We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sands Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sands Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Queen Creek, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

This motel has the most comfortable beds in any motel my husband and I have ever slept in while traveling. They have a comforter (duvet) on each bed and you feel like you are sleeping in the clouds. They also have a love seat to relax in and watch TV versus hard backed chairs in other motels. They are new... More 

Helpful?
Thank vjroyalnelson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

so i have stayed here three times now and i must say this family owened motel is a great place to stay.The ladies in the office are very nice and helpful. since my last stay they have remodeled four rooms that are absolutley beautiful ! every room is very clean and big with fridge,keurig and microwave. you can walk everywhere... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara B
Midlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

After 2 nights travelling and experiencing 2 truly awful hotels we were so pleased to finally arrive at The Sands Motel and we were not disappointed. The rooms have been renovated to a very high standard, extremely clean and have lots of thoughtful extras together with excellent quality bedding and towels. The motel itself is situated in the "Historic Downtown... More 

Helpful?
Thank ryandaughter
Rosedale, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly and accommodating as we where travelling with a group and needed 4 rooms. Rooms are large, clean and bright . Everything you need is in the room and I have to say the bedding and linens are top of the line. This will be on are stop list travelling back and forth from Mexico

Helpful?
Thank Tudor17
Jennifer R, Owner at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks you for staying and for the wonderful comments! We will be sure to get you a newly renovated room on your next stay. Happy Holidays! Jennifer More 

London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2016

I don't often come to a dead halt when I open a hotel room and it's usually for the wrong reasons. But at the Sands it was because the room wasn't at all what I expected - in fact, it was far, far better! I stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms and it was a gem. Decorated in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane M
Jennifer R, Owner at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments! We are so happy that you enjoyed the new rooms! Please come see us again when you are in the US! Best regards, Jennifer The Sands Motel motelbouldercity.com More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2016

We stayed at the Sands Motel for two nights. Our room was remodeled in a more modern look which made sure there were plenty of outlets for electronics (including ones with usb ports!) The bathroom was small but well planned and I really loved the small extra sitting room in back to make coffee with a microwave and fridge. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rhianna W
Jennifer R, Owner at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback! I hope we see you again in the future! Jeni More 

Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise this hotel was! Charming, friendly, accommodating staff. Decor was lovely, room was spotlessly clean, we loved everything about the place. Would absolutely make it a point to stay again. Don't look anywhere else in Boulder City!

Helpful?
1 Thank LoriGaryTessa
Jennifer R, Owner at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Wow! We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay ! We are so pleased that you appreciate the fine touches and love that we have put into our little place in the sun. Thank you !! We hope to see you soon! Jennifer Motelbouldercity.com More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

Booked this as trip adviser reviews were great. Positives: good location, clean, nice linen and towels, nice welcome, great price. Negatives: water in bathroom sink not working, quite dated, was very hot and stuffy, there is one aircon system in the bedroom but this sparked when plugged in so was too scared to use it, didnt drink the water as... More 

Helpful?
Thank KabbyMelbourne
Jennifer R, Owner at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Hello! I am so sorry that you were in one of our older rooms! Please know if you return we will discount 50% off of your rate. Thank you for the nice comments about the Spa towels and new linens that all rooms enjoy! We value your feedback and we are working to make sure all rooms are renovated as... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

Room seemed nice enough for the price we paid, and is in good proximity to a nice diner. However, it was so hot and stuffy in the rooms that it was almost impossible to get to sleep. Overall it was okay but if you are passing through in summer definitely bring a fan or see if they have any rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hayley H
Jennifer R, Owner at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Greetings! It sounds like we dropped the ball! Please allow us to make it right! Please contact me so that I can make this right! I am so sorry that you had a bad experience! I hope you will give us the opportunity to show the kind of product and service you deserve. Thank you, Jennifer 702.293.2589 sandsmotel@cox.net More 

Boaz
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

Reviews on Trip Advisor made me confident to reserve sight unseen. We stayed in recently renovated spacious, non-smoking Rm. Twelve. Had a little kitchenette. Kind of retro '50's. Only complaint was a tiny bathroom sink. Pic attached.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie V
Jennifer R, Owner at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great response! Love that you enjoyed our midcentury modern rooms! Hope to see you again! Jennifer motelbouldercity.com 702.293.2589 More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder City
4.0 mi away
Hoover Dam Lodge
Hoover Dam Lodge
#2 of 8 in Boulder City
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boulder Dam Hotel
Boulder Dam Hotel
#1 of 8 in Boulder City
458 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Boulder City
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Las Vegas/henderson
3.9 mi away
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
#19 of 26 in Henderson
168 reviews
12.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Henderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Closest Motel to Hoover Dam / Lake Mead - Located in the Heart of Historic Boulder City, this Mid Century Motel featuring Keurig Coffee makers and William Roam bath Amenities is walking distance to all the best restaurants and bars! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sands Motel

Address: 809 Nevada Highway, Boulder City, NV 89005
Location: United States > Nevada > Boulder City
Price Range: $78 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Motel Boulder City
Sands Hotel Boulder City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sands Motel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Kings Beach, California, United States
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sands Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles ryandaughter, 1 week ago | Read review
“all on one flor”
 of 5 bubbles georgerG4811AS, Sep 8, 2016 | Read review
“You HAVE to peek into the room(s) to understand how nice they really are done.”
 of 5 bubbles cmayches, Aug 8, 2016 | Read review
“You can ask for a remodeled room”
 of 5 bubbles KristenM420, Jul 30, 2016 | Read review
“Quiet, clean, accessible rooms with luxury towels. Close to many attractions.”
 of 5 bubbles 195tatianad, May 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay