Omni Richmond Hotel

Omni Richmond Hotel

Traveler (222)
View from elevator
Room & Suite (155)
Omni Richmond Hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

$177
$160
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#18 of 87 hotels in Richmond
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Embrace Southern elegance at Omni Richmond Hotel, an elegant retreat that overlooks the class 4 rapids of the scenic James River in Richmond, Virginia. Enjoy storied views, a heated indoor pool, and a beautiful atrium restaurant serving Tuscan delights. There's also an Italian market, Starbucks cafe, and breezy outdoor sundeck. The Virginia State Capitol and Virginia Museum of Fine Arts are moments away from the hotel. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Richmond, VA making it an ideal place to hold large meetings, corporate events, and weddings. Our personalized service and upscale accommodations will not disappoint you and your guests. Omni Richmond Hotel is a truly unique destination offering easy access to timeless architecture, historic features and vibrant local life that defines the Richmond experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Aerobics offsite
Canoeing offsite
Kids stay free
Valet parking
Paid private parking nearby
Free wifi in the business center
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Shallow end in pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Fishing
Raquetball offsite
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Kids club
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun deck
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Kids Eat Free

Location

100 S 12th St, Richmond, VA 23219-4012
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Richmond Intl Airport (Byrd Field)
Main Street Station
8 min
2,473Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,242
  • 674
  • 314
  • 159
  • 84
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mary G wrote a review Apr 2023
Chesapeake, Virginia25 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Omni Richmond has improved since we last stayed there. It’s staff is so welcoming and well trained. They have nice freshly updated rooms. If you want to visit downtown Richmond near the capital it so conveniently located. We had a lovely weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chelsea D wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Omni was very clean and in a great location to explore the canal path and along the James; however, we were disappointed with the service during our stay. Upon arrival the front desk attendant was not wearing a mask (which is currently required), additionally, we were told there were no cribs available, even though the hotel and parking garage both seemed fairly empty on a Wednesday night. We were woken up early Thursday morning before 6am (including our toddler son 😕), by what sounded like vacuuming and staff outside in the hallway. When we called to the desk to make a complaint, the noise continued. When we left our room later it appeared there was a leak in another room and there were large industrial fans, vacuums, and staff making repairs. While I understand the need for an emergency repair, an apology or discount on our room or comped parking, etc. would have gone a long way. For what we paid for a quality hotel, it was a disappointing experience and we would try another area hotel next time we visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jay S, General Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel
Responded Jun 30, 2020
368chelsead, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. We apologize that you were disturbed by the emergency clean up that was taking place during your stay, and that all of our cribs were in use by other guests. I also want to apologize that when you arrived that you were greeted by an associate that was not wearing a mask. This is a critical part of the Omni Clean and Safe program, and please know that it will be reviewed with all members of the team to ensure this does not happen again. We would love to have the opportunity to discuss the details of your stay with you. Please feel free to contact us, and we will be happy to review your stay with you directly. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J E wrote a review Jan 2020
Fredericksburg, Virginia11,051 contributions667 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
While in Richmond recently we stayed here… it’s very centrally located in downtown Richmond, in the Shockoe Bottom area. Upon pulling up, their valet were outside and quickly greeted us and got us set up with valet parking… they also offered to help us with luggage.
Upon entering, the place is beautifully set up and somewhat grand, just on a small scale. The back stairs around the corner from the front desk is very nice and has a huge mirror in it that makes it look very grand… a great place for formal picture. There’s a nice fireplace in the lobby area with cozy seating around it, a nice place for a night cap. Elevators were quick and abundant, as they had four.
The room was very nicely set up and decorated. The bed was very comfy. TV was perfect. Towels were among the BEST we’ve ever had in a hotel! Shower was just OK, the jets on it didn’t all work, possibly a low water pressure issue. Toilet took forever to fill, so it sounded like it was always running. Plenty of plugs around the room, especially at the desk and night stand (on the sides). Nice fridge in the room too. Amenities in the bathroom were nice and smelled good.
They have a decent bar down in the lobby area, so you can grab drinks before heading out to dinner or when you come back!
Overall, I can see staying here again when in the area!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen L wrote a review Jan 2022
Virginia Beach, Virginia20 contributions36 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
During horrendous trip on I-64 from Staunton during snowstorm called 800 number google listed as booking concierge for all hotels in Richmond (Expedia) booked $270 room here. When we arrived, evening desk clerk recommended restaurant in hotel for dinner - it was closed before 7pm which he didn't know. After practically begging him to do so, he tried several restaurants which were all closed. He sugessted hot dog place that had good dogs and fries. We ended up with pizza delivery. When we awoke we tried speed dial buttons on room phone for "Concierge" "Guest Services" and "Front desk" which all connected to central voice answering ( "Push 1 for reservation" Push 2 for billing" etc.) We discovered that no breakfast was available at hotel either room service or restaurant, and the morning desk clerk recommended a nearby Irish Pub might have breakfast?? (Bangers & Mash?) Room was clean and had good towels so Kudos to housekeeping. Forget about service or even helpful staff. Best value turned out to be valet parking provided by sub contracted parking company. Valet was extremely helpful, loaded bags for us and was polite and personable. Pizza take out place Picola's Provided Salads, pasta, great meatballs and cheesy garlic bread and even delivered two bottles of wine! Don't waste your money on a stay here at this "luxury" hotel, rooms are nice and clean and they have good towels, but the same may be said for many chain motels at less than 1/2 the price - and their desk clerks are better informed and willing to help their guests.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Stayed in king bed room same as pictured on hotel's website.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sherellf06 wrote a review Nov 2022
Maryland141 contributions17 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has been a complete failure from the start. Very disappointing for $219/night. When we pulled in, we learned that the hotel only has one charger for electric vehicles, and in order to have access to it, we had to pay for valet service. In addition, we were told that with six cars ahead of us, they can’t guarantee that our car will get charged. I’m sorry, but for what is touted as a modern, luxury hotel, they should have more than one measly charger. There are a pretty sizeable number of people increasingly moving to EVs, so come on.

The hotel’s website says “there are electric charging stations onsite at Omni Richmond Richmond.” Management needs to make the word “single” singular, and not give off the impression that charging stations are plentiful.

So, we give the valet our car and enter. Very underwhelming. Spacious but extremely aged, and there were multiple pieces of large black debris on the floor.

Check-in was ok. We get to our room, and my husband, who is definitely not one for details and is generally not too observant, noticed hair all over the bathroom. It started with seeing one on the floor, then he noticed more and more strands of hair on the towels, etc. we told the front we needed another room. Their demeanor about it was ok and they did apologize and said they were going to consult with housekeeping and/or send them up. The room also smelled weird, kind of similar to a sour scent you get when you enter a space with aged carpet. Our second room just a few doors down was only minimally better. We didn’t catch it until showering, but multiple strands of medium length brown hair in this bathroom too. Besides the hair, one of the USB ports on the alarm clock doesn’t seem to work, the pillowcases are wrinkled, the carpet is not as clean as it could be, and overall it’s just a sucky feeling. When we came back from dinner and asked the front desk for our complimentary water, the woman who got it for us had the biggest attitude ever. How about you find another job if you don’t like people and are going to act like that. Sorry we would like a bottle of your cheap Nestle water. Sorry for even daring to bother you, dear employee.

Our friends staying on another floor had an empty shampoo bottle. So housekeeping is not even on top of that? And we’re being charged $150 for our dog when they can’t keep their own facilities sanitary?

I can’t wait to check out and would never recommend this hotel under any circumstances to anyone. Might as well have saved some money and stayed somewhere cheaper.

The hotel was well aware that they’d have a surge of guests for the Richmond marathon, but I guess they really just didn’t care.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If you’re into modernity, cleanliness, and luxury, look elsewhere. This place is a ripoff.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SpanishteacherMD wrote a review Jun 2022
Ellicott City, Maryland2,056 contributions188 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here 13 years ago on a guy's weekend away. My wife and I stayed this past weekend for our anniversary night away and were ecstatic to do so. The property has only gotten better, and the service is still second to none. Thanks to Chantaye (sp?) and Kent at the front desk, as well as Christian and Wayne at the valet stand for making our stay even better.

The service at this hotel is outstanding. Staff was cleaning the lobby as we checked in. Each time we came downstairs, they were cleaning. Our room, was #722 and was a king deluxe. Spotless, amazingly comfortable, welcoming and quiet. The view from the room wasn't bad either, facing the city and the State Capitol just two blocks north. Our room was extremely large, with a huge flat screen tv, comfy linens with huge puffy pillows. The bathroom was huge as well, large rain shower with a roomy tub also. All of the standard extras in the bathroom, toiletries that smelled great and plenty of room for two people to be in there at once. We were at the end of a hallway, far enough away from the elevators so it was quiet, not hearing traffic from the hallway. Valet parking was $30 for overnight. When you drop your car in the circle, they send you a text. Whenever you're ready to get your car, just click the link and shortly thereafter, you're good to go. Valets were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. A pleasure to deal with them.

The hotel is within walking distance to Shockoe Slip and Shockoe Bottom home to tons of shops, cafes, eateries, markets and more. Minutes away as well from Canal Walk and the James River. Two blocks south of the State Capitol. We literally walked everywhere and we happy to do so. The weather was spectacular and made our stay even more enjoyable. We didn't go in, but there is a Starbucks in the lobby of the hotel as well.

Overall, just a fantastic experience. Would return again and again. With service as we experienced, along with a gorgeous room, I would highly recommend the Omni Richmond Hotel to anyone staying in Virginia's capital.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lacalli wrote a review Mar 2021
4 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The Omni has gone down with Covid. The restaurant/lounge is a sad place with average food, no in room service or option for in room dining, no valet but self parking for $25. No waters available in the room and when a dental toiletry kit was requested they didn’t offer any. Meanwhile people around the hotel walking around with no masks or hanging out in large groups around the common areas. Last time staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vacation694943 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You can’t beat the Omni Richmond for quality, location and price. Our deluxe King room was priced lower than most standard hotel rooms in the downtown Richmond area. We could walk to several historic sites by way of the lovely Canal walk and then continued walking the terrific pedestrian bridge over James River to Belle Isle - more Civil War sites and great trails. Back to the Omni and right out our door is restaurant row! Great time!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CC01262 wrote a review Mar 2021
19 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent the night at Omni Richmond last weekend, thinking we were choosing a better experience than one of the chains right off 95. We were very disappointed. While our corner room was very nice, the hotel was a wasteland. It seems that many hotels are treating COVID as a chance to layoff staff. Trash remained outside people’s doors for more than a day. The hotel restaurant, which was advertised as being open for takeout, was being run (it seems) by two very nice but extremely harried wait staff — and so it took over an hour to get a salad. We were told breakfast was only available in Starbucks — but we encountered such a long line and a crowd at 8 am on a Sunday that we gave up and left. We self parked underground — be prepared for a $25 fee and no break for hotel guests. We will plan to stop elsewhere when we next pass through Richmond.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashley B wrote a review Jul 2020
5 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
So we wanted to get a nice room for our wedding night. We figured the Omni was the best option. Wow I was wrong. To start this off it would have been nice to know that parking is a minimum of $25 a day even if you’re not using valet. Then there was the cold receptionist that just seemed irritated that I asked a few questions. Then we get upstairs and I do my typical checking over of the room. Under the skirt of the bed I find broken up potato chips. It’s a 4 star hotel and they couldn’t be bothered to clean a little better? Burn marks on the carpet. Vents separating from the wall. But what gets even better is they put majority of the money back into our account and the withdraw it the next day... I get that we were only supposed to get the deposit back but that whole situation was just weird. I can honestly say we won’t be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Anthony Jordan
Cumming, Georgia
Wifi
kp harris asked a question Oct 2019
Staten Island, New York86 contributions15 helpful votes
Is there a 711, Starbucks, or any breakfast location nearby?
Answer from Dean
Floyd, Virginia14 contributions2 helpful votes
Starbucks in the lobby
Answer from rialou116
Piedmont, South Carolina86 contributions29 helpful votes
We walked quite a bit even at night and felt very safe in that area. We had our car so not sure of taxi or uber. We stayed at the Omni and they offered a shuttle within a few miles of the hotel.
Sarah P wrote a tip May 13
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book literally anywhere else. "
Read full review
Ivy J wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't have high expectations for this place."
Read full review
William B wrote a tip Jan 2024
Virginia50 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms adjacent to the elevator shafts will have some noise from the elevators. Higher floors on the "city view" side can see the Capitol."
Read full review
3000calories wrote a tip Jan 2024
Buffalo, New York1,365 contribution178 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Park in the lot across the street for 20% the cost"
Read full review
tahrann wrote a tip Jul 2023
Miami Beach, Florida116 contributions67 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"pool is warm, elevators are slow, staff is great"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Richmond area.
PRICE RANGE
$185 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
omni richmond hotel richmond, omni hotel richmond, richmond omni hotel
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaRichmondShockoe Slip
NUMBER OF ROOMS
361
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OMNI RICHMOND HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Omni Richmond Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Omni Richmond Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Virginia Capitol Building (0.2 miles), Canal Walk (0.2 miles), and St. Paul's Episcopal Church (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Omni Richmond Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Omni Richmond Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Omni Richmond Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Omni Richmond Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Omni Richmond Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Tobacco Company Restaurant, Capital Ale House, and The Hard Shell.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Omni Richmond Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Omni Richmond Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Richmond.
Are pets allowed at Omni Richmond Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Omni Richmond Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Omni Richmond Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Richmond HotelsRichmond Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RichmondHotels near Omni Richmond Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars