We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake

Traveler (189)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (20)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#6 of 75 hotels in Anchorage
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced. SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake is a beautiful lakefront lodging in Anchorage, Alaska offering mountain views in the heart of town. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, our hotel provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. Enjoy our great setting nestled at the base of the Chugach Mountain range.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Free airport transportation
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Quiet
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
51Somewhat walkable
Grade: 51 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
521Reviews
20Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 278
  • 185
  • 34
  • 9
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were initially placed in a lakeside room that was fully handicapped accessible. The screen on the window was torn, there were dried bodily fluids on the shower curtain and the floor of the accessible shower was dark and stained with dirt. I called the front desk clerk and asked for a different room due to the filth in the accessible room. In addition, I was shocked how an accessible room could be that unsanitary. The new room we were placed in was slightly fair, until I noticed crusty food stains on the couch. I went into the bathroom and was aware of pink mold stains in the shower with rust on the soap and shampoo racks. I also saw scattered hairs on the walls and an unidentified dried body fluid. When we showered, the drain became clogged and filled up almost to a flooding capacity. The continental breakfast was limited, presenting eggs, sausage, toast, bagels, wilted red grapes with degenerative bruises and sad looking strawberries. These unhealthy conditions were shocking. I am still dissatisfied with paying what I did for the stay. $650 is good money to throw for such filthy conditions. I will not be going back.
Read more
Response from Katelyn G, Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake
Responded yesterday
Thank you for the valuable feedback. We have shared your response with the appropriate hotel team.
Read more
One has to accept that Anchorage is expensive the summer. This, this chain hotel costs 2+ times what you might expect in a comparable lower 48 city. On the positive side, it's fairly standard Marriott, with an OK breakfast buffet and clean, albeit compact rooms. It is convenient for business events at the University or Tribal Authority, but not near anything else. But, it's next to a lovely lake. On the negative side we had no A/C for two warm days, but it was available on the third and the ice machine on our floor was kaput the whole time. To us, an OK experience in an overpriced city.
Read more
My new favourite cookie cutter chain. Friendly staff and a well optioned breakfast. Our room was to the back of the hotel with nice views of the lake. The rooms itself was very well laid out and very clean. it had a separate WC and shower area and both had their own sinks which we felt was a really well thought out design feature. And probably the most comfortable bed in 15 days of travel through Alaska! Excellent wifi all through the property.
Read more
The rooms were very spacious and the hotel overall is very upgraded. Front staff was courteous when we first arrived but things changed later in the day as we interacted with other staff. I had to wait 20 min plus to check out because they only had one person at the counter. One employee treated us badly when we were trying to use their cooler/fridge to store our food. We had confirmed with them before hand that they had room and spent over $600 (we live in bush Alaska) on groceries to then be told they did not have room. The employee kept saying “ is not my fault”? Very poor customer service. I have never waited so much to check out of a hotel. I travel to Anchorage often and I will no be staying here again. Also, there was hair on my towels even before I used them.
Read more
Response from Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake
Responded 3 weeks ago
In behalf of my team, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with the staff, this is not the level of service we wish to provide to our valued guests. Our goal is to ensure you had an enjoyable stay. This experience will definitely a learning tool for us, we hope you give us another chance to serve you in your future reservations with us. Thank you and have a great day! Amalia David Assistant General Manager
Read more
While touring Alaska we stayed at the SpringHill Suites upon our arrival and our departure. The rooms are very good and the staff is warm and welcoming. It is a good location to base your day trips while in the area. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown area where parking is expensive and hard to find at times. The continental breakfast is ok with your choice if cereal, scrambled eggs and fresh waffles.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$154 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
springhill suites anchorage university lake hotel anchorage
LOCATION
United StatesAlaskaAnchorage
NUMBER OF ROOMS
159
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing