We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The College Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The College Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 79: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2016

The hotel desk is also the mini-mart desk, so anyone working at the mini-mart, or who is a mate of the staff can see all the guest details and has access to the keys. This includes the stinky-breath fellow who is a friend of the floppy haired student who was on duty when I arrived. Because the rooms are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gibbo1956
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your posting. I am so sorry for the issues during your stay. I will be following up with our team member you encountered. His demeanor is unacceptable. We due have security processes in place for protection of guest data and room keys. The store is monitored by camera system. In regards to the windows, the rooms are...

Terrebonne, Oregon
Reviewed May 17, 2016

The room was fine except it was obvious that under the bed had not seen a vacuum for awhile. The shared bathroom at the end of the hall was clean except for the peeling ceiling in one corner with black mold showing through. The 4th floor lobby was unique and where the breakfast was available. The beautiful furniture needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LAT1956
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your posting. We are definitely taking your comments to heart and making immediate changes. We appreciate the comments about the beds and we are glad you enjoyed the lobby area. In regards to the service, I am sorry you were not informed but we have the office in the Easyshoppe Store on...

Reviewed April 30, 2016

Really enjoyed my stay. Only challenges were that breakfast was too late for me to take advantage it. Started at 8 am on weekend, and was there for a University symposium that started at 8 am. Maybe breakfast at 7 even on weekend? Also, the store that serves as the office was staffed with lovely people who were very helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexis O
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for kind comments. We are reviewing our breakfast hour on the weekends. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Reviewed April 29, 2016 via mobile

I would never stay here again. It was dirty, the bathrooms were nasty, I didn't shower for the two nights we stayed there. It was just not a good place. I felt really uncomfortable the whole time we stayed there. Overall it was just disgusting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabbin T
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

I am sincerely sorry for your experience. Please contact us so we are able to review your impression.

Reviewed April 10, 2016

Being a Hostel is no excuse for an unkept lodging. Specifically....our room was dirty, something resembling tobacco juice on the wall, and while antiques and distressed furniture can be charming, broken, run-down, thread bare carpet is just lazy and poor taste and standards. The fan did not work, the bed side lamp did not have a knob to turn it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariatafoni
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for you experience. We are reviewing your comments with our maintenance and housekeeping staff. Your situation is not normal for our guests. We would like to make the situation right. Please contact us so we can.

Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewed February 23, 2016

I cancelled my room thirty minutes after booking. This is not a hotel it's a hostel. In addition, there are NO accommodations for people with disabilities or the elderly. I flew to Seattle after my mother had a heart attack and, showing up at this place was more stressful then sleeping in a hospital lounge chair/bed. After cancelling this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redgoody
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

I am sincerely sorry for your experience. My thoughts are with you and your mother. I agree you did not need this extra stress during your stay. I apologize our Inn was not accurately portrayed to you. We were built in 1909 for the World Exposition in Seattle. The building is true to the form it was built in back...

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed September 21, 2015

If you have business in the area, in my case a need to be at the nearby UWMC early in the morning, it's a place to stay. It gets dark at night, it's fairly quiet, and the linens and towels were clean. As others have noted, you check in at the convenience store next door, and the young lady was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave B
Texas
Reviewed August 21, 2015

Date of visit: August 14-17, 2015. I was promised a pleasant experience and I was not disappointed. I purposely booked this room because of the description on the Inn website. I booked a single room with a twin bed. The bed was more comfortable than most "regular" hotel beds I have slept in. The windows opened to catch the breeze...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H S
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 16, 2015

The hotel is located close to the University of Washington and is within the University District itself. The College Inn is also within a 30 minute walk to Fremont as well as a 3 minute walk to Public Transport that will take you to Downtown. The room and the communal bath room facilities were clean and tidy and this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradfordgull
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

I am sincerely sorry for your experience. We pride ourselves on being transparent on our accommodations. You are correct we are a shared bathroom facilities and our rooms do not have air conditioning. Seattle is in the midst of a summer heat wave. Normally our temperature are not much above 80 degrees. Our breakfast is continental which does include breads,...

Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

Very basic room in historic building (though not furnished historically), and only place available in the vicinity for less than $100 per night. We stayed here to be close to UW campus, and it fulfilled that need very well--the center of campus, restaurants, and a small market were within easy walking distance. Our room had a sink, but the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 49AlaskaMom
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your posting. We appreciate your comments. Unfortunately, Seattle is in the midst of a heat wave. Normally the temperature is not above 80 this time of year. Please come back next month when Seattle weather returns.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University Motel Suites
#70 of 102 in Seattle
68 reviews
University District
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel
Days Inn Seattle Aurora
#86 of 102 in Seattle
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The College Inn

Address: 4000 University Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6209
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Price Range: $71 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The College Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The College Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The College Hotel Seattle
College Hotel Seattle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The College Inn staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The College Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try to avoid room 107 which has junk furniture and a ceiling cord for the fan which is impossible to reach.”
 of 5 bubbles gibbo1956, Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
“The area is noisy because you are right off the campus and there is abar in the basement of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles LAT1956, May 17, 2016 | Read review
“No Idea. I loved my room.”
 of 5 bubbles alexiso350, Apr 30, 2016 | Read review
“If I had to be in that neighborhood again I'd spend another $75-$100 for a decent room”
 of 5 bubbles davebD1385JT, Sep 21, 2015 | Read review
“I asked for a street view room to keep an eye on the car.”
  • Fire-rated doors to each room
  • Showers
  • Women's shower area
  • Women's bathroom.  Showers are to the right.
  • Single room with twin bed
 of 5 bubbles 878hs, Aug 21, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay