We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Show Prices
#28 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

595 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 567: English reviews
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice people, clean and well maintained rooms,halls, lobby, and dinning area. Enjoyed the morning breakfast -great pastries, orange juice was not up to my Florida standards so I opt for the apple juice. The pool looked great though I didn't bring my suit. I was disappointed with the availability of the transport van, emailed ahead and they said call and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Theresa W
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Location is great since it is just out of the actual downtown area of Seattle. The shuttle will take you to Westlake downtown. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Nice amenities and nice breakfast. We had a remodeled room and it was quite nice. Comforters are great!

Helpful?
Thank kysara
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My family and I stayed here three nights. The staff were helpful and so friendly. The shuttle had some problems one morning and they were actually paying for guests to take cabs downtown. Very clean with comfortable beds. Close to university area and not far at all from downtown and the waterfront. The breakfast was enough to get you going.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather C
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review

Hello and thank you so much for this five star review! I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay -- especially your kind words about our staff. We strive to "wow" our guests! It's great to see that you found the facility clean and comfortable as well. We hope to see you again very soon. Thank you again! All the best;... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We decided to stay in the University area because it is less overpriced than downtown Seattle. You do have to drive in to downtown someway if you stay in this area however it's not a bad drive. There is a great stuffed toy husky for the University in each room to keep you company which our son really liked. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lori S
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for this five star review! It's great to see that you found your room comfortable and quiet -- and that you enjoyed our amenities, and signature husky too! It's especially gratifying to know you found our staff very friendly. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you again. All the best; Tommy Hackett Front Desk... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a very nice hotel with well-kept, comfortable rooms and a very nice pool right next to the reception desk. The staff are friendly and helpful. Coffee and cupcakes are served daily at 3pm which was a nice touch. Was disappointed that there was no hot food (sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs etc.) at breakfast. Also the free shuttle service... More 

Helpful?
Thank vkb781
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to offer this review! I'm very glad you enjoyed your room, and several of our amenities as well. It's particularly gratifying that you found our staff friendly and helpful. That's what we strive for! I'm sorry you were disappointed with our breakfast options and the availability of our shuttle service. We are... More 

Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed two nights here while attending a wedding in Seattle. Hotel is a bit dated be adequate. Our room was OK, bed comfortable and the usual amenities that you'd expect. Continental breakfast is included and is just average. Parking was behind the building with a number of stairs to negotiate to get into the lobby. Entrance from the parking area... More 

Helpful?
Thank tkmjr47
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit this review! I'm disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay more but it's gratifying to know that you found our staff exceptional. We are considering increasing our breakfast options. More than anything we strive to "wow" our guests and we would like to know how to accomplish it for you next time. You're... More 

San Mateo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I really enjoyed this hotel! I chose to stay at University Inn because it is near the University of Washington where I was attending a meeting, and was just within the allowable federal rate at $202/night. This is more than I would pay if traveling and paying on my own, but at the same time, this was one of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank krbwalk
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review

Wow, thank you for this wonderful review! It's great to see that you enjoyed our rooms, amenities and "special touches" -- but I'm particularly glad to see that our employees were enthusiastic in offering you assistance during your visit! We have indeed enjoyed a beautiful summer here in Seattle. We'll hope for another for your next visit :) Thank you... More 

Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. They were happy to assist me in any way I asked. I was surprised they provided a free shuttle to various city attractions. Regrettably the shuttle does NOT go to the airport. Rooms are a bit smallish and sparse with just a small window that can be opened.

Helpful?
Thank HilaryH
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review

Hello HilaryH; Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our staff. We strive to be as helpful and friendly as possible! It's great to know you found our shuttle service useful as well. I'm sorry you found your room too small. Maybe we can interest you a deluxe or premier room next time; these are larger than our... More 

Evans, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

It was comfortable, but the place is very dated. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast was poor. There were no whole grain selections and limited selection. No fresh fruit other than a banana. At least the scones were tasty. You have to go down the street a couple of blocks to get to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Servando R
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review! It is good to know you found your stay comfortable but I'm sorry you didn't enjoy our breakfast offerings. We are considering expanding our options there. Please contact me if you would like to discuss further as we'd love to see you again and learn how... More 

Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in! We were a little skeptical staying in the University District, but glad we did! This hotel was affordable in so many ways: rooms were great (beds were super comfortable), free shuttles around town, free breakfast (that included more than donuts), and very helpful staff!! We were near a bus stop... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nichole A
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review -- and the A+++ grade! We're very glad you had a great stay and found our staff helpful. Hope you stay with us again soon! Tommy Hackett Front Desk Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

236 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (141)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
One King Bed Room (38)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Premiere Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Two Queen Bed Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel
University District
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy-The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can’t be beat. Here you’re just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 

Additional Information about University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6436
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Price Range: $136 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your University Inn - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay