We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Agia Varvara, Sissi, Crete 724 00 Greece
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$206
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/26/22
Booking.com
$186
View deal
FindHotel
$151
View deal
Travelocity$206
Priceline$207
Hotels.com$206
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (677)
Dining (110)
Room & Suite (103)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 20 in Sissi
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
If you’re looking for a charming hotel in Sissi, look no further than Grecotel Meli Palace. Set 2 kms from Sissi village, the style is refined, the pace casual. Escape to this exotic beachfront paradise, surrounded by palm trees, wild figs, hibiscus, cacti and olive trees. Grecotel Meli Palace Hotel is a charming hotel offering air conditioning and a refrigerator in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free internet access is offered to guests in all public areas. The hotel also features 24 hours multilingual reception and a concierge service. Enjoy Grecotel award winning hospitality. Sumptuous breakfast buffets laden with home-baked goods and a dizzying array of dishes, lavish lunches and dinners featuring live cooking demonstrations, midnight snacks, cocktails and refreshments are all included in the package. Parents can relax knowing the children are entertained at supervised activities program at the Kids Club. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available. The staff at Grecotel Meli Palace looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Kids club
Airport transportation
Spa
Massage
Concierge
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Greek
437Reviews50Q+A48Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 271
  • 111
  • 35
  • 11
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Suzanne K wrote a review Dec 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom138 contributions100 helpful votes
+1
I stayed here for a week in October, and had a lovely relaxing week.The hotel is virtually in the middle of nowhere but Sissi is a leisurely 30 minute walk away, and definitely worth a few visits. Lots of shops, and restaurants, lovely bars overlooking the sea, and take your swimming gear bcse there is a lovely area to swim in, and the sea is crystal clear. I had a lovely room overlooking the mountains, and tea/coffee and kettle provided. Unfortunately we had rain for 5 of my days, however I still loved the stay here. Food is excellent, drinks are good, and if you like cocktails, there was a huge choice, and looked amazing. The hotel has its own beach with loads of sunbeds, and sea here is really nice. Cliffs either side of the hotel, so if you love wandering around like me you will love it - even a tiny little church at the end of the beach which you have to visit. What made this hotel for me is all the staff, they are so incredible and friendly, from the cleaners, reception, bar staff and everyone in the restaurant. I was only there a week but after a few days my drinks were always on my table, and everyone on the restaurant works so hard, all the staff are a credit to the hotel. Transfer time with tui did take about 80 minutes so might be worth getting a private Transfer. There wasn't much entertainment if that's what your after, but if you want a super relaxing break, with excellent food and staff you'll love it. Already booked for May, so see everyone then.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Definitely visit Sissi, a really lovely pretty place.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Grecotel Meli Palace Guest Services Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Meli Palace
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Suzanne K, Warm greetings from sunny Crete! Thank you very much for reviewing our resort and for sharing your personal experiences with us and other Tripadvisor members. We are very pleased to read that you had a very relaxing week with us and you enjoyed our accommodation, food, variety of cocktails, service and the wandering opportunities. Your compliments and satisfaction are the best reward for us. Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback and we do hope to have the chance of welcoming you back to Meli Palace in the near future! Kind regards, Your Grecotel Meli Palace Guest Services Team
Read more
Guy S wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Although the hotel is off the beaten track, it is in a quiet location, a friendly welcome upon arrival. Food in the restaurant was different each day, there was something for everyone. The staff thought out hotel were hospitable and accommodating, friendly polite and professional. The room was dated, but clean, had a balcony, and as I wasn’t there to spend time in the room other than sleep, it was clean and functional, with fridge, safe, welcome bottle of wine, fresh fruit. Would I return or recommend this to family & friends? YES.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanos Karfopoulos, General Manager at Grecotel Meli Palace
Responded Oct 25, 2021
Dear Guy S, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review to Trip Advisor regarding you recent stay with us. Here at Meli Palace we consider all guest comments an important tool that enable us to constantly develop our level of services. Be assured that we more than appreciate your positive comments and your feedback does indeed strengthen us not only to continue, but to improve our efforts for providing luxuries and high standards of services to our honored guests. With best regards from Sissi, Your Grecotel Meli Palace Guest Services Department
Read more
DWD26 wrote a review Oct 2021
London, United Kingdom331 contributions123 helpful votes
Service and many aspects of the hotel were great but there were also some parts that were lacking. Overall we enjoyed our stay though but may try a different hotel next time. Rooms: clean and tidy but dated, not really a 4 star standard, plain white with 90s furniture and not even any art to spruce the look up. Critical point, rooms do not have wifi - in an age where youth hostels have free wifi, this is a huge oversight. The only free wifi is in public areas and on rainy days people are sat on the sofas. Hotel and amenities: the beach is lovely and secluded and a highlight of the hotel. Overall the hotel is small so apart from the beach, pool and bar. The spa was closed due to Covid. There is also a tennis court which is well maintained and rather beautiful surrounded by plants. Food and drink: for only having a single restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner it was decent. For each meal there was enough variety and it was only by day 6 we felt it was getting repetitive. It is a shame that there are no theme nights which would have made it more exciting. The drinks in the all inclusive were great and the variety was good. Cocktails were actually decent although during the day they are only served in plastic cups. Lastly the service was great. The staff were helpful and perhaps hampered by a dated hotel. You should note the hotel is 30 mins walk away from Sissi the nearest town so you do need taxis to get anywhere else or an hour to get to Malia.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanos Karfopoulos, General Manager at Grecotel Meli Palace
Responded Oct 25, 2021
Dear DWD26, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and for visiting Grecotel Meli Palace, it was our great pleasure having you with us! We are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your time with us and especially the staffs service and the food variety and quality. Your compliments and satisfaction are the best reward for us. We consider all guest comments an important tool that enables us to further develop our level of services. Therefore please be assured that we have well noted also your critical words and passed on to the responsible. Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback and we do hope to have the chance of welcoming you back to Meli Palace in the future. Kind regards, Your Grecotel Meli Palace Guest Services Team
Read more
Sloane wrote a review Oct 2021
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom19 contributions13 helpful votes
I’m here now day 3 with my family, firstly resort location, quite isolated I booked here thinking they had activities on the whole time but that’s not the case. Weather hasn’t been great today 13/10/21 and appears unless it’s sunshine the hotel comes to a standstill, nothing for kids to do indoors. Pool is freezing but clean and due to time of year children’s pool is ok but missing tiles in pool my granddaughter cut her foot! It needs to be fixed. I thought there’d be an entertainment team on but doesn’t appear to be and I did check before arrival? So not sure where everyone is I’ve done water aerobics though. Rooms are not 4 star more 3 star, clean basic, but have what you need but I’ve stayed in nicer 3 star rooms than this one. Conflicting staff and what you can and can’t do, yes you can play with a ball passing in pool one day and have a bottle of water at the table during meal times. Next day you can’t play pass the ball even though pool is practically empty and can’t have a bottle of water. You can’t get your own drinks at meal times so have to wait to be served I’ve been to 2 hotels during Covid this was never an issue. No idea why they do it here as you can be half way through meal before you have a drink.I don’t agree that during eating times people should be allowed to smoke in dining area very off putting. Food nice and tasty very few allergen or ingredient lists on food which should be on view. Good kids disco on a night, yet to see if night time entertainment lives up to reviews of hotel. I’d say this is a 3 star hotel. Nice staff nice location but basic rooms and facilities, and quiet location!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanos Karfopoulos, General Manager at Grecotel Meli Palace
Responded Oct 25, 2021
Dear ah8644, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write an informative review to Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our gastronomy and our family disco in our outdoors amphitheater, held by our entertainment team. Our kids club is located outdoors during this season as per Grecotel’s and government restrictions due to Covid-19. Concerning daily entertainment, the complete program is posted daily on the information board at the Lobby area (6 days per week) in addition to volleyball or football and water aerobics, our hotel offers, step aerobics, power workout, yoga, stretching and meditation classes, weather permitting. As for our restaurant it’s divided into three zones: indoor, outdoor and outdoor smoking areas with ventilation. Thus, we take into account the needs and desires of all our guests and offer seating as per their preferences. We wish you had communicated with our reception or guest relations department concerning your questions during your stay, so we could have solved most of your issues on the spot. We want to thank you again for your feedback and hope to get another chance to welcome you back to Meli Palace, to prove that some of your impressions were merely accidental. Sincerely, Your Grecotel Meli Palace Guest Services Team
Read more
monkiflops wrote a review Oct 2021
london14 contributions11 helpful votes
We had a family room for 3 nights in August. We were shocked at how bad the room was. Stuffy, dark and dated (the bathroom was what I would have expected from a 2 star hotel). Clearly these rooms havent been updated in 20 years. The balcony of the family room was not safe for a small child as they could easily have fallen through the bars (how can you call this a family room when you havent even thought of this?). So we had to keep the door shut to stop our toddler falling off! The room was also facing the front of the hotel on the ground floor so we had a view of weeds/overgrown plants (I am not exaggerating. Be careful not to get a room facing the courtyard as everyone can see straight in (unless on the upper floors), also it will be noisy when they have music in the evenings. The kids club was not very good. No disrespect to the 2 running it but they were quite young and it was not well organised like any others we have been to. Not a lot for children to do here. The good: The staff were brilliant. Very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. I wouldnt normally write a negative review like this, but for the high price (and compared to other parts of the hotel) we had expected a lot more from the room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not have a room looking onto the courtyard/centre of hotel (unless from an upper floor). No...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanos Karfopoulos, General Manager at Grecotel Meli Palace
Responded Oct 24, 2021
Dear Monkiflops, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding you recent stay with us. We consider all our guest comments an important tool that enables us to further develop our level of services. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and gastronomy, we are glad that you were satisfied with our daily efforts to contribute to a wonderful holiday experience for all our guests. Unfortunately you were not satisfied with the room type booked; besides we don’t have any record about you informing us during your stay about your room issues and that you were not satisfied with the allocated room, so we could have offered you alternative accommodation according to the booking situation. We would like to point out that the bars on the balconies of our rooms are of a standard size and comply with current local safety regulations. Generally all evening entertainment is quite restricted this year due to Grecotel’s and the government’s Covid-19 protocols to only twice a week, and in case the performance ends at 23h latest, while family disco is on 6 days a week for one hour and quite popular by most of the children attending. As for the children's entertainment program in the children's club, it is presented on the hotel's information board and is also customized by our staff to the in-house guests preferences and age groups. During all season, our qualified, multi-lingual personnel offer affectionate and careful supervision for children from 4 to 12 years old, not for toddlers, for selected hours (morning/afternoon) each day six times weekly. Keeping your children’s safety as our number one priority, all kids’ activities and services are adjusted for the season 2021. Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback and we do hope to have the chance of welcoming you back to Meli Palace in the future, in order to show you that this previous experience was merely incidental. With kind regards from Sissi, Your Meli Palace Guest Relations Department
Read more
Oana Elena S wrote a review Sep 2021
Timisoara, Romania107 contributions3 helpful votes
Our last visit was in 2017 and we came back this year. We felt very safe and comfortable because the Covid 19 safety measures were respected: use of masks indoors and gloves when taking the food. Even though the entertainment team had less members (because of the Covid restrictions) the program addressed families with children (clowns), dj for adults on Monday and Thursday and great exercise with Marianna during aqua gym and stepper classes. You can also play beach volleyball, table tennis, balls or only enjoy laying in the sun on the private beach or at the pool. Food was diverse and tasty with fresh ingredients. Staff is very nice and friendly. You can choose to rent a car and visit the neighborhood: Malia, Aghios Nikolaos, Heraklion or make a tour of Greek monasteries.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanos Karfopoulos, General Manager at Grecotel Meli Palace
Responded Sep 19, 2021
Dear Oana Elena, Thank you very much for your positive review and recommendation in TripAdvisor and your kind words about our hotel, our gastronomy and staff! We are very happy, that you had a great time during your stay with us! Our guest’s safety is our top priority. Therefore Grecotel has implemented very strict Covid19 protocols to regulate all activities, entertainment and services and we try very hard to limit any practical consequences or for our honored guests. Thank you very much for honoring our approach with your positive assessment. Only if our guests are all happy we are satisfied at the end of the day! We will be most delighted to see you back here with us soon! Sincerely, Your Grecotel Meli Palace Guest Services Team
Read more
Tricia R wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Rooms very basic. Avoid 232/233/234. Postage size balconies with no privacy and no view. Nice bath-no plug Food average-very poor vegetarian options Staff very helpful Wine ok Bring swim shoes-stony beach!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanos Karfopoulos, General Manager at Grecotel Meli Palace
Responded Sep 19, 2021
Dear triciar325, Thank you for visiting Grecotel Meli Palace and for your kind words about our staff. We regret that you were not content with the balcony of the room category you have booked and that we were not informed by you, so we could offer an alternate accommodation suited to your needs. Concerning food, we are sorry that we did not quite meet your tastes and preferences, in contrast to the vast majority of our guests. Our menus are daily varied, including but not limited to a wide range of plain salads, vegetables, nuts, seeds, dried fruits and several vegetarian dishes. If guests have special dietary preferences, the Guest Services and F&B team are happy to arrange alternate dishes for them. Our secluded beach is sandy on the shore with a mix of sand, pebbles and few rocks at the seabottom, which makes it an interesting aquatic environment and fish habitat great for snorkeling, whereas swimming shoes are available in our mini market at discounted prices. Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback and we do hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Meli Palace in the near future. With best regards, Your Grecotel Meli Palace Guest Services Team
Read more
Carom wrote a review Sep 2021
Eyguieres, France2 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed almost two week at Meli Palace and it’s hard to find superlatives to describe the holidays. The landscape is so beautiful with a great beach and view on the mountains, the food is excellent with lots of local specialities every day and super drinks (thank you Niko!) which is rarely the case in an all inclusive hotel. From the hotel you can walk to Sissi a nice little village nearby and go to a sand beach in Malia (only 20 minutes walk on the other side). There is a ping pong table at the hotel and free kayaks on the beach and the life guard is so great, he provided a lot of informations. All the staff of the hotel is no nice and helpful, we were so well received. A special thanks to Michallis, Irene and Svetlana for their kindness. And finally a very good entertainment team with team leader Andreas, always full of energy and smile. Thank you everyone
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanos Karfopoulos, General Manager at Grecotel Meli Palace
Responded Sep 19, 2021
Dear, carom1377, We are flattered to read your magnificent comments and we feel honored that we could contribute our part to your perfect vacation at Grecotel Meli Palace. We are very happy to read, that you enjoyed not only our facilities and services, but also our quiet and peaceful Cretan natural surroundings. Special thanks for your kind words about our staff, we strongly believe that personal services, attention to detail, comfort and individuality as well as the genuine Cretan Hospitality are the hallmarks of our hotel. We would like to thank you once more for your feedback and we do hope to have the chance of welcoming you back to Meli Palace in the future. With best regards, Your Grecotel Meli Palace Guest Services Team
Read more
Poseidon K wrote a review Sep 2021
Nottingham, United Kingdom1 contribution
My wife and I had a one week stay at Meli Palace. It was a very relaxing and fun stay. The staff were amazing. Special kudos to the Entertainment Manager - Andrew. He really went out of his way to offer a great set of activities throughout the day and evening. From aqua gym to DJ nights with a great selection of music stayed. I can say I left having made a new friend. Would highly recommend Meli Palace and the staff and especially Andrew!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanos Karfopoulos, General Manager at Grecotel Meli Palace
Responded Sep 19, 2021
Dear poseidonk2016, Congratulation once more for your wedding and all the best for your future together! Many thanks for choosing Grecotel Meli Palace for your honeymoon and for sharing your impressions and positive assessment. We are happy that you had a great week with us and that you were particularly pleased with the staff, service and entertainment. Your comments and satisfaction are the best reward for us. Best regards and looking forward to welcoming you back here with us soon! Your Grecotel Meli Palace Guest Services
Read more
Nauris Ž wrote a review Aug 2021
Vilnius, Lithuania1 contribution2 helpful votes
Wonderful hotel. Very good sound isolation in the rooms. Rooms are spacious. Nice garden with a lot of flowers. Big swimming pool. Very close to the sandy Beach. Staff is amazing! Big choise of very tasty food. Snorkeling with amazing view. It was a great time!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanos Karfopoulos, General Manager at Grecotel Meli Palace
Responded Aug 14, 2021
Dear Nauris Z We are flattered receiving your excellent comments for our hotel and we feel honored that we have contributed our part to your perfect vacation at Grecotel Meli Palace with its beautiful Cretan nature surrounding, its secluded beach location and breathtaking sunsets over the sea at this time of the year. We strongly believe that personal services, attention to detail, comfort and individuality as well as the genuine Cretan Hospitality are the hallmarks of our hotel. Your compliments and satisfaction are indeed the most precious reward for us. Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grecotel Meli Palace soon! Sincerely, Your Grecotel Meli Palace Guest Services Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$137 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grecotel meli palace hotel lassithi prefecture, hellenic palace crete
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hellenic Palace
LOCATION
GreeceCreteLasithi PrefectureSissi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
156
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grecotel Meli Palace
Which popular attractions are close to Grecotel Meli Palace?
Nearby attractions include Squeeze Bar (2.3 miles), Help Bar (2.3 miles), and The Jolly Roger (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grecotel Meli Palace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grecotel Meli Palace?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Grecotel Meli Palace?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grecotel Meli Palace?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grecotel Meli Palace?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lithos Taverna, Portego, and Geitonia Malia - Cretan Creative Cuisine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grecotel Meli Palace?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Grecotel Meli Palace have airport transportation?
Yes, Grecotel Meli Palace offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grecotel Meli Palace?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grecotel Meli Palace?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Grecotel Meli Palace?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Megali Vrisi (Great Fountain) (4.8 miles).