We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was alone in downtown Seattle before heading back Edmonds. Had a real wonderful suprised staying here .. friendly staffs, simple warm breakfast, nice people around, comfortable bed (compared to the rate are paying which is really good). Two thump up!

Helpful?
Thank KikiW4
South Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with my Boy Scout troop after spending a week and a half in Olympic National Park. The staff here were REALLY friendly and helpful, offering advice and tips for any and all questions having to do with Seattle. Walking tours started daily from the front door of the building. The train station is only half a block away.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mikebickerson
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your well thought out descriptions of the hostel offerings and the neighborhood. I couldn't have said it better myself! It was wonderful to have your scout group here and we were happy to help any way we could. I'm so glad that the kids were able to meet folks and scouts from other countries and... More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Get the train from the airport, get off financial district/Chinatown stop, hotel less than 100 yards from station. Range of accommodation- from dorms to rooms for 3 (family). Shared facilities- clean + plentiful. Breakfast from 0600-0900, early start is good for tours/visiting. Multiple Asian eateries within 2 minutes of front door, convenience store around the corner.

Helpful?
Thank Plutoquinny
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great directions and description of the facilities. That about covers it! I'm so glad that you had a wonderful stay and were able to utilize the nearby transportation options to experience the city. In addition to the convenience store around the corner, there is a large grocery store one block away, Uwajimaya, that offers just about... More 

Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff is incredible. the WIFI is outstanding. there is a community tv in the common areas. A wonderful kitchen to cook if you want to. also right in ChinaTown. Close to the main train to get to and from the airport. I enjoyed this stay. Be aware that it is downtown Seattle...keep track of your surroundings. overall yes indeed... More 

Helpful?
Thank dylans111
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Great advice about downtown Seattle and the staff will be pleased to hear that you had a great stay! Hopefully you were able to make some new friends while hanging out in the tv room and kitchen. At the moment, the Olympic Games are being played on the tv and it's creating quite a fun atmosphere. Thanks so much for... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

this hostel was literally the worst hostel i've even been in US. i landed Seattle a bit late, around 10:30 and checked in at this place around 11PM. i wish it wasnt too late and i wasnt too tired so that i could go somewhere else. there were bunch of drunk and homeless people right at the entrance. as soon... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maya Z
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

I am so so sorry that you had a difficult experience when you arrived and that you felt unsafe while you were here. We try our best to make everyone feel as safe and comfortable as possible as we know that the appearance of the neighborhood can be unsettling to some of our guests. Unfortunately, in Seattle and other major... More 

Travelers are raving about these Seattle hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016

This is definitely the worst HI hostel I've ever stayed in, and it ranks in the bottom three of all of the hosteling experiences I've ever had worldwide. I gave it two stars only because the staff were great. The place is dirty... The carpet is gross in the rooms, the blankets are literally threadbare, the toilets have muck on... More 

Helpful?
Thank NikkiTex
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you had a poor experience here. We do take guest feedback such as this very seriously and housekeeping has been made aware of the cleanliness examples you mentioned. We have also ordered new blankets and mattresses for the beds. Please feel free to contact us directly at lydia@americanhotelseattle.com if you do wish to discuss this... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

This was a fairly decent hostel for the price, really notable for the excellent service provided by everybody who was working there. Staff genuinely went out of their way to make visitors stays the easiest (and funnest) possible. The hostel itself seems fairly typical for a youth hostel, a bit of grit and grime on it, but overall clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Montravelguy
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad to hear that you found our hostel safe and clean and our service excellent. It's what we strive for and I'll make sure to tell the front desk and housekeeping teams. I am so sorry about the noisy and smelly roommates. It is sometimes part of the hostelling experience, though we do have ear plugs and air... More 

brisbane
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

I was surprised what this Hostel offered for the rates they charged us per night. All the positives of this hostel are: Very friendly and helpful staff. Very near train and public transport to all areas of Seattle and the airport. It is at the beginning of China Town. Free breakfast and huge kitchen where you can make you own... More 

Helpful?
Thank ron k
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments. I will certainly pass along your observations to our hardworking staff. Best of luck and travel safe. More 

Bangalore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

I stayed in a shared, male dorm. The dorm was clean, bed comfortable, comforter cozy and bathrooms sufficient and hygienic. The free WiFi worked well throughout and the staff's level of friendliness and helpfulness was outstanding. The location itself was very convenient for the budget traveler (in Chinatown and barely a minute from the Light Link Rail).

Helpful?
1 Thank Hitesh S
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your supportive comments and observations. We wish you safe travels. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

HI Seattle is conveniently located less than a minute walk from the International District metro rail station, and is in a quieter part of the city. We were in town for an event in SoDo, therefore the location was great for us, but may not suit travellers wanting to explore the heart of the city. It felt very safe, and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank brookek88
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive comments and observations. We hope to see you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Square Hotel
Downtown
Panama Hotel
Panama Hotel
#85 of 101 in Seattle
3.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Hotel 1000
#5 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 stars 2,337 reviews
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostelling International Seattle, Seattle’s premier hostel, which is conveniently located at the historic American Hotel in the International District of downtown Seattle.Renovated in 2009, Bicycle rentals, Common rooms, Computers (to check e-mail and the web, print boarding passes, etc.),Credit cards accepted,Discounts to Seattle attractions,Grocery store (one-block away), kitchen (self-serve), laundry, & library/game room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel

Address: 520 S King St, Seattle, WA 98104-2834 (Formerly American Hotel)
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown , International District
Price Range: $40 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay