We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

I picked this hotel based on its proximity to the Lowell train station. Also, there are several good restaurants within walking distance and the National Historical Park is also close by. Service was very good, room was nice and comfortable. My only "complaint" was that the hotel does not have a pool. I remember it did have a pool back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tsling
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Good Morning Tsling, I hope you are having a wonderful Friday. I wanted to reach out and thank you for your wonderful review of our property. Our central location to downtown Lowell is one of the many reasons why guests book here and I'm glad you were able to enjoy the city. Unfortunately we do not have a pool on... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

Spent three nights here, the service was wonderful, Eric the manger was awesome. The view from our room was awesome, almost like you're in the caribbean watching a waterfall. The only shortfall is , I wish the bathrooms had vents, the bathroom became very foggy after taking a shower.

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne C
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Yvonne, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I couldn't agree more, that Eric is awesome! We're fortunate to have him on our team. He exemplifies the excellent customer service we strive to provide here at the UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Lowell. Sincerely, John Bowen Assistant General... More 

Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

The accommodations were average..no complaints. I'm out of town for business every week, for the week. The best part of my stay was finding the very competent, witty, friendly, and entertaining bartender Debra. She was very hospitable to everyone, while also being very engaged and interested in conversations...along with being very skilled at pouring and mixing drinks.. always with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank swadey8
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Swadey8, Let me start by agreeing with you that Debbie is one amazing bartender. I am overjoyed that you were able to take in the city of Lowell while enjoying a nice cocktail with Debbie. The hotel and its staff appreciate all of the amazing comments that you left for us. Rest assured that Debbie heard all about your... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a night during our road trip, the location was great, the canal view was exceptional, the lobby was very modern and clean, the rooms were spacious & fairly clean, but a bit dated and the air conditioning in some rooms was a bit noisy, but not really worth a complain and I would recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angee A
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Angee A, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. We appreciate all of the great comments you left for our housekeeping team. They work tirelessly to ensure that the public space and rooms are flawless for any incoming guests. Your comments have been passed to the team and surely they will not forget... More 

Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

The bartender, Debbie went above & beyond for us & our son's family. The bar was well stocked with a variety & she knew how to make excellent cocktails too!! The room was average. We attempted to turn the faucet on when we arrived & we couldn't. We felt like it would break if we tried harder. They sent up... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Diane P, First, I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff members. Your words have already been passed on to their managers and the other team members for valuable feedback. Our staff members try to exceed guests expectations and it sounds like Debbie and our maintenance department tried to live up to our standard.... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

Pros: location, view of canal, outdoor terrace on canal. Cons: dirty carpet, rooms seemed like a college party room, fan and air conditioner in room did not work, no fan in bathroom to take care of shower steam, no fridge in room, no coffee maker in room, no notice of free continental breakfast (though there was one ), weak wifi,... More 

Helpful?
Thank History U
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear History U, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback about our hotel. Our guests absolutely love the patio room with a canal view while on property and hopefully you were able to enjoy them as well. Unlike many hotels, we do convert our upper floors to be dorm rooms during the school year for UMass Lowell... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

So this is the only hotel in the area and you (and I) don't have a choice of options in Lowell. So, suck it up and stay here though this place is a grade A dump. I didn't have a choice as this was booked for me. Cleanliness: Nope. Stains on carpet, dirty bathrooms and here's is the best part... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DocMetrics
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear DocMetrics, Let me start by apologizing for the bad experience you had with our property. I am deeply concerned as to your encounter with our staff members and the manner in which your situation was handled. This is not the way that the UMass Lowell Inn and Conference Center operates and I would appreciate more feedback from you. I... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

I would find alternatives if you can. The room was pretty dirty and I had significant problems with water pressure. Bugs everywhere (mainly spiders, I had one unfortunate encounter with one crawling around in my bed). The shower curtain had mold spots on it, just an overall unpleasant experience staying there. The staff was fairly inconsistent (a few that were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ashtonbl
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Ashtonbl, First, I would like to thank you for your honest feedback about your stay. It is imperative that management see reviews like yours to know where we can improve and how our employees can do better. I am sorry to hear about the cleanliness issues with your stay. This is not the standard that the UMass Inn and... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

It was the only hotel I could find for a grad weekend in the Boston area-- and what a pleasant surprise! Very clean facility, towels in great shape, I had a room with a river view, Continental breakfast in a modern, updated, bright and pleasant atrium. Book with confidence-- and what a great deal!

Helpful?
Thank Mariam Y
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Mariam, Thank you so much for taking your time to give us some feedback on our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. Our housekeeping team works night and day to ensure our facilities are in the best shape possible. I will send along your great remarks to our team. Once again... More 

Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

I thought I was taken back in time to my youth hostel years!! This place it totally run down. not even your average 2/3 star hotel. I had to stay there because they chose for me. their breakfast is a joke though enough for most palates. You really feel you are a student!! The room was huge but very very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emmagoestothebeach
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Emmagoestothebeach, Thank you for your feedback of our property. I'm greatly disappointed we did not live up to your expectations while you stayed at the UMass Inn and Conference Center. I noticed that breakfast is a hot topic for you. Our breakfast is a limited continental Monday to Saturday but we do offer a full brunch on Sunday from... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowell
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Boston Lowell/Chelmsford
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chelmsford Inn
3.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel and Suites Chelmsford / Lowell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Tewksbury Andover
3.4 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Tewksbury/Andover
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Boston Tewksbury/Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, located in the heart of downtown Lowell, overlooks the Concord River and city canals. Just minutes from major intersections, the hotel is centrally located near historical landmarks, major event venues, galleries, shops and a bustling downtown ... more   less 

Additional Information about UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center

Address: 50 Warren St, Lowell, MA 01852-2224
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Lowell
Price Range: $110 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Lowell Hotel Lowell
Lowell Doubletree
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay