We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
901 Bank St, Richmond, VA 23219-3505
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Hotels.com
FindHotel
$157
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/15/22
Expedia.com$189
Booking.com
Trip.com$210
View all 22 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (115)
Room & Suite (68)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/30/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Commonwealth
Updated 12/30/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 90 hotels in Richmond
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
You may think you know The Commonwealth, as it has been a landmark hotel in Richmond for over 100 years. And much of what we have been known for—excellent service, spacious suites, and a location that can't be beat—remains. But we have totally reinvented ourselves, and now offer a uniquely Richmond experience. From the tattooed entrance doors on our suites (did you know that RVA is the 5th most tattooed city in America?), to furniture and art hand crafted from some of the area's most talented artisans, to java from Richmond's own Carytown Coffee, The Commonwealth will surprise and delight you at every turn. All guestrooms feature: Handcrafted furnishings and artwork from local Virginia artisans and artists; Beds with Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, luxurious cotton sheeting and your choice of pillow firmness; 50” flat screen TV with HD programming; Complimentary high speed wired & wireless internet; Clock radio with bluetooth music streaming; Refrigerator/freezer & microwave
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
524Reviews5Q+A40Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 394
  • 81
  • 26
  • 15
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
avb2 wrote a review Yesterday
Alexandria, Virginia96 contributions84 helpful votes
Older building, redone several years ago but still feels a bit worn and tatty. It was clean and the beds were very comfortable but not an inviting place to stay. Decor/ art was really awful. Acceptable but not a wow.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Kat wrote a review Nov 2021
McLean, Virginia, USA20 contributions28 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
My husband and I just returned from a fabulous 1 night stay at The Commonwealth for a date weekend staycation and we had a fabulous time! We decided to book at The Commonwealth due to the great reviews, location of the hotel and we wanted to stay somewhere historical with some charm. Everything was great from check-in to check-out! There is construction around one side of the building and we weren't quite sure at first what to do with our car when we pulled to the front to check-in, but the amazing staff let us know that we could valet our car or find street parking for free since we were there no a weekend. We opted for street parking for convenience and found a spot a block away. The staff at The Commonwealth are absolutely fantastic. They are honestly some of the nicest people I've encountered at a hotel! Every single person we met at the front desk and valet were so hospitable, kind, helpful and full of fantastic recommendations. A+ service! One thing to note that I noticed in some reviews before checking in is that the size of the elevators are really tiny. This is a super historical 100+ year old hotel, so the hotel has some quirks like that, but it's all part of the charm! My husband, me and a luggage cart were able to fit in there without a problem. Our room was really great. We booked a 1 bedroom king suite and it was beautiful! We had a great view of the Capitol grounds on the 9th floor, it was very spacious, clean and quiet. We loved it! There were a few things in the bathroom that could be adjusted just in the shower with some wear and tear, but nothing bad. The location of The Commonwealth is unbeatable -- we were walking distance to all of the great restaurants, coffee shops, Shockhoe neighborhood and Capitol Grounds -- we even did a ghost tour on the Capitol grounds and it was so convenient to be right across the street. Overall, we had a fabulous getaway at The Commonwealth and would absolutely stay here again! Thanks for a fantastic time!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and with windows with a good view of the state capitol grounds.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiffany Smithson, Sales at The Commonwealth
Responded Nov 2, 2021
Thank you, Kathryn C, for taking the time to rate and to write such a wonderful review about The Commonwealth. We appreciate all of your feedback as every observation helps us to improve upon our product and services when needed. We hope you will choose to stay with us again soon for another much deserved staycation - our staff will look forward to welcoming you home. Thank you for being our guests!
Read more
susan b wrote a review Jan 22
Dublin, Pennsylvania7 contributions35 helpful votes
Front staff and valet were great. Room was spacious and a good value. Vanessa in Rueggers was exceptional! She went above and beyond to make our dining experience a positive. I hope too see her again during my next stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiffany Smithson, Sales at The Commonwealth
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you, G1473AOsusanb, for taking the time to rate and review The Commonwealth. We appreciate your positive feedback and hope you will choose to stay with us again soon - Vanessa and our entire staff will look forward to it. Thank you for being our guest!
Read more
treasurer2022 wrote a review Jan 18
1 contribution
While it is a little pricier than some, the service and comfort are worth the price. I found the mattress a little soft for my liking, but over all the room was very comfortable and is a step above the average accommodations. The staff is wonderful and goes out of their way to make sure your stay is memorable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiffany Smithson, Sales at The Commonwealth
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you, treasurer2022, for taking the time to rate and review The Commonwealth. We appreciate your positive feedback and hope you will choose to stay with us again soon - our staff will look forward to it. Thank you for being our guest!
Read more
BiConti wrote a review Jan 2
Metro NY36 contributions7 helpful votes
I want to rate this more highly, because there is so much that is cool about this hotel: the generous size of the top floor suite, the creative decor, the location with a view of the historic state Capitol building… BUT. There are some troubling flaws. Specifically, the place needs a deep clean. This was noticeable upon stepping into the elevator, the saddles of which were filthy, and even had an ant munching its way through one of the grooves. Stepping out of the lift, we got smacked with an overpowering stench of weed (at least it wasn’t cigarettes). The apartment sized suite had a great living room. The bedroom, though, had nasty, worn wall-to-wall carpet. And, a downside of the place being “pet-friendly” (not a feature we need): evidence of the previous occupants’ pooch in the room: dog hair and a piece of kibble on the floor. Made me worry about the harder-to-see potential remnants (i.e., fleas). Other comments about poor water pressure are accurate. Drainage of shower area also poor. Worst of all, though, was that the bathroom had other (people’s? Animals’?) hairs — both long as well as short & curly, near the shower. Also, no glassware, only cheap plastic tumblers wrapped in plastic. I get it, that in the Covid era, disposable plastic is easier. But it still cheapened the experience. The place could be very elegant and a top notch experience, but the poor maintenance has it falling short of that. Depending on my cash flow, maybe I’ll stay there again, and, hopefully, these fixable issues will be addressed by ownership/management.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiffany Smithson, Sales at The Commonwealth
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you, BiConti, for taking the time to rate and review our hotel. We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay but we do appreciate all of your candid feedback - we value it and take it to heart as it helps us to improve upon our product and services. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future - our staff will look forward to it. Thank you for being our guest!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$157 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
commonwealth park hotel richmond, commonwealth park richmond
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaRichmond
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Commonwealth
Which popular attractions are close to The Commonwealth?
Nearby attractions include The John Marshall House (0.3 miles), St. Paul's Episcopal Church (0.1 miles), and The National (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Commonwealth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Commonwealth?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Commonwealth?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Commonwealth?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Commonwealth?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Tobacco Company Restaurant, Secret Sandwich Society, and La Grotta Ristorante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Commonwealth?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Commonwealth located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Richmond.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Commonwealth?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Commonwealth?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Commonwealth offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.