to BBC News but the free Wifi enabled us to easily access our streaming services.

Despite its quiet location, it’s just a 10-minute walk to Bugibba Square which has many excellent restaurants. The hotel has a sizeable sundeck and pool but with 86 rooms, it feels personal and intimate.

A 21 Euro bus card provided unlimited travel across the Island for a week – the main stop is less than 10 minutes walk away giving regular access to Valletta, Mdina etc. The cruise boats in the bay (five minutes walk) offer some excellent excursions to the Blue Lagoon, Gozo etc.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Gillieru, a truly wonderful hotel with cheery, helpful staff in an excellent location - highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Spiteri, General Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Responded Oct 11, 2021
Dear Paul, Thank you for taking some of your time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased that your stay was a positive one and we look forward to your return to The Gillieru Harbour Hotel. Kindest Regards Matthew Spiteri Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter D wrote a review Mar 2020
Keswick, United Kingdom26 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for a week commencing 10th March and the welcome was excellent. We had a refurbished room on the first floor which was spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were good and replenished regularly. (Refurbishment was continuing in communal areas). Whilst there on the Friday the government announced a partial close down of Malta which affected Resturants Bars etc. At that time the hotel placed additional hand sanitiser at all appropriate positions which ensured good use. By the time we left on the on the 17th the hotel was nearly empty but the staff were still helping and smiling. We hope to return to the Hotel in the future and see the excellent staff. To all stay safe. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
SmeeLondon wrote a review Jan 2020
Sutton, United Kingdom12 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Gillieru Harbour Hotel on a bed and breakfast basis from 14 to 21 January 2020.

I tend to avoid half board or full board arrangements in places where there are many local restaurants. Hotels which offer luncheons and dinners for those who have already paid for them have less incentive to achieve excellence in respect of such meals. Thus, when I state that the food was very good, I refer to breakfasts only.

I had a top floor sea-facing room, which was very quiet with a splendid view out to St. Paul's Islands; well worth the modest extra cost involved.

The hotel was well maintained with good facilities. Members of staff were both efficient and friendly. Maryrose at reception was especially helpful in providing advice and assistance regarding tour arrangements.

I recommend this hotel particularly for those who want a quiet and peaceful holiday in the autumn, winter or spring months when one can enjoy the benison of fewer tourists.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GillieruMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Responded Jan 30, 2020
Thank you very much for your positive review about our hotel and hopefully you will return in the near future. Best Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Norlyne R wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On arriving and checking in, my room was not great. The smallest room in the hotel and the only one bedroom. On booking with teletext they said as a single occupancy I would get a standard double.

On arriving the room had no soap or shampoo but was quickly sorted out, however, that evening, the tv didn't work properly and couldn't see as stuck in the middle of room, you could only use the fridge on card input which was useless to keep things cold when out, and the bed linen blankets looked like the dog had slept on them and the interior was very dated. The sea view was there, however, the balcony was so small you could hardly get out the door let alone sit comfortably.

Then throughout the evening staff from the restaurant kept dumping rubbish in the bins below till after 12am then each morning at 7am the rubbish pick up also came each day. Then the outside air-conditioning to the restaurant would start rattling throughout the night before the heating for the water came on at 5am that gave a constant banging sound and the cleaners lift was right outside door to which started at 7am, so I got no rest.

On discussing with Goran and the other young FOH staff member (who where more than helpful may I add) Their hands where tied as it was MaryRose that had full charge. On trying to speak with this arrogant, unhelpful rude women several times to have room changed due to all the problems in this room and noise, she made up every excuse hotel was full which it wasn’t, then told me on asking to speak to management there was no one about and didn't know when they would be back! Then tried to fleece me £30 for another room after 4 days trying to sort this out.

On speaking with other guests they all had the same opinion of this women and she needs customer service training. I also found out speaking with other staff that no one wants to work with her and just put up/avoid.

I had breakfast twice but was so oily and tasteless, I went up the road as there’s plenty of nice places to eat and would recommend you do so to for dinner.

In all my year’’s of travel, this was the worst experience and would not recommend as a solo holiday traveller.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GillieruMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Responded Jan 20, 2020
Dear NorlyneR1, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Your booking received was for a Single Use standard room with a free sea view upgrade. This, in fact was allocated. The € 30.00 supplement asked, was to change rooms to a twin for sole use (room for 2 persons). It was not a sea view supplement. We find it hard to believe that Maryrose at the front desk was unhelpful. Maryrose has more than enough experience when assisting guests. With regards to various noises from outside, the hotel was fully booked and we did not receive any comments from our other residents. We apologise in not pleasing you whilst in our hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne L wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Recepion
we arrived quite late in the evening and after a long journey we looked forward to a cup of tea, but were informed there were no fascilities for one and nothing
to eat either, generaly there is always a sandwich for late arrivals if nothing else.
Rooms
these were spotelss and cleaed every day by a very nice lady who was very efficient at her job, but they were so cold we had to have the heating on full bast.
Staff
All the satff in the hotel were so very nice and couldn't do enough for you especially Goran on reception along with MaryRose
Dawn in the patisserie is the best hot chocolate maker on the planet.
Resturant
The best food was the breakfast, and the evening meals were not so appetizing, were often cold and the sweets were the cakes left over fro the Christmas day meal,
which was worth the extra we had to pay.
The New years eve Banguet which we had to pay exta for was awful , we were told there was free wine for all but we never got any , The steak which was served a the meal some was tough and others were fatty this was also servred up cold , there were somany people at the meal some were still gettingstarters wnen others were finishing., no organization was evident,
AMAZMENT
I have never seen dogs welcomed into the dining room before and was amazed when one came to the meal in dressed up in a frock,
In the foyer there was also a lady who came every day with two cats in a pram treat them the like babies and would feed them from her plate..
ENTERTAINMENT
There was none apart from a DJ Christmas Eve , Christnas Day and New Year accompanied by a violinist and a saxophonist.
Although the hotel was a wee bit dated it was clean and the people both using it and working there made it a good holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Assirap wrote a review Aug 2021
Ipswich61 contributions42 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from a week in Malta, brilliant weather, and Malta is a lovely country to explore. Stayed at the Gillieru, which is in a lovely location overlooking St Paul's Bay. Very spacious and clean. Greeted by the charming Mary Rose on reception, who was always helpful and efficient when asked for information and help. The rooms are spacious and cleaned every day, with a wet room as a bathroom, which could get a bit slippery at times. Beds were comfortable and a small balcony was nice to sit out on. We went bed and breakfast which also gave us 10% off food bought in the main restaurant. The breakfast was the same every day and lacked any imagination. Very little vegetarian or vegan option. Buffet style layout but the cooked breakfast could have been varied with tomatoes and mushrooms added as a choice. Standard melon and yoghurt with cheese and ham. Again something a bit mor imagination here would have been nice. Everything is serve yourself and the tea and coffee cups could have been bigger and a second coffee machine would have been useful. The restaurant has brilliant views over the bay. By the end of the week breakfast was becoming very boring.
Dinner prices were good and on a par with most of the restaurants in the area, of which there are many offering varied menus. Drinks were reasonably priced too. All in all a pleasant stay, a very nice pool overlooking the bay with plenty of loungers available. Worth checking out if you plan to stay in this area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Spiteri, General Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Responded Aug 29, 2021
Dear Assirapc Firstly I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking some of you precious time to review your experience at our beloved Hotel. We are over the moon to see your kind review about our Staff and about the cleanliness of our Hotel. We look forward to welcome you again to The Gillieru Harbour Hotel. Kind Regards Matthew Spiteri Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ray G wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The Possitives
We first stayed at this hotel in 2019 which is situated overlooking St. Pauls Bay and found it to be a lovely small quiet,very clean hotel in a great location and said we would stay there again. After 2 years of no holidays and misery, suffered by everyone around the world, we were looking forward to our holiday and could not wait to get there.
The hotel itself is very clean and the staff are very friendly, especially the day receptionist whose name I sadly never got but she does live on the island of Gozo. We found her to be very customer focused. The rooms are nice and clean but we found that they lack a bit or drawer space, at least our room did.
The Negatives
As I came to understand it, since the pandemic, the hotel has been sold twice and who ever owns it now has either no idea how to run a hotel or is just bad at running a business. As it stands n ow, the hotel does not own the restaurant or the swimming pool. The food in the restaurant is not bad, but there is not enough veriety and the food counter is not replenished quickly enough as ther are usuually just 2 members of staff on duty .
I come to the bad part of our experiance at this hotel, The Pool. I am writing this review to help you understand what you will be facing if you decide to book this hotel, as we were never advised of the situation by Jet2 when we booked it.
The Pool is open to the locals on a daily basis and the locals are given priority to sunbeds and over hotel paying residents. We were there for 2 weeks, and every day by the pool was herendous, very loud, and were lucky if we found any vacant sunbeds. We could not spend a day by the pool in peace. On one ocassion, we went up to the pool before going for breakfast and placed our towels on 2 sunbeds. When we went back after breakfast, I noticed that our towels had been moved to other sunbeds with no sun brolly.
I immediatley removed our towels and placed them back on the 2 sunbeds we chose first time. There were 2 locals sat on the other side of us and she said that the pool attendant told them that the 2 sunbeds in question were reserved! I told her not to touch people's private belongings again and left it at that.
There is a sign above the pool that says, No Diving and no Unruley behaviour. This obviously does not apply to The locals as they bring their children to the pool and they are let loose to do what they like. They dive bomb,play with balls and they never come out of the pool unless it's feeding time, 'Lunch'.
On another ocassion, 3 local boys of the age between 11 and 12, were causing such a racket and one of them decided to drop his pants before bombing in the pool. We reported it to reception and sure enough they were taken out, but no apology to the residants from the management.
Another time, 2 guest residents were asked to move from their sunbeds by a pool attendant as he said that those 2 sunbeds and the other 13, were reserved for the locals! Rightly so, they refused to move. This happened on a daily basis which made ours and the rest of the paying guest an unberable and unhappy stay at this hotel.
If you are looking at this hotel, you have been put in the picture as what to expect from the pool. Sadly, We will not be returning anytime soon, as this hotel has lost it's charm for us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Our room was over the front,'Road side' and was quiet with balcany doors closed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Spiteri, General Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Responded Jul 26, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for bringing certain incidents during your stay to our attention. Please do note that both restaurant and Pool are both fully owned by the hotel. and any information you were given about the hotel owners are completely false. The owners and style of management is still the same as when you visited in 2019 and since the conception of the hotel back in 1994 when the hotel opened. Moreover, you failed to mention that both the Jet2 rep and I did speak to you personally regarding the incident with the 3 boys which dropped his pants, when asked the date and time to investigate this further and check CCTV you failed to remember the date and time which made it difficult to find the moment of the incident. Nontheless, I still apologised about this incident but as you mentioned, these were children and sometime the hotel does not have control over certain ways guests behave. Apart from that when I asked about the rest of the hotel and also on check out, you continued to tell us how nice the hotel is and apart from the incident with the boys, you have enjoyed your holiday and that you would return. We are sorry your experience did not match you expectations. We appreciate your feedback and the efforts, it will help us improve where we have lacked. Best Regards Matthew Spiteri Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ross Y wrote a review Sep 2021
10 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a sea view room on the 4th floor the view from our balcony was stunning. The room itself was very nice and clean and tidy. The only criticism of our room was the fridge wasn’t particularly the best. It was ok for water but if you put milk in it the milk would go off within two days.

Our package we purchased from our travel company was bed and breakfast which in my view was perfect because we didn’t feel tied down to the hotel for evening meals. The breakfast from the restaurant was a good selection but the cooked food needed to be hotter as buy the time you to your table to eat it the food was cold.

We found it one morning that when we went for breakfast that the dining hall was full and some people had reserved several of the tables so they could sit on the waters edge for their breakfast. which at a busy time of the day I don’t think it was very fair. It should be on a first come first serve basis. A waiter did take a reservation sign off one of the tables because the guests hadn’t arrived but it soon did cause a problem when they did arrive.

Other than that one problem our stay at the hotel was very relaxing and enjoyable. We went in the swimming pool a few times and it’s not a massive pool but it’s a decent size and also quiet deep. The one thing I did like about the was it’s a salt water pool so no nasty chlorine stinging your eyes.

I’m looking forward to returning to Malta within the next year or so and I will be returning to the gillieru harbour hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Spiteri, General Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Responded Sep 20, 2021
Dear rossy, firstly I would like to thank you for taking some of your precious time to review your stay in our hotel. I am so glad to see that your stay was a postive one! I have noted down the comments regarding the breakfast. We area trying our best to improve our services as much as possible. We look forward to your return next year! Kindest Regards Matthew Spiteri Hotel Manger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jill J wrote a review Aug 2021
Northumberland, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived at the hotel and check in was seamless and reception staff very friendly and continued to be throughout our stay of 7 days.
We paid for a sea view room and wow it was well worth it. We were on the 4 th floor and the view was fabulous. The room was very clean and beds comfortable. We spent a lot of time on the balcony reading and relaxing. We had a small fridge in the room which was great and tea and coffee making facilities.
The breakfast was adequate but the same every day. We only ate in the hotel one lunchtime otherwise which was lovely.
The pool area was thoroughly cleaned every day and although we didn’t use it much as preferred to swim in the sea. Towels for use at the pool were allocated to each room.
The location of the hotel suited us as it was in a quiet location and felt like we were among the locals who came down to swim and picnic and go to the nearby church but a nice walking distance into Bugibba for more life and selection of bars and restaurants.
The manager introduced himself to me in the lift and assured me he could be contacted if we needed him which was reassuring but not needed.
We hired a car through reception at a reasonable rate and so easy. The roads are rather bumpy but it was good to get out of the very very hot sun but visit places including. Gozo.
During Covid the Gillieru felt really safe.
We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Upper sea view rooms have view to die fit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew Spiteri, General Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Responded Aug 9, 2021
Thank you for taking some of your precious time review your stay with us. We are so happy to see such positive comments and you appreciated our unique location, all the covid-19 preventive measure that we have in space and the overall experience. It was a pleasure to meet you personally and I do look forward to welcome you back in our Hotel very soon. Kindest Regards Matthew Spiteri Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise M wrote a review Sep 2020
Bolton, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the hotel for a week in late August and travel to Malta every year. We have stayed in many hotels within the area. I only wish I’d stayed here sooner, it was very nice. A quiet location with views from the room overlooking the harbour, i recommend the sea view room it’s well worth the stunning views. We could enjoy the view in the evening when unwinding with a glass of wine or first thing in the morning with a coffee. The hotel is in walking distance to bars and restaurants but nicely just out the way to enjoy peace. The pool was very nice overlooking the sea with access to a cafe/bar. We ate in the Carmelo cafe in the hotel, the pool cafe and the hotel restaurant for my daughters birthday which was really special and Ivan provided great service. The octopus starter was delicious as was all the food. Visiting during the pandemic we were a little nervous but the hotel had hand sanitisers stationed throughout and masks had to be worn whilst walking through it or the restaurant so we felt very safe. All in all a fantastic stay and we will definitely be back again next year!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
valerie h wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking in the street around this hotel is very difficult."
Read full review
Carl B wrote a tip Mar 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast room is long & narrow but can sit at table & watch the sea while eating breakfast. "
Read full review
Paolo G wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"No parking area"
Read full review
bigladrob wrote a tip Dec 2023
East Yorkshire185 contributions100 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere else, malta has lots of good public transport and it's easy to get around. "
Read full review
_mezkev20 wrote a tip Nov 2023
Warrington, United Kingdom7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool isn’t heated , it was very cold "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Paul's Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
$95 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel gillieru harbour, gillieru harbour st pauls bay
LOCATION
MaltaIsland of MaltaSt. Paul's Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GILLIERU HARBOUR HOTEL $155 ($̶2̶6̶5̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Gillieru Harbour Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St. Paul's Bay Wignacourt Tower (0.2 miles), The Owls Nest Inn (0.3 miles), and Iris Art Malta (0.02 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gillieru Harbour Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Gillieru Harbour Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Gillieru Harbour Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Gillieru Harbour Hotel?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gillieru Harbour Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include LOA, Made in Sud Pizzeria, and Damiano's Pizzeria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gillieru Harbour Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Gillieru Harbour Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Gillieru Harbour Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gillieru Harbour Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Gillieru Harbour Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Gillieru Harbour Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
All St. Paul's Bay HotelsSt. Paul's Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. Paul's BayHotels near Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars