We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Alaska Backpackers Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Alaska Backpackers Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 238: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stay in hostels ALL the time. Calling yourself a hostel is not an excuse for the disgusting and disturbing conditions this place charges an exorbitant amount for. This is an SOR building for transients, vagrants, homeless people, etc. As a woman I did not feel safe with the shady men lurking outside constantly. Our mattress did not fit on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place was ok. Dorm room was a bit cramped and the private room was no where near worth $100usd. This is a good last resort hostel. The only real problem was the location. There were some unsavoury characters around the corner. Dont turn left at the main road. Only turn right toward the CBD. Then you are fine.

Helpful?
Thank Marc B
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

I got over 200 bed bug bites all over my body while at this hostel. I immediately asked for a refund but was told that it was impossible with their system and that I would be mailed a check. 3 weeks later and many phone calls, I still have not gotten a straight response from the manager and have not... More 

Helpful?
Thank laurenm92016
AlaskaBackpackersInn, General Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hostel and to inform us of the problems you have experienced. We have contacted you via a private message, please take the time to look into it and contact us. We hope to be able to resolve this problem with your refund as soon as possible.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Minnesota
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

This is one of the worst hostels I've ever stayed in around the world. The area is not downtown, but a few blocks east in an area with empty buildings and it does not feel safe to walk around there. Staff are disorganized and very focused on taking smoke breaks. Rooms are not clean. There are only two individual bathrooms... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lora18
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Front Office Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. Your feedback is very important to us. We do our best to provide clean and safe lodging plus the lowest rates possible for downtown Anchorage. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Our hostel is located in downtown Anchorage on 4th Ave and Eagle St- 1 block away... More 

County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Fortunately for this place, hotels in anchorage are extremely overpriced so for many travellers this place is the only financially viable option. However, you do not get bang for your buck. The posters and information they give explaining the difference between hotels and hostels is a poor attempt to excuse the low standards they offer. Beds are uncomfortable, exposed plug... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ita D
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Front Office Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ita D. Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback in regards to your stay in our hostel. We would like to note that we do our best to keep all travelers basic needs met for a very low price in downtown Anchorage. We do offer not only beds with bedding, a large shared kitchen, big common... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

The standard if this hostel is below acceptable. Yes hostels are basic but this place is nowhere near value for money. It is advertised as having wifi, this is NOT TRUE. When I asked the girl at reception why it wasn't working, she was extremely rude and I was told go review it somewhere. The rooms are extremely basic. Beds... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie M
AlaskaBackpackersInn, General Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marie M, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and to point out all the areas that need attention and improvement. Most importantly we would like to apologize about your bad experience with our front desk staff. We want to assure you that this has been addressed and will be discussed with our staff once again.... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

This was our first time in a Hostel and was not a very pleasant experience. We were in Anchorage only to spend the night and wanted to save few bucks and picked a private room in this hostel. The room was pretty dirty and had a bad stuffy smell. we opened the windows but could hear every thing outside. Bathrooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank sremarsu
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. Your feedback is very important to us. We do our best to provide clean and safe lodging plus the lowest rates possible for downtown Anchorage. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are in our peak summer season and we want to let you know that we... More 

Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

I keep going back to the pack, mostly because of the management. The prices are low, but the place is clean & fun.. They will accommodate you, no matter your situation... They don't try and rip you of durring the so called 'summer months '... John K.

Helpful?
1 Thank Halvy101
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy to have you as one of our regular guests. Our team at Alaska Backpackers Inn works hard to provide everyone with a pleasant and clean place to stay which also offers an affordable rate during the peak summer season. More 

Unalaska, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016

April 19, 2016 There are actually four structures that comprise the Alaska Backpacker’s Inn (ABI): The ABI Office and Annex One and Annex Two are on Eagle Street between 4th and 5th Avenues. The original ABI is a two-story structure at 327 Eagle Street between 3rd and 4th Avenues. This is the ABI at which most travelers and backpackers stay.... More 

Helpful?
Thank RoadPoet1
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jimmy, first of all we would like to also say thank you for choosing our hostel over the years and returning to us as one of our regular customers. We are happy to see that we have met your expectations for a place to stay in downtown Anchorage. We have updated our hostel and have decided to concentrate on... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

The hostel was very clean and The staff Lacey was very helpful. A fantastic place to stay for backpackers, Lacey was Amazing, she made sure my room was very clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone that is coming to Alaska. Very comfortable rooms and bathrooms. The morning coffee was delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Alfred N
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. Lacey is a great host and we are proud to have her as part of our team. We try our best to provide everyone with a pleasant stay. Our hostel offers basics such as 24 hours front desk,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.1 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
0.4 mi away
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
#40 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#17 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 1,558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 979 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anchorage's largest and most affordable HOSTEL!!!!! We are a HOSTEL (not a full service hotel) that offers discounted accommodations for all tastes and budgets. We offer the best value for your money in a clean, safe, fun and sociable environment. Save money to go on tours, backpacking, hiking, or whatever works for you!!! This is the perfect place to start your Alaskan Adventure. We are located in downtown Anchorage. We are right around the corner from the train and bus station. All tourist activities, shops, restaurants and nightlife are located within walking distance. It doesn't get any better than that!!!! The hostel consist of 2 buildings offering from dormitories to private rooms (shared bathroom). Each private room has one full size bed, their own TV and micro-fridge. Dorms have two bunks and they have lockers for guest to put their belongings while away (lock not provided). Dorm rooms also come with small TV and small fridge. Our private single rooms are priced for just one person and our private doubles is actually the same room but priced for a couple. If you want more privacy and still get the best deal in town!!!! Our hostel also has a reception house where travelers get to socialize and exchange adventures. We have a BBQ area with picnic tables and a fire pit for enjoying the great Alaskan summer. We encourage you to look for a better deal in the downtown area and you won't be able to find it! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alaska Backpackers Inn

Address: 327 Eagle St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2628
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range: $28 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Alaska Backpackers Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Alaska Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Backpackers Hotel Anchorage
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay