We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Red Roof Inn - Richmond South

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 333: English reviews
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The Red Roof Inn is no frills but my room was clean and e everything worked. O ly problem was I couldn't get a first floor room and there is no elevator. As a result , the outside walkway by some rooms smells like urine from people not walking their dogs downstairs.

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ok, it wasn't that bad. I had my doubts about staying at a Red Roof Inn, but I must stay I was pleasantly surprised. I only needed to stay in the Richmond area overnight, so I needed something cheap yet clean. I booked based on other positive reviews and was willing to give it a go. I stayed in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather H
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experiences. I very much appreciate your comments on our service, rooms, and cleanliness. The staff and I are thankful you decided to give us a try and now give us your recommendation. Unfortunately with the number of satisfied customers we have not enough of them... More 

Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Red Roof had the best price and put me in an area that was convenient for me. The room was spacious, beds comfortable and clean. The floor was a hard surface which is definitely cleaner than aged carpet. The staff was friendly even with three people waiting to check in. Arriving very late on Friday night gave me a view... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I very much appreciate your comments on our rooms, cleanliness, service, and price. I see you are a high level contributor so you have had many experiences to compare this too. Our new room style continues to get a lot of positive reviews, so... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came in very late and Khan was more than happy to get a room for us. He came up with a smile on his face and made us feel very comfortable and at home. Nice hotel that we will come back to it. Thank you Khan for your help.

Helpful?
Thank Sunger1234
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and share your experience. I appreciate your comments on our rooms, service, and value. Your positive comments on my staff including Khan are very much appreciated as they perform very well with our guests. Getting your recommendation and knowing you plan to return means a lot to the staff and... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stay here when we travel because it is reasonably priced, clean and we have a dog. The employees are helpful and are always very courteous. We've been staying here now during our travels for 4 years and have never had a a complaint

Helpful?
Thank jingles25
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We work hard to keep our rooms consistent and that shows when you have stayed here over 4 years and have had no complaints. I personally greatly appreciate you returning and making us a regular stop during your travels. Guests who are looking for... More 

Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location wasn't the greatest but you can't complain when the exit spits you out directly in front of the hotel Our room was just fine. Exactly what we paid for. No frills, inexpensive, and a great value. The amenities were simple, but for the price of course you can't complain. Consider the standard room the "base model". Housekeeping was... More 

Helpful?
Thank dimensionsound
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I appreciate your positive comments on our rooms and value. I personally thank you for choosing to make Red Roof Inns your choice for a night. I will be sharing your positive comments on Malcolm, a new employee that has good potential impressing many... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly, the only reason I'm giving this a 2 is because of cost. I should have known better. The first room I went to had leg or facial (or other gross) still in the bathtub. It had not even been wiped down. The SECOND room I was offered was no better. You immediately walk into a dirty floor. It wood... More 

Helpful?
Thank hboaz
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

We appreciate you sharing your concerns about your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value your feedback which will be shared with my team. I apologize that you did not have a better experience at my property. We work hard to give guests an experience that is better that they expect in economy lodging and we fell short of... More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First of all, the staff was very nice. In the room, we had a choice of house flies or fleas. Remains of a broken crack pipe on the bathroom floor. Outside, the grounds were disgusting. Cigarette butts, Q-tips , bottle caps all over the place. I had stayed here last year on my way thru town. They had just done... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here at our inn. I appreciate your comments on my staff but very disappointed we let you down in the quality department. I will share this with my staff to make sure we make some improvements immediately. We get many positive reviews but lately we have had a couple poor... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a precaution we decided to "check" the room before we settled in and got dinner. I'm sure glad we did. Opened the door and there must have been a half a dozen flies in the room! While the ceilings and the walls were littered with dead flies! Somebody please clean the walls before you claim the room is ready... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amos B
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here at our inn. It is a disappointment to me personally that your room was not up to our usual cleanliness standards. I did go through almost half of my rooms today looking for a room with similar issues and was unable to find one. Flies do get around this... More 

Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

The front desk receptionist was very friendly. They cleaned the rooms late the first night of our stay but gave us clean wash clothes and towels. The housekeeper was apologetic and offered us service instantly. It's located close to gas stations and food spots. Good water strength for showers and the water stay hot. Located conviently off I-95

Helpful?
Thank foundfavor6969
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and making us your first posted review. We very much appreciate your remarks on our rooms, cleanliness, and friendly service. Our rooms continue to get great reviews, along with our new flat screens with updated programming mostly in HD, and upgraded WiFi. We do offer a few different room types. It sounds... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
12.4 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#39 of 85 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
11.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#35 of 85 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Richmond South

Address: 4350 Commerce Rd, Richmond, VA 23234-2240
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: $61 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Richmond South 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotwire and Red Roof Inn so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South Hotel Richmond
Richmond Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#27 Business Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay