We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Green Tortoise Hostel

Is this your business?
Save
Traveler (215)
Room & Suite (90)
Dining (12)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good35%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“privacy curtains”(44 reviews)
“each bunk”(28 reviews)
“free breakfast”(44 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (559)
There are newer reviews for The Green Tortoise Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveler rating
228
154
35
19
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
228
154
35
19
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivacy curtainseach bunkfree breakfastcommon roombed dormpike place marketfree earplugsgreat locationacross the streetcommon areasyour luggagebring earplugsthree nightspublic marketcentral locationlight railno elevator
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 458 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2017

Around the midnight arrived staff in the room and did something in the room. Next morning I complained about and told I'm a customer and I payed money and don't want that staff running around the room and doing there something. Hostel manager didn't like...More

2  Thank Aivars O
Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle, Public Relations Manager at The Green Tortoise HostelResponded June 29, 2017

Hi. I am very sorry that you had a bad experience at the hostel. It sounds like everything was ok until someone was in the room at night? I do not know what the staff was doing in the room, but I guarantee that they...More

Reviewed March 20, 2017

For a hostel, this one is pretty sweet. It has loads of dorms that are mostly occupied, a lot of bathrooms, free breakfast, towels for $1, and a big common space where you can meet others. Each of the beds has a curtain which is...More

2  Thank OneWildLifeTravel
Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle, Public Relations Manager at The Green Tortoise HostelResponded July 10, 2017

Thank you so much for your stellar review! We are so glad that you think Pikes Place Market is the coolest area of Seattle. Sorry about the marijuana smell. We work hard to keep the smoke flowing out of the building from the lounge, but...More

Reviewed March 18, 2017

We had a great stay at Green Tortoise. We booked a double bunk bed as a couple which was a great cost-effective option. The staff are friendly and facilities are kept clean. Awesome showers! The beds have a curtain to allow some privacy and there...More

Thank mcdermida
Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle, Public Relations Manager at The Green Tortoise HostelResponded July 10, 2017

We are so grateful for your awesome review. Please stay with us again soon!

Reviewed March 5, 2017

I liked breakfast. However, the beds need improvement as I could feel the guy move under me all night. It's probably good to get a single room. Also the guy manning the kitchen in the morning needs some anger management counseling. He gets irritated and...More

Thank RockingTravelQueen
Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle, Public Relations Manager at The Green Tortoise HostelResponded July 10, 2017

Hi! Glad you enjoyed your time in Seattle. We are sorry that you had someone in the bunk beneath you that was a violent sleeper. Usually you cannot feel too much movement, but perhaps they were having nightmares. ;) I am very sorry to hear...More

Reviewed March 1, 2017

I dont like the long term stays they seem to allow. Definitely met an older person who seemed like they were there a long time; It was a little awkward. Place generally clean, and large, private bathrooms were small in number, but there never seemed...More

1  Thank ckmetz002
Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle, Guest Relations Manager at The Green Tortoise HostelResponded July 10, 2017

Thanks for your review! We do try to limit the number of nights one can stay in our hostel. We apologize for any awkward encounters! Glad you liked the location and the privacy curtain. Hope you stay with us again.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Seattle
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
$37 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
$37 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (215)
Room & Suite (90)
Dining (12)
Amenities (51)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Heather H
October 16, 2017|
Answer
Response from Virginia L | Reviewed this property |
Sorry late response. I usually just took local bus transportation and the light rail to get around the city. From the SEATAC airport, I walked to light rail that is connected to airport and that took me to Seattle. Hope this... More
0
Votes
Valerie J
July 31, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle | Property representative |
Hi! We have a lot of older people stay with us. We do not currently have bed bugs. If there is every any issue with bed bugs, it is handled quickly and professionally so the issue does not spread. There is no way for us to... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"withholding this info to protect my spot for future bookings :-)"
Read review
"All rooms are good and spacious"
Read review
"You can request a lower bunk, the upper ones are a pain!"
Read review
"free breakfast, eight or six beds, restroom, common area, smoke room, windows, lock storage, activities, pub..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing