We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
4050 University Lake Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

I stayed at this hotel on my first trip to Anchorage. Anchorage is somewhat odd in how it has been laid out over the years. The city itself is very spread out and the downtown portion is actually quite tiny. It is also quite old, which is charming in some aspects. However, staying outside of downtown was actually more convenient... More 

Helpful?
Thank derekakinnear
Colden, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015

I had booked this hotel specifically so my husband could enjoy the indoor pool. That was not to be which caused me to give the lower rating. Stayed here from 8/6-8/9/15. This place had gotten praise from a TA forum regular poster and it had a pool which is why I booked it. Cost for the 3 nights $803.04 continental... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chris45ny
Amalia D, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake. As a valued guest we see that there is a room for improvement based on your feedback. It looks like we missed several opportunities and we would like to express our apology to all the... More 

New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

I travel constantly, and Marriott staff are always nice. but the staff here is exceptionally friendly and it's not just a few, it's everyone. The maid seemed to pay attention to when guests would leave their room and clean as so not to bother you. Very impressed

Helpful?
Thank BugsyG
Amalia D, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing University Lake Springhill Suites by Marriott for your travelling needs. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us. Your nice comments about the staff is really inspiring, it boost our confidence and energy to perform at our best. Our number one priority is to provide and deliver the best customer service... More 

falls church va
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015

Our floor was incredibly noisy, with several families of young children who ran the hallways unattended (even blowing a whistle while they ran and banging on doors up and down the halls.) When we complained to the desk, they acknowledged seeing these kids running amok during breakfast, and they responded, but it did not stop the noise from restarting a... More 

Helpful?
Thank virginiafam55
Amalia D, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing University Lake Springhill Suites by Marriott for your travelling needs. In behalf of the entire team we apologize for the inconvenience you had with noise disturbances during your stay. This is not the level of service we wish to provide to all our valued guests, we always strive for excellence and your experience will definitely be... More 

Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

Physically this hotel is located in a beautifully wooded area nestled by a lake. Rooms are under renovation with new perks in the lobby, gym and breakfast areas. As fabulous the surroundings inside and out the most remarkable feature are the employees. When arriving to the hotel by shuttle know your safety is of concern & priority to Johnny and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
Amalia D, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Kimberly, Thank you for choosing University Lake Springhill Suites by Marriott for your travelling needs. We are delighted to hear all the nice comments about the hotel and the staff. Your words are so inspiring it boost our confidence to achieve the best customer service we can provide to all our valued guests. The hotel has been your... More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights, nice rooms, nice service, breakfast had its variations everyday, so that's was nice without being fantastic! Hotel seems to attract quite a lot of noisy people which at times were anoying. Worst thing though, we're the lack of a bar:-\

Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
Chris R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, responded to this review

Dear Thomas W, Thank you for your review and feedback. We do not have a bar on-site because the Municipality of Anchorage only issues a certain number of the liquor license required for us to open one and they are all currently being used. However, there is a restaurant and bar at the Varsity Grill located on the top floor... More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

I stayed at the Springhill Suite while attending a workshop at the University of Alaska Anchorage. It was very convenient to be within walking distance of the meeting room. There aren’t many restaurants or services, close to the hotel, so it’s a good idea to have a car if one wants to explore Anchorage. The hotel does offer a free... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DRByul
Chris R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, responded to this review

Dear drbMontreal, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. I'm ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our amenities! I look forward to being at your service again soon! Very Respectfully, Chris J. Racanelli | General Manager chris.racanelli@nmsusa.com More 

Irondequoit, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

We stayed here on 2 occasions on our trip to Alaska this summer. Wonder choice!! The rates were wonderful, situated near everything and yet set in a park area. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The rooms were larger than we thought that they would be. Nice sitting area, desk space and the beds were very comfortable. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank psithurism
Amalia D, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing University Lake Springhill Suites by Marriott for your travelling needs. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us. Your nice comments about the hotel and the staff were greatly appreciated. We strive for excellence and this comments boost our confidence to ensure we provide the best customer service to all our... More 

North Pole, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

This hotel pulled a scam on teenagers in my group. Four teenage girls called their friends' cell phones from the hotel room phone. They were charged a $14 flat rate plus money for the call. All these calls were within our 907 area code. We complained to the manager that a $14 flat rate per call is excessive and not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DonKardash
Chris R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, responded to this review

Dear DonKardash, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for any inconvenience caused by the phone calls made during your stay with us. If you would like to further discuss the cost behind them outside of what I have explained to your wife and the photos I've provided to you, please feel free to reach out to me. My contact... More 

Sterling, Alaska
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

Very comfortable place and good food as well. The location is odd but the view out the lake side is nice. it looks out on a dog walk area around a small lake by the university and close to Providence Hospital. The beds a very nice and the rooms are well thought out and have all the amenities.

Helpful?
Thank Charles E
Chris R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, responded to this review

Dear Charles E, Thank you for the great feedback regarding your stay. I'm ecstatic to hear that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to being at your service again soon! Very Respectfully, Chris J. Racanelli | General Manager chris.racanelli@nmsusa.com More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#7 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#22 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#16 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay