We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Westmark Anchorage

Hotel website
720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Special Price
Book Direct Save 10%!
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Westmark Anchorage
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
John Day, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Did not enjoy my stay here! Checked out early and went to another hotel! Plumbing problems! I do not recommend this place! Tub backed up! No cold water in the second room they gave us! Then on the third day they woke us up at 7:40 in the morning with the fire alarm system! They said they were changing a... More 

Helpful?
Thank bnsf7909
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear bnsf7909 I am so sorry about the problems you encountered while staying with us, After the Earthquake we did have a few problems with the plumbing which you tend to find out not right after an Earthquake in the winter but when the Temp. gets up over 33 degrees and this was the case, it takes a few days... More 

Chugiak, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay here often when we need a place to stay downtown. Location is ideal and close to all of the downtown festivities. The rooms are clean. The bar is stocked. The staff is always friendly and it's good to see the same faces. See you guys next time!

Helpful?
Thank Buddy K
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear Buddy K It is always a pleasure to have you as our Guest Buddy,we appreciate that you have a lot of choice when you come into Anchorage and we are delighted that you choose the Westmark Anchorage when you stay.See you again in the near future. Sincerely More 

Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location in downtown Anchorage. Lots of hot water, free wifi and a particularly attentive staff. I thought it was a good bargain considering what other hotels in the area charge. The view in the upper floor is terrific.

Helpful?
Thank john99801
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear John 99801 Thank you so much your kind words, so many people say how well positioned we are to everything downtown and we like to think that we price ourselves as reasonable for our guests.We hope you return again soon. Yours Sincerely More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a nice surprise in the middle of nowhere. Room was clean and quite. Restaurants was OK too. Prices were high but food was included in our trip. Desk staff was friendly and helpful too. Within walking distance to downtown area. Not much downtown though.

Helpful?
Thank Dick F
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear Dick F Thank you for your kind words, this time of year not a lot going on downtown on the weekdays but always something going on each and every weekend and then of course we have Fur Rondy and the Iditarod coming up right before the season kicks off, we hope you will come back and take in one... More 

Evansdale, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Stayed at Westmark Anchorage 1 nite. It was was the start point of a Holland America land cruise of Alaska and the Yukon. The hotel is in serious need of upgrading. It describes itself as a luxury grade hotel but I can't say that I saw it. Stayed at 3 other places in Anchorage while there prior to stating tour... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamesla2015
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear jamesla2015 I am sorry your stay was not to your satisfaction, little surprized you waited so long to tell us about your stay last summer, if you had contacted us we would have tried to enhance your experience, I do hope that if you come back this way you will let us know and we will do everything we... More 

Travelers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was good, but the menu was small. The restaurant staff was nice and friendly. The rooms need to be updated. This is the View from room. Close to lots of restaurants and shopping. 5th ave mall close by.

Helpful?
Thank fairbanksmoosemanor
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear fairbanksmoose Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your mosr recent stay here at the Westmark Anchorage, as you say we are very close to everything being right in the heart of downtown, I will pass along your email to our team, as we all take great pride in making our guests feel welcome and wanted, we hope... More 

Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015

Perfect for downtown Anchorage, across from one of the best restaurants in town. Very helpful Staff, very clean rooms, convenient parking and very secure. Thank you Carol, Alex, Timoti and other staff!

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia F
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear Patricia F As always, thank you for your kind words, I will pass them on to the team, always a pleasure to have you stay with us, hope you had a good Holiday, and see you again soon. Yours Sincerely More 

Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

We were on a cruise tour so we didn't have the option of choosing a hotel, this was picked by Holland America. Although we had a comfy and quiet room (except for the huge ice machine outside of our door) the lobby area really needs updating!

Helpful?
1 Thank AZworldtraveler
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear AZworldtraveler That makes two of us! are you sure you are talking about the Westmark Anchorage? as we have a granite tile floor and carpet in our Lobby? However we will be renovating the Lobby this winter ,but we will not be putting Linoleum down! Thank you for your kind other comments regarding the Hotel. Yours Sincerely More 

BROOMFIELD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

The hotel was very nice, clean, comfortable, quiet rooms with decent views. Staff was very friendly and the restaurant was good, too. The meal portions were large, food was served at appropriate temperatures and servers were polite and attentive. We were pleasantly surprised to find that our room had a balcony with chairs.

Helpful?
Thank lakotamom
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear Lakotamom Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, all of us are happy that you enjoyed your brief stay with us, Yes we are the only Hotel in downtown that have balconies that you can go outside and look at the great views!. We hope that we see you again soon and for a little longer stay so... More 

Bellingham, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

We stayed at this hotel at the end of a trip to Alaska this summer. While we are grateful that Holland America allowed us to join our family (who had taken the cruise) later on the tour, this hotel was a HUGE disappointment. The bed was uncomfortable and it sounded like we had a tour bus idling in our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valerie K
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear Valerie K I am sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations but glad that we were able to get you into the Hotel to be with your family when we were in a sellout situation. I wish you had let us know sooner about your displeasure and we hopefully could have tried to move... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
1:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Downtown
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#7 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#25 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#8 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#23 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#24 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay