We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Volcano Huts Thorsmork

Save
Share
Located Inside poRsmork, Via poRsmerkurvegur Road No. F249, Hvolsvollur 861 Iceland
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Travelocity
Expedia.com
$123
View deal
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (165)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (3)

About

#2 of 24 Specialty lodging in Hvolsvollur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Volcano Huts are located in Húsadalur Valley in the THórsmörk Nature Reserve in Iceland, right next to the Eyjafjallajökull Volcano & Glacier. The unique nature of the THórsmörk area make this an ideal place for hiking and nature exploring. We offer rustic mountain hut accommodation, local food, tours and activities for groups and individuals. Volcano Huts offer simple accommodation in small cottages, shared cabin-dorms, small private bedrooms and camping grounds. Our accommodations are quite rustic and in keeping with other mountain huts in Iceland but offer the option of small private cottages and rooms with made up beds. THórsmörk Nature Reserve, has one of Iceland's most dynamic and beautiful landscapes, where active volcanoes and towering glaciers rise above the lush valleys below. The THórsmörk area has endless hiking trails and is connected to the Landmannalaugar Nature Reserve via the Laugavegur hiking trail and Skógar via the Fimmvorduhals trail. The LavaGrill Restaurant & bar offers breakfast, lunch and dinner, snacks, homemade cakes and coffee. We can also send you off with a packed lunch to take with you on your hike. The bar offers a selection of local beers and other drinks. How to get here - IMPORTANT! Please note that you will have to take a special mountain bus to get here as you will have to cross big rivers on the way. You can take the bus all the way from Reykjavik or leave your car and hop onboard the bus at various stops along the way.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Hot spring bath
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Danish and 3 more

Location

Full view
Contact
Located Inside þóRsmörk, Via þóRsmerkurvegur Road No. F249, Hvolsvollur 861 Iceland
Getting there
Keflavik Intl Airport96 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
192Reviews13Q+A24Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 75
  • 57
  • 28
  • 22
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Round_the_world wrote a review Sep 2020
18 contributions3 helpful votes
One of the highlights of our 2 weeks in Iceland was our brief stay at the Volcano Huts. We opted to drive our 4x4 to the main river and hike the rest of the way in. The crossing bridge may be further up the canyon than you think, so be prepared for this. And you need to hike over the mountain ridge to get to Volcano huts. Once there, we found the Rustic tent camping to be AMAZING and fun!! The food quality was quite good and we enjoyed our meals. Take the hike straight up from the huts to the mountain above, all the way up. This was the most amazing vista we had the entire 2 weeks of our trip. If we come back to Iceland again, we will be staying several nights at the Volcano Huts. VERY highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Be adventurous... try the Glamping option.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Nanna Björk wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Great stay! My husband and I and a couple of friends thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food is good and the service excellent. The environment and facilities lived up to expectations. You can choose adventurous hiking trails.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Outoftheboat wrote a review Aug 2020
Prague, Czech Republic177 contributions104 helpful votes
We stayed for one night in a Glamping tent with breakfast and dinner at the restaurant. I was a little nervous about the whole experience based on old reviews but we didn't want to hike heavy and needed food provided for the fimms. hike. I needn't have worried at all! What a marvelous experience. The tent was well equipped and very comfortable with a large bed, comfortable mattress and nice cozy linens. We used the provided heater and it was more than adequate to heat the space and keep it at a very comfortable temperature. The bathrooms were just a few steps away and we had access to the same as were used by the restaurant. There were 5 showers which had curtains and hooks and lots of hot water (in contrast to previous reviews). The restaurant provided a good hiking meal (buffet style) for breakfast and dinner. Yes, it's expensive but comparable to any European hiking hut. This is the only destination that we did not drive to in our rental car (yes we did the river crossing to Landmannlauger) and we were very glad that we didn't when we saw the size and depth of the river crossings. I would recommend this to other hikers who are not hiking heavy and are looking for a comfortable experience in a spectacular location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Excellent Glamping option!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Urša I wrote a review Jul 2020
Grosuplje, Slovenia15 contributions1 helpful vote
We arrived to Thorsmork with morning bus, did 15km hike on the first and 5km on the second day after which we left with the afternoon bus. The kitchen was handy, but we missed salt and some basic spices as well as dish soap. We cooked our own dinner there the first day, the second day we ate lunch at the restaurant in the hut. Delicious lamb soup! We stayed in private room 21 with the wiew on the mountains, bed was really comfortable, there was electric heater (which we didn't need due to really beautiful weather) and very clean shared toilets. Close to the hut there is a small sauna and a natural pool, which is shallow and not so hot as some others, but still very cosy after a long hike on a sunny day. We liked the experience here!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Marshall C wrote a review Jan 2020
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
The private room was basic but fine, though the bloc really needed more WCs. Showers were in a separate block, again under-provided for the numbers using them. The block was detached from the main restaurant and kitchen. The kitchen, in it's own building was used by a large number of self caterers was totally inadequate - hardly any equipment and what was there was old, grubby and faulty. A total rip off at the end of a memorable hiking and sightseeing holiday in amazing Iceland..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Bjarni F, CEO / Partner at Volcano Huts Thorsmork
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Dear Marshall C, thank you for visiting and for sharing your views. As we note on our website we do not offer the traditional camp kitchen as our cantine and restaurant is just next door. However, we do offer campers a place to sit inside where they can make their own meals and we recommend everyone to bring their own utensils, pots, pans, plates etc. We have a couple of heating plates which can be used to heat water but that is really it. The alternative is to dine at our restaurant next door where we serve breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks and drinks at the bar. I wish you had taken the time to write a bit about your experience of Þórsmörk Nature Reserve, which I hope you enjoyed. We feel very fortunate to be located here right at the doorstep of some of the most beautiful trails in the world. I am very happy to see you liked your stay in amazing Iceland. Best regards Bjarni Freyr
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$95 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IcelandSouth RegionHvolsvollur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Volcano Huts Thorsmork
What are some of the property amenities at Volcano Huts Thorsmork?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Volcano Huts Thorsmork?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Volcano Huts Thorsmork?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Volcano Huts Thorsmork?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Volcano Huts Thorsmork?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Danish, and Icelandic.