We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hotel Smeraldo

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Smeraldo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 11: English reviews
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

If you are a family traveling with small children, this would be the place to be. There is activities and shows for them almost every evening during summertime. This of course makes a lot of noise both during the day and evening. So if you plan on using the pool, theres children every where. But then again, who wants to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ptotti
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We just came back from 1 week in this hotel. The room was big and the price quite attractive (we had a combined package flight + hotel). The air conditionning and mini fridge were working fine. The pool area is very nice and there was always enough seats for everybody. People at the reception were always very friendly and happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pierre F
HotelSmeraldoGonone, Responsabile reception at Hotel Smeraldo, responded to this review

Dear Mr Guest, Thank your for your review. Yes rooms are big and spacious and we have different services for our guests. The hotel has a structural problem with insonorisation and it is impossible to fix it. The 30,00 euro menu it is a that price because of the peak season, in fact, in August, all the prices go up,... More 

Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Me and my fiancée had an outstanding time in Cala Gonone thank to the Hotel Smeraldo; everybody has been so friendly and professional to us, from the lads at the Reception desk to the waiters/waitresses at the restaurant/bar. The swimming pool is tiny but clean and pretty, surrounded by a number of stunning trees; the closest beach is 10 mins... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Nice and reasonable hotel. Friendly staff, good wifi and nice pool area. The only drawbacks were the breakfast and the 20 minute walk to get downtown. Would still stay there again. Cala Gonone was also a very nice location. Rent a boat and check out the caves and cliffs along the coast!

Helpful?
Thank Razzy_Moose
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. the hotel itself is a bit 80's decorated but well maintained. We booked for 1 night and decided to stay for another night specially because of the help of the receptionists who helped us with the local attractions. The rooms are big but not fancy. the breakfast was good, although it seemed... More 

Helpful?
Thank barakl
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel was good clean and tidy the staff were helpful and friendly the food was Italian which is what we wanted ( not mcdonalds ;-) ) to speak a small amount Italian in sardinia would be an advantage and the hotel staff were helpful with that. good all round

Helpful?
1 Thank john u
viborg
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Rooms were clean and big with a nice balcony, the minibar was empty.We could hear almost everything from the neighboors. We did not Like the breakfast - but of course its a matter of taste. Service at the reception was very good, but very poor at the restaurant were we felt very bad treated - especially the first day, were... More 

Helpful?
Thank fhs02
HotelSmeraldoGonone, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Smeraldo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment and we are sorry that you did not enjoy some parts of your stay at Hotel Smeraldo. Unfortunately last year, one of the manager of the restaurant left us early on the season and we did not manage to find a suitable alternative, therefore the restaurant was without a manager, but this year... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cala Gonone hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Vilnius
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I enjoyed staying at H.S. Location: not the heart of Cala Gonone, but it's o.k: just ~10 min of walking to downtown. Room: clean; I didn't ordered room with a see view, but I got it. Breakfast: really good.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrius J
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Nice cozy rooms, very good pools (one pool was closed). Very close to the beach and some good restaurants. Liked the green room color, tile floors. Watch out for those topless sunbathers! This walls so dont paly the TV too loud!

Helpful?
2 Thank smith806
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We chose Sardinia for our honeymoon trip and it was great idea! Sardinia is the most beautiful island in Europe! Especially Cala Gonone coast! This hotel we chose for good price (100 EUR per night per room). The worst think is this hotel location...Cala Gonone resort is mountainous, so from the resort centre or beach You must go to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank AGNESSSE
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Gonone hotels
0.4 mi away
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
#1 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cala Gonone Beach Village
Cala Gonone Beach Village
#2 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 stars 977 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
#5 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Costa Dorada
Costa Dorada
#13 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Conchiglia
Hotel La Conchiglia
#15 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bue Marino Hotel
Bue Marino Hotel
#10 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Address: viale Bue Marino 9, Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Smeraldo Cala Gonone, Sardinia, Italy
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Gonone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay