We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
2/4/2018 2/5/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Rippon-Kinsella House

    1317 N 3rd St, Springfield, IL 62702-3837
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2/4/2018 2/5/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in SpringfieldSee available hotels in Springfield
    Overview
    • Excellent53%
    • Very good25%
    • Average3%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible17%
    Travelers talk about
    “b b” (28 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Kitchenette
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (79)
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 79 reviews

    Reviewed December 6, 2017

    The owner and innkeeper make this beautiful house magical. The history they know of the area and the house it self really allow you to feel part of its history. They are so passionate about what they do it is almost impossible not to feel...More

    Thank Brian V
    Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

    My husband and I wanted to go on a weekend getaway for our 1 year anniversary. 10/13-10/15. So we decided to check out a bed and breakfast for the first time. It was a terrible experience. The outside of the house at first look was...More

    Thank Elena S
    Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded November 12, 2017

    O.k.......I surrender. Yes, we have some "material" laying in the backyard, but the front yard is beautiful. Again, who are these people? Do they exist only to make other people's lives miserable? How pathetic. However, the place does NOT smell terrible, and the carpets are...More

    Reviewed September 18, 2017

    The owners of the Rippon-Kinsella house seem to be a nice couple. However, the website photographs do not represent the property. I understand it is going under renovations and it is an old home with many antiques, but there is an undefinable odor about the...More

    Thank cationista
    Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded September 27, 2017

    I replied earlier that I was going to hire an innkeeper because of my friend's dementia, but I have decided to close the B&B and rent the guestrooms to boarders. So all of you "keyboard warriors" won't have us to kick around much longer. You're...More

    Reviewed August 28, 2017

    Photos of the property must have been taken many, many years ago. The outside needs a lot of work...broken fence, weeds instead of grass, power cords, ladders, tarp on roof....and that is just the beginning. Going inside, the first thing you get is an odor....More

    1  Thank nicole b
    Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded August 30, 2017

    Some people just can't be pleased. It is an 1871 Victorian and we are working on it! We'll try to do better on bathroom maintenance, but we don't reuse paper cups. Give me a break. Dave Ridenour Proprietor

    Reviewed August 26, 2017

    Trash all over the yard, can't even get to backyard, fences broken, rooms very junky and place has odor that bother ladies when we walked in. Could not stay there but they charge your credit card anyway. Watch their 48 hr policy to cancel as...More

    1  Thank geraldl366
    Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded August 30, 2017

    This is getting ridiculous. Who are these people? There is NOT "trash all over the yard." We are building a brick patio in the backyard and it does look like a construction site. We are putting a new rubber roof on the the flat roof...More

    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    Details
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 3
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Illinois >
    • Springfield
    Nearby
    Nearby HotelsSee all 38 hotels in Springfield
    Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Springfield
    456 reviews
    .75 miles away
    Homestyle Inn & Suites
    50 reviews
    .76 miles away
    Carpenter Street Hotel
    249 reviews
    .78 miles away
    The State House
    974 reviews
    1.17 miles away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Cook's Spice Rack & Chili Co
    47 reviews
    .80 miles away
    Sportsman's Lounge
    17 reviews
    .91 miles away
    Jungle Jim's Cafe
    34 reviews
    .88 miles away
    Sam's Italian Pizza
    24 reviews
    .40 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Lincoln Tomb & War Memorials
    1,481 reviews
    .40 miles away
    Edwards Place Historic Home
    68 reviews
    .58 miles away
    Illinois State Military Museum
    64 reviews
    .91 miles away
    Union Station - Lincoln from History to Hollywood
    50 reviews
    .98 miles away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from The Rippon-Kinsella House staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "This was not a hotel, but a Victorian home."
    Read review
    "This entire property should not be rented to the public."
    Read review
    "Book before Fall, 2016 as the hosts will be closing the door to guest forever."
    Read review
    "The Captain's Quarters is best suited for early risers since the unique Italianate windows do not lend..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing