We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampton Inn Richmond South

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Richmond South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Richmond South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 382: English reviews
Daniels, United States
Reviewed February 5, 2016

unfortunately located adjacent to the interstate and very noisy trying to sleep an night. the big storm left deep snow and poor clearing of it left muddy entry and with the snow and ice never cleared for first few days of our week plus stay. Our stay there was for a locataion near the hospital for my husband's heart surgery.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R Fred G
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on trip advisor post your stay at The Hampton Inn Richmond South. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to severe weather conditions in the area and also the highway noise. The snow removal crew has been approached to take necessary steps to avoid this from happening in the future. I am...

Dundas, Canada
Reviewed February 5, 2016

Like most Hampton's a nice clean place to stay, good location from the highway friendly staff, good breakfast. Remote control for the TV didn't work in the fitness center but overall it was well equipped.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on trip advisor post your stay at The Hampton Inn Richmond South. I am extremely happy to know that the accommodations were comfortable for your travel. Your kind comments are much appreciated and will be shared with the team. I apologize that the remote for the TV in the fitness room was not working and...

Gray, GA, United States
Reviewed February 2, 2016

I have stayed at this particular Hampton Inn on numerous occasions and always found it a very pleasurable experience. From the initial check in, where I am welcomed as a long term guest to the final checkout where I receive wishes for a quick return, I feel as part of a family. The hotel staff at the front desk are...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas H
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Thomas Thank you for a wonderful review on trip advisor post your stay at The Hampton Inn Richmond South. I am extremely happy to know that our amenities and services are always comfortable for your travel. Your kind comments are much appreciated and will be shared with the team. We love having you here with us and making...

Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed January 8, 2016

I stayed at the hotel since my son was playing in AAU Football Tournament in town. The hotel was close to school that the games were being playing at. The hotel staff was very nice and allowed for an early check in and late check out since we had 8:00pm game on Sunday. The room that we stayed in was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review on tripadvisor about your recent experience. I am so glad to know we have met your expectations and our hotel was suitable for your travel needs Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look forward to see you again in the future!!

Reviewed January 2, 2016

Upgrades are being made to the hotel. I was not assigned an upgraded room. The room was clean, the shower was ok-it needed adjustment to stop the water coming from the faucet as well as the show at the same time- , breakfast was ok. It wasn't complete. I could have stayed at another hotel and paid less and received...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorriem2016
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hampton Inn Richmond South. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the breakfast layout and the bathroom maintenance. I have addressed them with our team to provide better services and avoid any reoccurrence. We hope you will come back and stay with us the next...

Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

While on the road on our way to our winter retreat in Florida we were fortunate to find the Hampton Inn in Richmond, VA. The customer representative "Jasmine" greeted us with a friendly smile and was VERY accommodating to our special needs. We also met Sangeeta Vahal the general manager of the inn. She was considerate and accommodating. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bobby P
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for an outstanding review on trip advisor about your recent experience. I am so glad to know you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us including the services as well as the amenities provided. Your kind comments are shared with the staff especially Jasmine and we look forward to welcoming you back!!

Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

We were here for a soccer weekend. Hotel was clean. Room a bit small but okay. Needed a roll away and now I need a chiropractor Need an upgrade on the rollaways. Breakfast was good and lots of choices. While the hotel is starting to show signs of wear, it was fine. There is no restaurant but it's not that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DomerDad
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review on trip advisor about your recent experience. I am so glad to know our hotel facilities and services were suitable for your travel needs especially the breakfast and restaurant choices. Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look forward to see you again in the future!!

West Warwick, Rhode Island
Reviewed December 11, 2015

We stayed here for two nights going down to the Keys traveling from Rhode Island. It was a nice stopping point. Easy check in, friendly staff. Clean rooms and right off the highway. We came back a week or so later on our way back north.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricia b
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor about your stay at the Hampton Inn Richmond South. I am so glad to know we have met your expectations and our hotel was suitable for your travel needs Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look forward to see you again in the future!!

Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewed December 1, 2015

This is an updated hotel with good sized rooms. Upon entering hotel appeared updated but after getting into our room it showed signs of wear. Staff were pleasant but when another party in our group reported a missing hair dryer in the room they were assigned staff refused to believe they were missing it until they physically came to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on trip advisor about your experience. I sincerely apologize that we could not meet your expectations during your stay. We strive to provide certain level of comfort to our guests. Your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider...

Hickory, North Carolina
Reviewed November 10, 2015

Spent a decent night at this hotel on our way north. Comfortable beds, especially the pillows, and nice amenities in the bathroom. The breakfast was better than the usual free continental fare, with hot options as well. Note: if you need a roll-away cot, reserve one in advance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smitty60
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review on trip advisor. I am so glad to know you have enjoyed your stay especially the bedding and breakfast. Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look forward to see you again in the future!!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Midlothian Turnpike
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond South

Address: 4300 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: $132 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Richmond
#16 Business Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn Richmond South staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Richmond South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“street side (not highway side)”
 of 5 bubbles 974jennyh, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Non I-95 facing rooms will definitely be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles kevinmW8797NI, Feb 16, 2017 | Read review
“Stay on the west side of the hotel facing Commerce Street - East side is practically on top of I95”
 of 5 bubbles mikehT3164LJ, Mar 30, 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms on the other side of the hotel not facing I-95”
 of 5 bubbles whytegroup, Mar 3, 2016 | Read review
“Try not to get room facing highway. Lots of truck noise”
 of 5 bubbles RobertC548, Dec 1, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question