We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Red Roof Inn - Richmond South

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 326: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Firstly, the only reason I'm giving this a 2 is because of cost. I should have known better. The first room I went to had leg or facial (or other gross) still in the bathtub. It had not even been wiped down. The SECOND room I was offered was no better. You immediately walk into a dirty floor. It wood... More 

Helpful?
Thank hboaz
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As a precaution we decided to "check" the room before we settled in and got dinner. I'm sure glad we did. Opened the door and there must have been a half a dozen flies in the room! While the ceilings and the walls were littered with dead flies! Somebody please clean the walls before you claim the room is ready... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amos B
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here at our inn. It is a disappointment to me personally that your room was not up to our usual cleanliness standards. I did go through almost half of my rooms today looking for a room with similar issues and was unable to find one. Flies do get around this... More 

Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The front desk receptionist was very friendly. They cleaned the rooms late the first night of our stay but gave us clean wash clothes and towels. The housekeeper was apologetic and offered us service instantly. It's located close to gas stations and food spots. Good water strength for showers and the water stay hot. Located conviently off I-95

Helpful?
Thank foundfavor6969
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and making us your first posted review. We very much appreciate your remarks on our rooms, cleanliness, and friendly service. Our rooms continue to get great reviews, along with our new flat screens with updated programming mostly in HD, and upgraded WiFi. We do offer a few different room types. It sounds... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room was clean and up to date! The staff was friendly. I disliked the after hours window. I understand why it's there. However a single women checking in after midnight exhausted and having to TRY to talk through a window to a man who didn't speak English was very frustrating. I was disappointed the hotel didn't keep up with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roxy F
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your experience. I appreciate your comments on my staff, our rooms, and that you had a “good stay”. I am glad you gave us the opportunity to correct the issues you experienced so that we were able to take care of them. I will check on... More 

Fayetteville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived night on a Friday. While unpacking noticed one person watching form a corner from the back of the hotel. Once on the second floor a guest was on the balcony in a chair drinking beer. Beer cans lined the railing in front of his room. Our room was supposed to be non smoking, but had a smell like... More 

Helpful?
Thank cnherring
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here at our inn. We work very hard to get positive recommendations from our guests so it hurts us to see negative comments like this. We take safety and security issues very seriously and have security on the premises several nights to help customers feel more comfortable and try and... More 

Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Red Roof was a mixed bag when compared to others where we have recently stayed. It was the largest room we have had and had the best work area and the best availability of electrical plugs. On the other hand the room smelled musty and of old smoke even though it is supposed to be a non smoking hotel.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken W
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments on our room size and the working area. I do apologize for the fridge not working properly and the musty odor. I just got some new fridge units so if I can figure out what room this was I will... More 

Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The room was very very clean and had a very nice huge TV. The bedding was very comfortable and checking in was painless. They had a very nice work center in the room, and it is good to see floors rather than carpet

Helpful?
Thank itextrish
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I thank you for your comments on our cleanliness, comfort, and service. Our new style rooms continue to impress our guests. When customers are looking for a good value – a comfortable room at a good price – we make that happen. Our new... More 

Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here after leaving Washington DC... we've stayed there before so we were familiar with the location. Good points: the noise from the highway was not loud, the location is good and the staff friendly. The room was clean and the water was hot. Bad points: the noise from the rooms around us (different cars and people going in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne H
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. I appreciate your comments on our cleanliness, friendliness, and location. You returning makes us feel good about how we are performing since our goal is to get customers to return and continue to stay with us. I do apologize for the noise. We have... More 

Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Everyone I spoke to at this hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. The woman who checked me in was very knowledgeable about the area and had on-point suggestions as to where to eat as well as which restaurants delivered to the hotel in case I didn't want to venture out. The room was comfortable, clean, and fresh looking. The bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jon H
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and share your experience. I appreciate your comments on our rooms, service, and value. We work hard to become a customer’s choice with all the brands out there today. We are very happy that we have become your choice when conducting business in the Richmond area. This type of recommendation... More 

Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

Firstly, the rooms are clean and comfortable, which is not always the case for pet friendly hotels and its a good location, right off exit 73 of I-95 in Richmond. Even though its 100% smoke free, our pillows had a mild smell of smoke, but not enough to interfere with our comfort level. There was also loud music and shouting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. “Clean, comfortable pet and people friendly and great rate” you covered it all – this is our goal and what we work for every day. We are so thankful you chose to give us a try in Richmond and I Hope this will be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
12.4 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#41 of 88 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#36 of 88 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Richmond South

Address: 4350 Commerce Rd, Richmond, VA 23234-2240
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: $62 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Richmond South 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South Hotel Richmond
Richmond Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#29 Business Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay