We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hotel Captain Cook

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (697)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (527)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 70 hotels in Anchorage
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
Travelers' Choice
Located in downtown Anchorage Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 546 luxury accommodations offer stunning views of the Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. The Hotel Captain Cook, Preferred Hotels and Resorts, and Historic Hotels 2018 Hotel of Year welcome you to experience excellence.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Chinese and 4 more
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,485 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Hotel Captain Cook has garnered a reputation for its grand atmosphere, complete with striking murals and rich wood paneling. While guests have found the location to be a highlight, situated conveniently close to various local attractions, opinions on service and value show a divide—some commend the promptness of the staff, whereas others have had less than favorable encounters. Room experiences also vary, with cleanliness being a consistent plus, yet noise levels and the need for modernization have been noted. The amenities, including comfortable beds and an array of dining options, are well-received, although some suggest they could benefit from an update.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Opulent
Rooms
Dated
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
2485Reviews56Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,139
  • 919
  • 269
  • 95
  • 63
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Adrienne K wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
The Hotel Captain Cook is a very fine Hotel in Anchorage, Alaska. I booked a room for my family to watch the Annual Fur Rondy Fireworks a couple months in advance. I checked in at least four times to make sure we got a room with view of the fireworks. When we arrived, the room looked to the Inlet, but when we started hearing the fireworks we could not see them and had to go across the hall and see them in the window by the elevator. We politely told the front desk afterwords about the situation and were told we did not check in early enough to get a room with the view. Check in is at 4:00 and we checked in a little after five. We will definitely go elsewhere next year.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Suz T wrote a review Feb 2024
Alaska316 contributions72 helpful votes
We've been to Anchorage several times but had never stayed at the Hotel Captain Cook before. We were impressed. The service was top-notch, from the valet parking staff to the servers at The Pantry to the front desk staff. Our suite was clean and comfortable. Loved the bed pillows---I removed a pillow case to see if I could find the brand, but couldn't, and forgot to ask the front desk when we checked out. The hotel itself was quiet---no internal noises and no street noises to disturb. Enjoyed the shops and if we'd had time to eat at The Crow's Nest or Fletcher's, I'm sure we'd have enjoyed those as well. It's within walking distance of the Egan Center and we felt safe walking those two blocks in the evening for the events we were attending. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Tim W wrote a review Feb 2024
Cleburne, Texas118 contributions53 helpful votes
Having looked for online reviews of this hotel, we were still struck by the beauty and elegance of it. You're immediately captured by the sight of literally acres of beautiful wood paneling and details and an overall feeling of luxury. A very helpful and friendly hotel staff made check-in easy. Rooms (we opted for a junior suite) were very well appointed and comfortable. BTW: the cost of the upgrade was very reasonable. Stores on the main floor showcase local art and artists, and definitely worth visiting during your stay. And plan to spend some time viewing the myriad of artwork located throughout the main floor and subfloor. Very comfortable stay. Will DEFINITELY consider staying here again during our next trip to Anchorage.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Maggie H wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Sink leaked, toilet used to leak, bathroom was dirty, the photos they use to advertise their "athletic club" are...not photos of the actual gym?!?@? Also, if you love old fashioned ugly "paintings" of white racists ...this hotel is for you 🤮🤢
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Companion653426 wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Would not go there again as we have been there twice before each time it’s going down.This time we gave it another chance but it was worse than ever The food is limited and when you git it’s cold.There’s no microwave to warm it up the room was all splashes up the wall and the carpet was badly stained the bed had a piece of wood sticking out and they do weddings and we were kept awake till three am .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Stay away as there is plenty more hotels nicer for same price
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Morgan Rogers, Marketing at The Hotel Captain Cook
Responded Dec 5, 2023
Hi Companion653426, We deeply regret to learn about your disappointing experiences during your recent visits. Your feedback is genuinely concerning, and we sincerely apologize for the numerous inconveniences you encountered with the food quality, room conditions, and disturbances during your stay. Rest assured, we take your comments seriously and will promptly address these issues to ensure such lapses are rectified and do not recur in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust and provide you with a much-improved experience should you consider giving us another chance in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
puck021 wrote a review Sep 2023
Minneapolis, Minnesota75 contributions60 helpful votes
This is an older, semi fancy hotel, not a new business hotel or a luxury resort. If you set your expectations appropriately you will likely have a great stay. We stayed for 5 nights in an upgraded junior suite (2 rooms, 2 TVs, mountain and water views.). All in all our stay was very good and we would return. Pros: - Large, clean rooms with comfortable beds, bedding, and pillows. - Large bathroom, large towels, good soap and shampoo, and lots of water pressure. - Super friendly staff - Fast and easy check-in - Modern coffee shop with lots of seating and places to work. The breakfast sandwich and burrito were pretty good, but not better than the ones from the Snow City Cafe a block away. - The pizza at Fletchers was great. - The whole place has a tiki feel and a tiki feeling bar would be an amazing addition. Cons - The lobby lacks seating and is filled throughout the day with people waiting for cruises. The mass of people hanging out or sleeping destroys any vibe of comfort or luxury. - There is no lobby bar and not good place to hang out with a beverage. You can get drinks at Fletchers but it is crowded and you have to wait to be seated. - The bar on the roof in The Crows nest is cool but uses the same system as Fletchers and doesn't allow you to hang out without being assigned a seat. - The breakfast restaurant sits empty all day after like 11am. That spot would make a perfect bar the rest of the day. -Food prices were reasonable for Anchorage but drink prices are outrageous compared to everywhere else in town. - The rooms could use updating. The carpet and furnishings are aging.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Street parking was widely available, but there a lot of homeless with mental or chemical issues. ...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Morgan Rogers, Marketing at The Hotel Captain Cook
Responded Oct 9, 2023
Hi puck021, Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback about your recent stay. We appreciate your positive comments about our large, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and the amenities available. We're constantly striving to improve the guest experience, and your suggestions regarding additional seating in the lobby, a dedicated bar area, and room updates are duly noted. We'll use your feedback to enhance our offerings and ensure a more enjoyable stay for future guests. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide an even better experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
roadwarrierMD wrote a review Sep 2023
Cary, North Carolina225 contributions186 helpful votes
This is a large, family owned, family run hotel in downtown Anchorage. The family were early boosters of Anchorage after the 1964 earthquake, former governor of Alaska. When I was looking for a hotel for a night to start our land tour, I found all the Anchorage hotels fairly expensive, so why not stay at the "grand dame"? The hotel is one of those places that is "dated but dignified"-rooms are small, not updated, but it has everything you need, and staff are nice. Info on Captain Cook and his journeys are scattered throughout the hotel. They have male and female fitness centers (odd for 2024!). Its a unique and very "Alaska" experience to stay here, glad we did. Just don't expect a lot in terms of the hotel itself and you'll enjoy it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Morgan Rogers, Marketing at The Hotel Captain Cook
Responded Oct 9, 2023
Hi roadwarrierMD, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We're delighted to hear that you appreciated the unique and "Alaska" charm of our family-owned hotel with its historical significance. We are pleased to hear that you found everything you needed and that our staff made your stay enjoyable. We value your feedback and hope you left with fond memories of your time here in Anchorage. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another taste of Alaska's history and hospitality.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pbebbs3 wrote a review Sep 2023
Seattle, Washington7 contributions1 helpful vote
A comfortable and historical hotel close to downtown Anchorage is challenging to find. I’ve stayed at hotel captain cook several times on business trips and enjoyed each stay, learning more about the explorer each time. Inside often feels like you are inside a old wooden ship. Food is solid at fletchers as well as coffee at the cafe. The fitness club is unparalleled in terms of similar offerings in the area but certainly could use a renovation. The rooms and beds are cozy but also are tired in terms of decor. Water pressure in the shower was excellent though. We enjoyed cocktails and appetizers at the hotel’s top of their building restaurant called crows nest at sunset and enjoyed everything. We were about to grab a table in the lounge right away. It’s always best to make a reservation if you want to experience it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Street parking is plentiful around the hotel if valet isn’t important.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Morgan Rogers, Marketing at The Hotel Captain Cook
Responded Sep 18, 2023
HI Pbebbs3, Thank you for your continued patronage and your wonderfully kind words about your experiences at Hotel Captain Cook. We're delighted to hear that you appreciate our historical charm and central location. Your feedback regarding the fitness club and room decor is noted, and we are actively working to enhance these aspects. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and recommend making a reservation for the Crow's Nest for an even more memorable visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Christopher L wrote a review Sep 2023
Hewitt, New Jersey845 contributions332 helpful votes
The place looks beat up. All finishes are worn and tired. When we first checked in room safe was not working - we let them know and they fixed it. Clocks in room wet set at different times, neither was close, I reset them. The toilet was not flushing at all - I did not realize this till 11PM at bedtime so I was not going to have them fix it then - we flushed it with a trash basket filled with water from the tub. I reported it in the morning and an attempt to fix it was made - it now flushed but did not rinse the bowl - so back to the trash basket filled from the tub. I was not going to bother reporting it again. They though they fixed it. At 6:30 in the morning there was a 20 minute wait for a table for two for breakfast - too long to wait when you have things to do. I’m not sure how they fix that except maybe opening the other lobby restaurant. There are way too many cruise ship guests in the hotel - it cheapens the whole vibe, and I only figured that out after realizing they did not know how to fix a toilet. There are no porters greeting guests, unless you arrive in a cruise ship bus. Sad part is this is supposedly the better hotel in town. Maybe I expected too much - I won’t be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Morgan Rogers, Marketing at The Hotel Captain Cook
Responded Sep 18, 2023
Hi CJLNYC1962, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us, and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your comments are invaluable in helping us improve our services. We understand your frustrations and are disappointed that we fell short of your expectations. Rest assured, we will address these issues promptly to ensure a more pleasant experience for future guests. We hope you reconsider and give us another opportunity to provide you with a more satisfying stay in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alanna H wrote a review Sep 2023
2 contributions
This is a beautiful hotel with very good restaurants. We ordered breakfast in our room and found the service to be quick and the food was delicious. The linens on the beds were like sleeping on silk! Employees are friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Would love to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Morgan Rogers, Marketing at The Hotel Captain Cook
Responded Sep 5, 2023
Hi 380alannah, Thank you for your kind words and for choosing our hotel during your Alaska land tour. We're delighted that you had a beautiful stay with us and enjoyed our delicious breakfast, luxurious linens, and the expertise of our friendly staff. . We can't wait to welcome you back for another stay, and we'll strive to make it just as enjoyable as this one!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Anchorage area.
PRICE RANGE
$224 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
captain cook anchorage, hotel captain cook, captain cook hotel
LOCATION
United StatesAlaskaAnchorage
NUMBER OF ROOMS
546
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HOTEL CAPTAIN COOK - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Anchorage, AK)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hotel Captain Cook
Which popular attractions are close to The Hotel Captain Cook?
Nearby attractions include Alaska Escape Rooms (0.2 miles), Tony Knowles Coastal Trail (0.3 miles), and Resolution Park (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hotel Captain Cook?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Hotel Captain Cook?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Hotel Captain Cook?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hotel Captain Cook?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hotel Captain Cook?
Conveniently located restaurants include 49th State Brewing - Anchorage, Snow City Cafe, and International House of Hot Dogs.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Hotel Captain Cook?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Hotel Captain Cook?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Hotel Captain Cook offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hotel Captain Cook?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hotel Captain Cook?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Earthquake Park (2.7 miles), Oscar Anderson House Museum (0.2 miles), and Anchorage Memorial Park Cemetery (0.9 miles).