The Berkeley Hotel

The Berkeley Hotel

Shower
Traveler (183)
Bath a bit dated
Room & Suite (93)
delicious breakfast
Dining (11)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

$141
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#9 of 87 hotels in Richmond
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Berkeley Hotel offers uncompromising service and comfortable, gracious accommodations in arguably Richmond’s best location. At 12th and Cary Streets NW, the Berkeley is at the western edge of historic Shockoe Slip with its cobblestone streets and many dining and shopping opportunities. The Central Business District is adjacent to our east side and we are easy walking distance to the James River Canal Walk, VCU’s Medical College, the State Capitol, and many other government buildings and tourist attractions. The Berkeley Hotel, Richmond VA also offers options to accommodate meetings, banquets, and other events. We hope to welcome you in Richmond soon!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 91 out of 100
91
Richmond Intl Airport (Byrd Field)
Main Street Station
7 min
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,745 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Berkeley Hotel, nestled in a prime location, is celebrated for its historic charm and cozy atmosphere, with guests frequently lauding the attentive and professional staff. Its spotless rooms and commendable housekeeping are also highlights. However, opinions on value diverge, as some guests feel the lower rates don't compensate for the outdated facilities and limited amenities. While the hotel's central location is a boon for exploring nearby attractions, travelers suggest that a refresh of the rooms and amenities would enhance the overall experience.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,745Review14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,060
  • 394
  • 142
  • 82
  • 67
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sandie T wrote a review Jan 2020
42 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Berkeley Hotel made this business trip a real pleasure! Everyone at the hotel was so nice and made me feel right at home...from the desk clerk, the bellman, the restaurant staff, the housekeeper...everyone! I was very comfortable and the food is great - terrific crab dishes - and the location is within walking distance of everywhere I needed to go.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kevin M, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Thanks so much! Guests like you are the best advertising for our hotel and our wonderful employees! We love to share reviews with all of our employees. We appreciate that you took the time to complete this review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert D wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had excellent throughout the hotel - staff at desk, bellman, restaurant. The elevators worked extremely well. The WiFi was easy to connect to and was very fast - much faster than most hotels WiFi's. Our room was on the 4th floor, it was very quiet. We loved the free breakfast that came as an extra cost but well worth it. It was not a buffet but a breakfast served off a menu. In all, a very pleasant visit. I would highly recommend this hotel.

In particular, I would like to compliment the service of the bellman, Quesi and the check-in person, Starlett.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor, and it was very quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kevin M, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Wow!!! We would first like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about the visit. We are ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your visit. Your happiness and comfort is always our number one priority. It was an absolute pleasure having you here and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
bbillak wrote a review Feb 2020
Santiago, Chile1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay at The Berkeley was even better than I had expected. The location near businesses, cafes, and restaurants plus the wonderful feeling of southern hospitality made my trip so enjoyable. The staff, especially Starlett, were all very knowledgeable of the area and workings of the hotel thus making each guest's visit an enjoyable experience. The rooms are spacious and make you feel as if you are staying in a colonial southern home. I highly recommend it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kevin M, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel
Responded Feb 4, 2020
Thanks so much! Guests like you bbillak are the best advertising for our hotel and our wonderful employees! We love to share reviews with all of our employees. We appreciate that you took the time to complete this review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SharonStangil wrote a review Feb 2020
Charlottesville, Virginia2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughters and I were excited to spend a night at The Berkeley Hotel in Richmond to celebrate a birthday as the hotel is situated on a cobblestoned street in a very nice and desirable part of town.
We were happy to learn when we booked our visit online with Hotels.com that they were a pet friendly hotel and brought our three dogs with us.
Upon checking in we were shocked to find out that their pet fee was $50.00 for each dog! There was no mention of this online and in all our 20 years of traveling with our dogs we have never encountered such an outrageous pet fee. Once in our room we were further shocked and disappointed when we threw open the drapes only to find a view of a brick wall. The dust on the lampshades and furniture indicated to me that no one had been in that room, guest or housekeeping in a very long time.
It’s very unfortunate that this hotel doesn’t appear to value dog owners as much as they do there other guests. We won’t be back.
PS
Our dogs are very well behaved.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kevin M, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel
Responded Feb 10, 2020
We would first like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. It is our sincere apology that your stay did not meet your expectations. I have made Our management Team aware of the issues mentioned above. Again we do apologize.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trybar318590 wrote a review Jul 2020
Buffalo, New York1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We traveled through Richmond on the 4th of July. We received an email leading up to our stay that valet car service was offered for $25 per night. When we arrived, there was no valet. When we checked in, attendant told us the hotel restaurant was closed. It wasn't going to be open the following morning either for breakfast. Would have been nice to know that prior to arrival. Rooms were antiquated as if you slept on outside of bed, there was no outlet for your phone charger. We had 4 guests in the room, the hotel only provided 3 bath towels. Could have been a nicer experience but wasn't due to poor communication in advance of our trip. Will go back to the Courtyard Marriott next time right up the road. Air conditioner went on and off every 10 minutes, making loud bangs in the process. Very difficult to get a good night's sleep. Location of the hotel is great when there is something going on in downtown Richmond. There was nothing going on in downtown Richmond that night as all of the restaurants were closed. Consider the Westin instead which had their restaurant open the same night we were there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kevin Miller, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel
Responded Jul 8, 2020
We would first like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. It is our sincere apology that your stay did not meet your expectations during the Pandemic.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RR wrote a review Jun 2020
Matthews, North Carolina47 contributions66 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We checked out at 8pm day of arrival due to fact our floor smelled constantly of marijuana which was coming into our room in a very strong fashion, and after walking around for over an hour trying to find a place to eat without any success(Richmond is essentially closed right now; avoid it at all cost) we had very simply had enough of this place. To make matters even more insulting, they want you to park your car on a very crowded street(can you say damage?) or find your own parking garage($20/day) a few blocks away. The hotel really must inform visitors of the fact the majority of Richmond restaurants are closed and they must make dinner reservations well in advance at the 1 or 2 places open or they can't eat. The Hotel Manager on duty did not even bother to apologize or offer any type of concession even though we used the room for only a few hours due to the events that transpired. And, it is way overpriced for what you get. Far better options in Richmond for lesser price.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kevin Miller, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel
Responded Jun 30, 2020
We would first like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. It is our sincere apology that your stay did not meet your expectations during the current Pandemic. I have made Our management Team aware of the issues mentioned above and will work diligently to ensure we continue to inform our guest. Again we do apologize.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexander J wrote a review Jun 2021
Pinehurst, North Carolina3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It is sad to see how COVID is used to shut down service "for health and safety reasons" and at the same time crank up the price. Traveling with a dog, we were charged $50 pet fee and at the same time given an old room, bringing our total up to $375 for an old, tired smelly room with the most horrible mattress on not even queen size beds, but double beds.

The restaurant and food service in the hotel is suspended due to COVID, while every restaurant in the neighborhood is busy and no reservation to be had before 8pm that evening. Again, the pandemic is used to eliminate service.

One gets the impression great service means: "let me show you how you can do everything yourself while we do nothing." Go, get your food somewhere in town, make your coffee yourself on a Keurig in your room. If we really have to, we sell you one of those pre-packaged, old and solid as a stone muffins from a basket behind the front desk. But wait, nobody was to be seen at 6:30 in the morning. I walked by four times between 6:30 and 7:45 without any interaction or greeting by any member of the staff. Simply, because none was there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: For the price charged, one can get a premium room at any 4 star hotel in town with significant...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kevin Miller, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel
Responded Jun 21, 2021
We would first like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. It is our sincere apology that your stay did not meet your expectations. I have made Our management Team aware of the issues mentioned above and will work diligently to ensure it does not happen again. Again we do apologize .
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane B wrote a review Mar 2023
Norfolk, Virginia102 contributions53 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location, all else very marginal. Bath towels need to be replaced (ones we had were old and flat with noticeable ragged threads on the sides). Room had one bar of soap (usually there is a bath bar and a hand soap bar) and the robe that is advertised offers one per room (we had another sent to us but, really, for 2 guests??). The "continental breakfast" was a joke (toast and mystery breakfast muffins without labels) and the first morning they ran out of everything by 9am (advertised until 10am, lame!). Asked for wine glasses at the desk and were given two plastic disposable ones (!?) Although the bar wasn't in working order we found two real wine glasses there and used them for our stay. This hotel has no amenities, would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Maly, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel
Responded Mar 16, 2023
Our apologies on your experience Diane. As you can see from the other reviews, your experience was not the norm. As we do not yet have a restaurant or bar, for sanitization reasons the glasses provided are disposable wine glasses. However we do have traditional wine glasses if asked. Please note there was a time change Sunday morning. Breakfast was stocked and ran to 10am as usual. I do hope you give us another chance. If so, please contact me directly so I may ensure your next stay is perfect!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emily B wrote a review Jan 2020
Knoxville, Tennessee136 contributions71 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is suited for couples and is in a great location. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the breakfast was great. Valet parking is available even if you book your room via a third party site. You can navigate Richmond without getting on the toll roads and there are multiple places to eat close by. However, many are closed on Sunday. We would definitely stay here again. One day the restaurant was not able to serve breakfast (we had prepaid for it) and they gave us credit for parking.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask about views. We had a room with a view of the street. Some rooms only have a view of a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kevin M, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel
Responded Jan 13, 2020
Wow!!! We would first like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about the visit. We are ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your visit. Your happiness and comfort is always our number one priority. It was an absolute pleasure having you here and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lilinoeofthekoolaus wrote a review Nov 2022
Kailua, Hawaii20 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When we went there 2 years ago at the height of Covid, guest services were nil. 2.5 years later, there’s still no housekeeping or room service. In the no-contact spirit, we leave bags of rubbish and dirty linens in the hall and are issued clean trash bags and fresh sheets by the door to remake our bed. The lobby offered sodas, potato chips and pretzels for sale, but when I asked for a bottle opener—‘no can, ma’am., you might want to try the restaurant nextdoot and see if they will open your bottle.’ The Shockoe Slip location can’t be beat, but there ‘s still no spirit of customer service long after the pandemic peaked.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There’s no mini fridge and no room service. Bring a cooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from john maly, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel
Responded Nov 14, 2022
Greetings Lily, This was very dismaying to hear as we have bottle openers in every room as well as the front desk. I will follow up with the team as the wonderful staff here generally delivers warm, thoughtful and intuitive service. My apologies again that you did not experience this during your stay. We hope you visit us again next time you're in Richmond and give us another chance! Warm Regards, John Maly General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mikereensy asked a question Sep 2020
stafford63 contributions2 helpful votes
Do you allow smoking on the balcony?
Answer from Richard M
Henrico, Virginia1 helpful vote
Smoking is allowed on the outside balcony/ terrace.
dflippo62 asked a question Jan 2020
Salem, Virginia12 contributions1 helpful vote
Is there a fitness center on site?
Answer from Aurelia
Beverly, Massachusetts14 contributions125 helpful votes
I did not see one but there is a really cool yoga studio around the corner that my husband went to. And a gym just down the street.
Jesper C asked a question Aug 2019
Copenhagen, Denmark836 contributions176 helpful votes
Do You have parking at the hotel or close by
Answer from Easy508th
Roanoke, Virginia50 contributions43 helpful votes
There is a parking garage across the street from the hotel that is cheaper than valet parking and it is a one minute walk across the street to the hotel.
Poe in Wonderland asked a question Jan 2018
1 contribution
How close are you to the Poe Museum?
Answer from Richard M
Henrico, Virginia1 helpful vote
The Poe Museum is 0.6 miles away for an 11 minute walk.
Answer from Richard M
Henrico, Virginia1 helpful vote
There is a pet fee of $50, per pet, that is not included in any roomrate.
Diana D wrote a tip May 8
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The service at the Berkeley is wonderful, let the staff help you and you won’t go wrong. "
Read full review
s G wrote a tip Feb 2024
Washington DC, District of Columbia164 contributions104 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 207 and 208, where my family stayed, are wonderful."
Read full review
Jewel & Noel wrote a tip Feb 2024
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Valet parking "
Read full review
Heather wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"For future travelers considering the Berkley Hotel in Richmond, I would recommend exercising caution and managing expectations."
Read full review
Susan M wrote a tip Jan 2024
Norfolk, United States2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location for legislative access."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Richmond area.
PRICE RANGE
$151 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
berkeley hotel richmond
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaRichmondShockoe Slip
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BERKELEY HOTEL $157 ($̶2̶0̶8̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Berkeley Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Berkeley Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Virginia Capitol Building (0.2 miles), Canal Walk (0.2 miles), and St. Paul's Episcopal Church (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Berkeley Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a business center.
Which room amenities are available at The Berkeley Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Berkeley Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Berkeley Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Berkeley Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Tobacco Company Restaurant, The Hard Shell, and Siné Irish Pub & Restaurant.
Is The Berkeley Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Richmond.
Are pets allowed at The Berkeley Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Berkeley Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Berkeley Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. John's Episcopal Church (0.9 miles), Virginia Capitol Building (0.2 miles), and Edgar Allan Poe Museum (0.5 miles).
Does The Berkeley Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Richmond HotelsRichmond Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RichmondHotels near The Berkeley Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars